Meshuggah
I


4.5
superb

Review

by Willie STAFF
September 25th, 2014 | 83 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The crazy twenty-two minute song gets a facelift and re-issued with a few live and unreleased tracks.

It’s hard to believe that ‘I’ started off as just a “quick little nugget” to help a friend start a record label. By the time the band was done writing and recording it, ‘I’ had become a monster of a song that progressed through a range of styles and lasted for over twenty-two minutes. Although the band was happy with the song itself, they were never really satisfied with its production and distribution. Thankfully, Nuclear Blast has stepped in to re-master the song and re-release it with better promotion and distribution.

Personally, I never really had an issue with the song’s original production. It was definitely louder than all my other music which created a few shocking intros when shuffling through songs. It also had a strange mix that caused everything to sound just a little odd, but it seemed like something the band would do intentionally. The re-mastered version has taken care of those problems and brought the sound more in line with the band’s last few releases. The drum sound is more natural and the guitars have more punch – changes that make a larger impact than might be assumed. So, why does it matter if the band re-mastered one song that was only written to help out a friend – a song that barely had any distribution or promotion behind it" Let me tell you.

‘I’ isn’t any ordinary Meshuggah track. It’s a 22-minute song that features some of the band’s most crazy ideas, angular guitar solos and progressive structures. A song that the band won’t even play live because, in the drummer’s own words: “I’m sure it could be done with a lot of listening and hard work - It’s really too unstructured a track. It would take up too much time and effort to make sense.” Over the course of 22 minutes, ‘I’ is almost like a condensed ‘best of’ song, as it hits just about every style the band has ever tried. It has the noisy aggression of Chaosphere the sludgy, down-tuned riffs of Nothing, the speed of their earliest material and the strong songwriting of Obzen. It’s a song that every Meshuggah fan should hear – and this new re-mastered version is the way to hear it.

Rounding out the special edition of this EP are two live songs – ‘Bleed’ and ‘Dancers to a Discordant System’. Both live songs are played flawlessly, but there really wasn’t much reason to include them since ‘Bleed’ was just featured on their live album Alive and both songs are featured on their upcoming live album The Ophidian Trek. I would have much preferred something older and more obscure. Give me something from Contradictions Collapse or even Destroy, Erase, Improve. The EP ends with the unreleased song ‘Pitch Black’. I’m not really a fan of the album, Nothing, but the industrialized, alien-sounding, ‘Spasm’ was always an exception. ‘Pitch Black’ follows that same format except with a better sound and stronger songwriting. It features the rhythmic, spoken vocals, the odd rhythms and the alien guitar lead and is another reason to pick up this special edition.

‘I’ is a song that every Meshuggah fan should own. That song pretty much embodies the band’s style and sound over the last 15 years. If there was something that was lacking, it was the production. This special edition has fixed that problem and has even included a few live and unreleased tracks. Even if you own the original version, I (Special Edition) is definitely worth getting.



Recent reviews by this author
At The Gates To Drink from the Night ItselfDimmu Borgir Eonian
Samael HegemonyCradle of Filth Cryptoriana – The Seductiveness of Decay
Neurosis The Word As Law (Remastered)Metallica Hardwired... to Self-Destruct
user ratings (1026)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
September 25th 2014


17621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you're even a casual fan, you should hear this song.

ExplosiveOranges
September 25th 2014


4408 Comments


Great review as always, Willie. Never was big on Meshuggah, though. Where should I start?

tempest--
September 25th 2014


20626 Comments


Nice work, Willie!

Might pick this up, would be a good one to blast in the car.

Willie
Moderator
September 25th 2014


17621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

--Great review as always, Willie. Never was big on Meshuggah, though. Where should I start?--



I would suggest Obzen. It's probably one of the easiest to get into and also one of the best.





--Might pick this up, would be a good one to blast in the car.--



This is great for a long drive.

pedro70512
September 25th 2014


4167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Where should I start?"



right here. this was my intro to the band also. (I know, I'm not Willie. but whatever.)

ExplosiveOranges
September 25th 2014


4408 Comments


"I would suggest Obzen. It's probably one of the easiest to get into and also one of the best."

Will do, man. After that, I'll check this out, Pedro.

pedro70512
September 25th 2014


4167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My girlfriend fell asleep in the car while I had this on. I knew it would work well when that happened (and it did for almost three years).

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2014


8141 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sick EP, probably the best thing this band has ever done.



I have the first edition, I doubt whether I'm gonna bother with this one.



Great review, as always.

Digging: Insonus - The Will to Nothingness

Willie
Moderator
September 25th 2014


17621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Here is a link to Deviant's review of the original. It has more song description:



http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/34007/Meshuggah-I





--Sick EP, probably the best thing this band has ever done.



I have the first edition, I doubt whether I'm gonna bother with this one.--




You should bother ;)

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2014


8141 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^^I knew you were going to say that hehe



I have the remastered version of Nothing, it slays, but the first edition of that album slays more.

MO
September 25th 2014


22484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

MUST

LISTEN

AGHHHHHH

MO
September 25th 2014


22484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also fuckin' willie reviewing the shugg m/m/m/m/

pedro70512
September 25th 2014


4167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

getting this now. want those live cuts too

Willie
Moderator
September 25th 2014


17621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

--is this a standard "sputnik mod hold out so i have to wait til release date" type of thing--



Yes ;)





--^^I knew you were going to say that hehe



I have the remastered version of Nothing, it slays, but the first edition of that album slays more.--




Of course I was. I hate the original version of Nothing. The remaster at least makes it listenable.

betray
September 25th 2014


9380 Comments


not trying to be stupid but I thought Deluxe/Special editions weren't supposed to be added

Willie
Moderator
September 25th 2014


17621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're not if they add nothing really new or they're released mere months after the original. Like major labels that like to release the super-deluxe version six months after the original that has two new songs. That's not worth giving it's own slot. Remasters of older material, especially if they contain some extra content are a case-by-case basis.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2014


3143 Comments


I loved that they revisited this. It sounds killer. The live tracks sound great, too. "Pitch Black" is a bit of a grower, but it's a very strong song. Ace review, as always.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2014


17988 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I need to get this, looks amazing. Maybe this means they'll play I live. At least they're aware of the fans' desire for it.

MO
September 25th 2014


22484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^^ I was amazed at how much flak Pitch Black caught when it first came out. Such a great song.

MO
September 25th 2014


22484 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's not a 22 minute guitar solo at all



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy