Stone Sour
Meanwhile In Burbank...


3.0
good

Review

by Toondude USER (72 Reviews)
May 18th, 2015 | 14 replies


Release Date: 04/18/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stone Sour playing songs from Metallica, KISS, Judas Priest, Alice in Chains, and Black Sabbath.

There’s nothing wrong with releasing a covers album. Paying tribute to some of the most well-known hard rockers before the existence of the Internet is certainly some of the most admirable material a band could deliver, not to mention it’s certainly easier than writing your own material. Meanwhile in Burbank… is a covers album from Stone Sour, and honestly that's all you need to know. You know the songs already since they’ve been done before, and you already know what to expect from Stone Sour since you already know what they sound like. It’s not as if they’re trying to put a new spin to the songs, nor are they trying to completely copy the exact same sound that was used when they were first released. It’s just Stone Sour playing Metallica, KISS, Judas Priest, Alice in Chains, and Black Sabbath songs, and they do just fine. ‘Creeping Death’, the best out of the bunch, does manage to contain Stone Sour’s main sound while the overall performance, especially from Corey Taylor, matches the overall vibe from Metallica. If anything, that’s the entirety of the EP. Meanwhile in Burbank… isn’t going to change your opinion on the band or the songs. You’re going to get what you expect, whether you like it or not. Take it as you will, that’s all that matters.



Recent reviews by this author
Kamelot The Shadow TheoryFight the Fade Masks
Machine Head CatharsisEvanescence Synthesis
Red (USA) GoneAugust Burns Red Phantom Anthem
user ratings (41)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Toondude10
May 18th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

thanks to Arcade for giving this a quick clean up.



as always constructive feedback is appreciated

Digging: Devin Townsend - Empath

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2015


11682 Comments


Cool this is out, I'll def check because I like the band and at least it looks like this doesn't blow. Review is a bit lacking though man, you don't really say much and I guess your premise is that you don't need to but still. Would've like a bit of detail.

Toondude10
May 18th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah there really isn't that much to talk about honestly. You pretty much know exactly what you're going to expect so there isn't that much of a point in going into the details.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2015


11682 Comments


I guess that's fair enough, I think I'd struggle to write something for this. Sweet av by the way.

Toondude10
May 18th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Lol, thanks



this actually wasn't too hard to write honestly. It took me about 20 minutes to write up and about another 15 for proofreading.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
May 18th 2015


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Fair call on the brief review here TD. There isn't a great deal more to say.



I found this EP (for want of a better word) fun. And while I'm unsure you put the original bands in that order on the summary for this reason, I found that's the exact order I preferred the covers here. The dichotomy between the Metallica & Kiss covers was actually rather interesting & impressive.

Toondude10
May 18th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

nah, order is just random. It is a fun release but I feel like there are better covers out there. If you ever get a chance listen to Trivium's cover of Master of Puppets. Now that's a sweet cover.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2015


14242 Comments


Great review man, nice and concise just how i like them

Posd

Digging: Xiu Xiu - Plays The Music Of Twin Peaks

TheSupernatural
May 18th 2015


1848 Comments


All of this could be summed up in a two sentence sound off

Toondude10
May 18th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

pretty much

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2015


11682 Comments


This is pretty good actually, really like the AiC and Kiss covers.

Toondude10
May 18th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The Kiss cover is pretty good as well

Toondude10
November 29th 2015


13827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

huh, they just released another cover album. Guess they're doing it Celldweller style.

EvoHavok
November 29th 2015


7683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, that one has a Slayer cover.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy