Destrage
A Means To No End


4.0
excellent

Review

by MercuryToHell USER (44 Reviews)
October 26th, 2016 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In which 'DJIEAZ!' is an accepted form of exclamation.

Progressive metal is in an interesting paradox at the moment – and arguably has been for some time – as with so many emerging acts prepared to show off their instrumental chops, all focus is put on virtuosity whilst forgetting a seemingly obvious necessity: writing songs. This isn’t to say that the movement is purely content with stagnant oversaturation, as advances in production and comparative ease in blending genres can often make for a very well-polished end product, even if often lacking in substance.

Italian metallers Destrage approach their 4th full length with an almost overbearing determination to not get sucked into this trap. Wearing their influences on their sleeves, at a casual listen one can pull out elements of SikTh, The Dillinger Escape Plan, System of a Down and Every Time I Die, as they skilfully combine technical proficiency with an unashamed hard rock swagger and natural flair for structure. 2014’s Are You Kidding Me? No. served as something of a breakout album for the group, coming as it did as a breath of fresh air during the peak of the djent movement – but fans of that record will be able to identify a clear evolution a mere two years later as while A Means To No End still proudly basks in bat*** insanity, it also shows uncanny ability to rein itself in for a much greater and well-rounded experience.

The previous album had catchy tracks, sure, but every single one of the 13 on display here have elements of the anthemic aplenty. ‘Don’t Stare At The Edge’, ‘The Flight’ and ‘Not Everything Is Said’ in particular boast huge singalong choruses, there are monolithic, crunchy, blissfully constructed riffs all over the record, and – as a huge invitation to those that have never been quite into the band before – a massive vocal performance from Paolo Colavolpe. He casually jumps from SikTh-esque screeching to powerful cleans, but both of these elements have been tightened up from previous efforts, and while he does still possess a rather overwhelming nasal quality which will prove a distraction to some, his overall performance across A Means To No End is a delight rather than a criticism.

In short, Destrage have crafted a wacky, accomplished, accessible progressive metal record that doesn’t require multiple listens to understand, but rather politely asks for them and keeps on giving in return.




Recent reviews by this author
Igorrr Spirituality and DistortionAlan Walker Different World
Eminem KamikazeGang Gang Dance Kazuashita
The Weeknd My Dear Melancholy,Icarus the Owl Rearm Circuits
user ratings (77)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
MercuryToHell
October 26th 2016


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review #25 from me, and yet another fantastic record to balance out the utter wank that is 2016.

Gmork89
October 26th 2016


8081 Comments


Awesome review. These guys are interesting, they kind of remind me of Fair to Midland if they were heavier. Enjoyed their last one so I'm interested in hearing this.

HarryBoBerry
October 27th 2016


618 Comments


Paolo is such a dynamic vocalist. I dug their last album a lot, I feel a lot of SikTh vibes from them.

MercuryToHell
October 27th 2016


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just read the review for the last album and realised the author of that used the 'batshit' descriptor as well.

I feel so validated.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
October 28th 2016


55898 Comments


their least worst of all time album name ever but still terribad

Digging: Emily Montes - Emily Montes

adr
October 28th 2016


12088 Comments


alt metal + prog is the worst combination ever this can't be good

Hyndez
October 28th 2016


160 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

what are these vocals lmfao

BeyondCosby
October 28th 2016


2781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn you beat me to the punch man haha Good review.



@hyndez an incredible performance.



MercuryToHell
October 28th 2016


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this one by and large has been missed by most of Sput and I'm not entirely sure why or how!

BeyondCosby
October 28th 2016


2781 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Because it ain't BM....



I don't know either man. It's a damn fun record by a band that knows how to construct engaging and different sounding metal.

Leprous
October 29th 2016


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@Hyndez



Paolo is a damn fine vocalist wtf

bloc
October 30th 2016


61779 Comments


Looking forward to hearing this one

Digging: Fluke - Puppy

LunaticSoul
October 30th 2016


1407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

..it's an ok disc (3.5)



how can one like Protest the Hero and say this is bad (?)



I hoped they would not go through incorporating too much of the djent-ish trends the band they toured with had but.. Those polyrhythms on the ending track though are pretty fine

primochap
October 31st 2016


1 Comments


True that lunaticsoul. Protest and Etid are my two favourite bands. Cant hear much Etid in these guys but this has plenty of Sikth and protest in there

NonApplicable
November 7th 2016


2821 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even if I haven't completely fallen in love with this record yet, I recognize the talent and effort Destrage put into crafting the album. Bands of this ilk are a rare breed indeed.

TheWovenWeb
November 18th 2016


41 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is catchy as fuck. Can't really get into the others.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2016


11985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really want to like this, but it's just not resonating like AYKMN and TKFNO.

Ebola
November 24th 2016


3840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shit, this is really awesome. Might sneak onto my year-end list

NonApplicable
December 18th 2016


2821 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This took a while, but the record grew on me just much as their last did. The band's songwriting is definitely more straight forward here than it's been in the past, but calling this straight forward would be as bonkers as their music.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
December 19th 2016


11985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just seems so much more serious. I mean they have been steadily maturing as evident from the themes of the songs, but this one just doesn't seem to have the absurd humourousness of TKIFNO and AYKMN.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy