Intronaut
The Direction of Last Things


4.0
excellent

Review

by Flashmobba USER (23 Reviews)
August 21st, 2016 | 100 replies


Release Date: 11/13/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "A labyrinth of surprise and delight".

"The word 'Intronaut' basically means inner-traveller, designed to encourage the listener to explore his or her own mind". - Danny Walker, Intronaut's drummer.

It's always a breath of fresh air to hear metal that is something different, something new. Quite frankly, innovation is the name of the game for Intronaut. The Californian outfit entered the metal scene with their promising debut Void; although it did not attract much attention, its Meshuggah-styled riffs and heavy metal textures signified the start of something beautiful. Their breakthrough record Prehistoricisms featured a more progressive sound with the entry of guitarist Dave Tinmick, which ultimately led to the band mastering their signature sludgy sound with touches of jazz and ambient music. Since then, they've released excellent records such as the visceral and melodious Valley of Smoke, and the accessible, less ferocious Habitual Levitations. Their latest release incorporates complex polyrhythms and a staggering fusion of metal and jazz to create a blistering effort.

As soon as the lead single "Fast Worms" opens the album with muffled drums and faint riffage, you find yourself drawn into a sonic wasteland of sludgy, dissonant and erratic chord progressions. The track features a plethora of sounds such as the brutal aggression of past Intronaut gems and stellar drum-work from Danny Walker. But the jazzy midsection of the song is where it really gets interesting, featuring gorgeous melodies and a bumbling bass-line, before the concluding chorus ricochets back into play. One of the obvious traits this band has exhibited in the past is the structure of their songs; they begin staggeringly heavy and break down into more appealing and melodically expansive bridges. Such a formula is exhibited in the following track "Digital Gerrymandering", a track that saunters along in its dystopian sonic canvas before deepening into a gorgeous harmony of guitars and vocals. Elsewhere, the penultimate title track blazes along with a triumphant tone and an assortment of polyrhythmic riffs, while "The Pleasant Surprise", the shortest song of the record, is more concise in its blistering heaviness.

Although the band is lauded for their crushing, maniacal riffs and growls, the album's best moments are actually its most serene, appearing in the form of album centrepiece "Unlikely Event...", a track that uses intelligent harmonisations and gorgeous soundscapes before erupting into a cathartic coda. The bass shines through on almost every song, and the percussion is an astonishing focal point of the record's. Perhaps a flaw of the album's is that frontman Sacha Dunable doesn't growl nearly as much as he did on Prehistoricisms, though his clean singing style is quite enthralling nonetheless. The lyrics are as abstract and grim as the music itself, dealing with themes of spirituality and death. But honestly, the music itself is much more significant than the subject matter, as you delve into an underground world of dissonant and meandering post-metal goodness. The production is a little too clean and doesn't sound as raw as the previous releases, but the album's pros outweigh the cons by a mile. So whether it's the doom-y soundscapes of "Sul Ponticello" and "City Hymnal", or the succinct brutality of "The Pleasant Surprise" you're here for, the album will surely deliver in every way. A brooding masterpiece.

Recommended:
Digital Gerrymandering
The Unlikely Event of a Water Landing
Fast Worms



Recent reviews by this author
Failure In The Future Your Body Will Be The Furthest Thing From Your MindSlowdive Pygmalion
My Bloody Valentine Loveless311 Grassroots
Bowery Electric BeatGreen Day Insomniac
user ratings (546)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Nick Mongiardo (4)
With the help of their fast paced energy and ability to iron out common progressive music shortcomin...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Flashmobba
August 21st 2016


1094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meh, review might seem a little rushed, but I'm digging this album hard rn

Any positive feedback is appreciated!

danielcardoso
August 21st 2016


11770 Comments


"At a time where metal is dominated by its monotonous sub-genres such as thrash and death, it really is a breath of fresh air to hear something different, something new, and quite frankly, innovation is the name of the game for Intronaut."

this sentence could use some splitting up. probably add a full stop after 'new' to read better.


pretty good review otherwise buddy, pos from me.

Flashmobba
August 21st 2016


1094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yoooo thanks my man!

What'd you think about the album, if you've heard it?

Artuma
August 21st 2016


29944 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

review is good, the last two paragraphs lack a bit of logical structure imo but it was a nice read



album is plain ass

danielcardoso
August 21st 2016


11770 Comments


Never heard this buddy, band is tagged as post / sludge metal so sounds like i'd dig, gonna add to my list but there's a ton of stuff for me to check out within the next few days. i'll try not to forget and get back to you :]

Artuma
August 21st 2016


29944 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

daniel if you want sludge then check prehistoricisms instead

danielcardoso
August 21st 2016


11770 Comments


sweet art, guess i'll get to that one first then.

Flashmobba
August 21st 2016


1094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@art thanks man, I'll try improving my paragraphs haha

Why don't you like the album though?

@dan definitely check out prehistoricisms then valley of smoke then this, that's what I did

Artuma
August 21st 2016


29944 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Why don't you like the album though?"



the overall sound is so sterile and the clean vocals are frankly awful. the only thing keeping me interested here is the drumming

Flashmobba
August 21st 2016


1094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn why the neg????

I feel ya, prehistoricisms will always be my favourite, I just think this was a pleasant surprise after hearing habitual levitations

climactic
August 21st 2016


22376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

got bored of this one rl quick, was p cool at points though

SitarHero
August 21st 2016


7339 Comments


"the clean vocals are frankly awful"

Nooooooooo! I get some serious AiC vibes from the clean vocals. I can dig it.

Flashmobba
August 21st 2016


1094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually don't mind the clean vocals, but I do miss the growls on the first two albums

trilogique21
August 21st 2016


2180 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea album rules

Digging: Goblinsmoker - Toad King

Artuma
August 21st 2016


29944 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I get some serious AiC vibes from the clean vocals"



god no. the cleans here sound simply lifeless

tempest--
August 21st 2016


20626 Comments


"At a time where metal is dominated by its monotonous sub-genres such as thrash and death"
literally like, the most critically claimed thrash metal album since the mid 90s was released this year and death metal has been anything but monotonous for a solid decade or so, so yeah... dumb sentence

climactic
August 21st 2016


22376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

monotonous sub-genres such as thrash and death



stop reviewing metal, you have like 5 "metal" albums in all your ratings. what a stupid thing to say

Flashmobba
August 21st 2016


1094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meh don't fancy thrash or death as much as post, I think they're pretty different

No need to go all dickish mates, I'll keep that in mind

Flashmobba
August 21st 2016


1094 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meh don't fancy thrash or death as much as post, I think they're pretty different

No need to go all dickish mates, I'll keep that in mind

SitarHero
August 21st 2016


7339 Comments


"god no. the cleans here sound simply lifeless"

Harmonies tho...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy