UFO
A Conspiracy of Stars


2.5
average

Review

by manosg STAFF
March 5th, 2015 | 30 replies


Release Date: 03/03/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The sound of a confident but aging band on autopilot.

Can man really beat time" So often we see our longtime idols fall from grace and shrink as they grow older and refuse to see the truth right in the eye. In addition, we as fans need to level our expectations and accept that benchmarking a veteran band’s latest release against the material they released in their heyday is unrealistic. Having said that, UFO’s 21st (!) release will most likely be regarded as an enjoyable effort by the numerous fans of the band but quickly forgotten by the majority of others.

The above doesn’t mean that A Conspiracy of Stars is a poor album full of mediocre tracks and weak moments. However, it has certain deficiencies that prevent it from being as good as it could have been considering the band members’ pedigree.

To begin with Phil Mogg, vocalist, co-creator and only member that has appeared on each and every album is UFO personified and a legend for this band; UFO is simply not the same without him and his value is beyond that of just a singer. Nevertheless, stating that he doesn’t sound like a 66 year old rocker would be a lie. He hasn’t declined as much as Ian Gillan for example but his vocal performance is one of the reasons that A Conspiracy of Stars is what it is. What listeners will experience throughout this album is fairly basic blues rock with emphasis on catchy riffs and guitar melodies while the rhythm section’s role is purely complementary and thus adequate. The songwriting is not bad but nothing to write home about; there are no really high points and no utterly and blatantly horrible tracks. It almost seems as if UFO is on autopilot. Granted, there are moments were these veterans sound confident and professional but overall they tend to convey a feeling of tiredness.

On the other hand, the high point on here is definitely guitar virtuoso Vinnie Moore’s playing. UFO since the ‘70s have been a guarantee for great riffs and solid guitar playing; such is not exactly the case for A Conspiracy of Stars as there are a few good riffs here and there but what bumps the album a bit is the leads and solos. Whenever Vinnie Moore is given the space – and thank god it’s pretty often – he manages to elevate the music. His solos are technical but wank-free while his leads help the tracks breathe. If there’s one reason anyone should listen to this album it's most certainly Vinnie Moore.

Overall, A Conspiracy of Stars can be proven a satisfying effort provided that the listener isn’t turned off by Mogg’s vocals. Longtime UFO fans and those who are accustomed to the legendary singer’s voice will not have trouble getting into the album. However, the rest of us are likely to find UFO’s latest effort tame and count the minutes towards Moore’s next solo.



Recent reviews by this author
Sacral Rage Beyond Celestial EchoesSlash Living the Dream
Friendship (NO) Ain't No Shame Paradise Lost Host
Survivor Vital SignsCarriage Visions
user ratings (22)
Chart.
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


8013 Comments


Great review, pos.

Digging: Suffering Quota - Life In Disgust

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

All reviews I read online for this one are very favorable so it would be interesting to see how you guys feel about this album.



Full stream: https://play.spotify.com/album/6C3lBYYZ4Aw4kMopm3RkAJ



Your comments are most welcome.

Digging: Dio - Magica

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Voi!

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


6676 Comments


(edit: fixed)

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for that Johnny.

rockandmetaljunkie
March 5th 2015


7475 Comments


"All reviews I read online for this one are very favorable so it would be interesting to see how you guys feel about this album."

Same here, I was actually surprised at how extremely positive all the ratings are. I know taste is subjective, but c'mon.

rockandmetaljunkie
March 5th 2015


7475 Comments


Great review, pos. [2]

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks man. Really can't explain all the raving reviews. Let's see how guys on here find this album.

rockandmetaljunkie
March 5th 2015


7475 Comments


I think they're too busy jamming Steve Wilson

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Is it that good? I still haven't checked it.

MrSirLordGentleman
March 5th 2015


11954 Comments


Great review manosg, pos'd


New SW is pretty good, you should check it

zakalwe
March 5th 2015


25895 Comments


Love the nuts and bolts no nonsense style of writing.
Mano is the man


manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha thanks dude. I love UFO but the album is what it is ;)



"New SW is pretty good, you should check it"



Sweet. I'll definitely give it a spin in the following days.

ksoflas
March 5th 2015


1243 Comments


Yeah, he surely is.
Pos'd.

deslad
March 5th 2015


624 Comments


I believe that is the first somewhat "negative" review of yours and it's very well written so pos from me as well. I also like the summary!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks, I appreciate it! It's indeed my first "negative" review so I'm really glad you guys enjoy it.

danielcardoso
March 5th 2015


11766 Comments


Great review, man. Listened to it once and it didn't do much for me at all, rating sounds right.

Sabrutin
March 5th 2015


5766 Comments


Heard the first four tracks and I totally agree with you so far (especially in paragraph 4), even though I would probably give it a 3 if the rest isn't worse than what I've heard. Pos'd, of course.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cheers Daniel and Sab.

DrJohn
March 5th 2015


1041 Comments


Very nice read, as usual. Pos & all
I'll try to give this a spin in due time, wanna check Vinnie.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy