Thee Oh Sees
A Weird Exits


3.5
great

Review

by Conmaniac CONTRIBUTOR (72 Reviews)
August 15th, 2016 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Comfort in conformity

Thee Oh Sees, at their core, are nothing new or groundbreaking. Everything about their sound seems like it was borrowed from many other psychedelic rock bands from both the 60s/70s and new-age garage psych bands. Even lead singer John Dwyer sounds like a frontman from the age of psych rock with his high pitched, dreamy vocals that calmly stumble their way into most tracks. Yet, with their 11th release, A Weird Exits, they seem to be completely okay and comfortable with this rented sound, and the album is fun enough that you should be okay with it too.

If anything is going to prepare you for the album it’s going to be the first three tracks on here as these tracks best showcase the types of genres A Weird Exits covers. First track, ‘Dead Man’s Gun’ is simply an upbeat indie pop song drenched in fuzz and psychedelic influences. Dwyer follows the rhythmic section for the verses on this song in a staccato yet soft-voiced manner. Yet, after every set of verses Dwyer himself breaks out into a guitar solo laced in fuzzy tones and classic rock influences. Other tracks like ‘Plastic Plant’ and ‘The Axis’ are much like this one, rooted in indie pop and embracing of psychedelia influences, and they prove to be just as fun as the opener.

Third track, ‘Jammed Entrance’ reveals the carefree, jam-band side of Thee Oh Sees. Here Dwyer’s vocals take a seat and the bass takes the lead with an infectious bassline right out of the gates, setting up the rest of the band for some experimental jam sessions. Unfortunately, these types of tracks are some of the shortcomings A Weird Exits displays. These jam sessions (also found on ‘Unwrap the Fiend Pt. 2' and ‘Crawl Out From the Fall Out’) might have been better off staying as such, since none of them seem to develop into anything. ‘Jammed Entrance’ puts a glitchy synth at its forefront, and the repetitive pattern it follows gets to be tiresome. The nearly 8 minute opus, ‘Crawl Out From the Fall Out’ suffers from the same problems its cousin track did, although Dwyer does make a short appearance 4 minutes into the track. Unfortunately, it fails to justify its length as it builds to nothing and introduces nothing special or memorable, seeming to even bore the drummer as he does nothing but add in a few cymbal taps throughout the track.

Surprisingly, it’s the second track ‘Ticklish Warrior’ that steals the show. The song begins with a fun riff that quickly turns into a garage rock influenced, high intensity track. Here Dwyer takes a different approach with his vocal delivery as he shouts more often than not, his voice echoing off of the wall of sound produced by this track. Much like ‘Ticklish Warrior’, ‘Gelatinous Cube’ incorporates a punk influenced sound and adds a sense of dynamics, aided by the two sets of drummers found on this album. Thee Oh Sees are at their best when they are infectiously catchy and high energy, and if these two tracks tell us anything it’s that they still know how to have some fun. Thee Oh Sees are completely comfortable staying right where they are, a nook in between psychedelic rock and indie pop sensibilities, and, if anything, A Weird Exits demonstrates just that.




Recent reviews by this author
Childish Gambino 03.15.20Prince Daddy and The Hyena Cosmic Thrill Seekers
Ski Mask The Slump God StokeleyJoji BALLADS 1
GHOSTEMANE N/O/I/S/EJoey Purp Quarterthing
user ratings (94)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey there, this was submitted for the Review Challenge Week thing Sowing set up. feedback would be much appreciated though!

you can stream the album here: http://www.stereogum.com/1892424/album-of-the-week-thee-oh-sees-a-weird-exits/franchises/album-of-the-week/

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2016


6501 Comments


Great review man. I find this a little less natural/chilled than your normal review style, but perhaps you were going for a more professional style for sowings challenge? It certainly comes across as professional, so good job

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this album i didn't really connect with personally so I chose to be less personal and more "professional" haha. but thanks man, appreciate it

ashcrash9
August 15th 2016


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well-written, nice job. A friend of mine is obsessed with these guys but his taste and mine rarely overlap so I haven't checked them out yet

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its pretty good stuff Ash id check it. listen to the first three tracks and you'll be able to tell if ur gonna like it or not (like my review suggests haha)

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 15th 2016


35004 Comments


Nice, will read this soon.

Digging: My Morning Jacket - The Waterfall II

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh hey was wondering when you'd show up Sowing. would love to hear your feedback

jtswope
August 15th 2016


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Their last album was solid. Will give this is a listen. Good review man.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

need to check the rest of their stuff tbh. and thanks my friend

jtswope
August 15th 2016


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Check Floating Coffin or Carrion Crawler next and no prob!

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ill check Floating Coffin fo sho seems like a good album to listen to next

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 16th 2016


35004 Comments


Good review and glad to see some buzz starting around the competition. Worthy of an easy pos, but we won't know until the deadline if it wins the feature ; )

(And the spotlight interview)

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ooh thanks Sowing (:

juiceviaorange
August 19th 2016


801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review - I'm glad to see Thee Oh Sees getting some love on the site. This is a strange album indeed, and I'm sure my rating will level out (or maybe not). I'd say John's most experimental album in awhile.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 19th 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks my dude. album avg is too low yeah

JamieTwort
August 25th 2016


26988 Comments


Live in San Francisco is on another level from anything I've heard of this band's studio material.

ashcrash9
September 2nd 2016


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

finally got to this, diggin' it a bunch

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh cool nice ash

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2016


6501 Comments


looking forward to checking this, though its on a very long list of stuff to check

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2016


25749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

keep updating that list man! i check it every once in awhile aha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy