Erra
Drift


4.0
excellent

Review

by xzubesx USER (1 Reviews)
September 18th, 2016 | 431 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Progression through maturity.

Erra are a five piece progressive metalcore band from Birmingham, Alabama. The band blend bright, atmospheric melodies with heavy, syncopated rhythms. While the band has always been relatively generic in theory, Erra have managed to be one of the most memorable bands in the new wave of metalcore.

I first heard Erra back in 2011 after the release of their debut full length album, Pulse. I immediately fell in love with the album - it was everything I loved in music: Dramatic, technical, emotive, and beautiful. Drift includes all of the attributes that initially made me an Erra fan, but their execution has matured significantly.

One of the first things listeners will notice is how cohesive each song feels. On previous releases, songs felt a little bit like different ideas stitched together. The atmospheric and emotive moments are more delicately woven in with the rest of the songs. The same can be said for each instrument’s role - gone are the over the top vocals, all members are playing within their means. Drift’s songs are coherent and sound like one piece of musical thought.

Perhaps the best part of Drift is it makes you forget Erra is a metal band. Almost all of the songs have a naive sweetness to them, an innocence and honesty that shows that makes the numerous emotional moments on this album very relatable. Songs like Skyline, Orchid, and Safehaven are incredibly bright, pretty, and catchy. However, when band delves into heavier territory, things get crushing. The juxtaposition between glistening leads and discordant breakdowns really makes both elements pop.

Drift has a lot going for it, but is not without some minor blemishes. A few of the songs add nothing to the album, such as the repetitive title track and generic Hourglass. If the band would have cut the filler from the album it could have been a perfect EP rather than a great LP. The ultra-clean production may also not be everyone’s cup of tea - this is a very tight, clear, and saccharine sounding album.

One of the things that separates Erra apart from other metalcore bands is their genuinity. They’re not angry, they’re not wannabe NASA scientists, they’re not political activists. They’re a group of guys that want to create emotive music that carries you from beautiful peaks to dark valleys without falling into into the cliches most multi-faceted metalcore music does. Erra are a very self aware group, and unlike many progressive metal bands, they’ve grown and matured without becoming a parody of themselves. Drift has become one of my favorite metalcore albums of 2016, and I hope the band continues down the path this release has set them on.


user ratings (403)
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Winsomniac (3.5)
Erra drift away to calmer shores....



Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2016


7187 Comments


Great review, especially for a first. Posd. Also, sounds like an interesting record

The main critique I have is you say words like 'I' and 'My' far too often; its fine to add a personal touch, but the review would come across as more formal and professional if you toned down your usage of such words

e.g. change 'Perhaps my favorite thing about Drift is it makes you forget Erra is a metal band' to 'Perhaps the best thing about Drift is it makes you forget Erra is a metal band', and change 'I feel like if the album cut a bit of the filler ...' to 'If the album cut a bit of the filler...'

Willie
Moderator
September 18th 2016


18981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

This isn't a bad release, but I thought it was missing something. Maybe, I'll give it another listen.

Digging: Cynic - Ascension Codes

SteakByrnes
September 19th 2016


25479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree with a lot of your points, but good review. Augment is miles ahead of this

Digging: Volumes - Happier?

xzubesx
September 19th 2016


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The main critique I have is you say words like 'I' and 'My' far too often; its fine to add a personal touch, but the review would come across as more formal and professional"



Fixed - excellent advice, thank you!

Dunpeal
September 19th 2016


4422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"One of the things that separates Erra apart from other metalcore bands is their genuinity"







what's that?

NewBallistics
September 19th 2016


920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Good review, but I still think this release felt completely barren of creativity compared to their past releases. I'm still hopeful they could turn it around with whatever they decide to do next.

logicisirrelevant
December 6th 2016


73 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Anyone think the vocalist sounds like the late TIJ?

SteakByrnes
December 6th 2016


25479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's because it is

J3wFro69
December 11th 2016


67 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hoping they go back towards their Augment sound more than this. Just not feeling it for TJ either, Garrison left a massive void in the vocal department with his departure and I think the technicality on the guitarwork in some of the songs is missing because of Alan leaving as well

logicisirrelevant
December 13th 2016


73 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

O fuk steak ur right



That's really cool actually.. love both bands, just wish their both were still alive and didn't mash

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2017


8555 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like to give credit where its due but this is one of the most derivative and uninspired albums i've heard in ages.

Digging: Yosvany Terry - Today's Opinion

SteakByrnes
March 14th 2017


25479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea this is still a huge disappointment. 2009-2014 Erra will always hold a very special place in my heart

NewBallistics
March 16th 2017


920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

New stuff from their former guitarist Alan Rigdon is pretty cool. He definitely feels like the missing piece from the last couple releases.

NewBallistics
March 16th 2017


920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-FPBv0F0pU&feature=youtu.be

SteakByrnes
March 16th 2017


25479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea I've been keeping up with him, it's much better than this



Plus Garrison is on one of the tracks, so it's already infinitely better

trilo
March 21st 2017


4189 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

solid instrumentals for the artificials but the chick vocals just don't work at all for me

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Rien ne suffit

SteakByrnes
March 21st 2017


25479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dig her vocals

JeetJeet
March 21st 2017


10166 Comments


She's a better vocalist than Jesse.

Digging: Amaarae - The Angel You Don?t Know

SteakByrnes
March 21st 2017


25479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jesse is better in his side project, he should focus on Ghost Atlas



I miss his Impulse sound tho, there was such a charm to his voice on Impulse

trilo
March 21st 2017


4189 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'd take jesse over her every time.



and yea he's better in ghost atlas although his performance on augment is my fav.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy