Slaves (UK)
Sugar Coated Bitter Truth


4.5
superb

Review

by zakalwe USER (9 Reviews)
September 5th, 2014 | 77 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A two piece who sound like the mob

The rot set in around 2000, individual identities were forever lost through the sublimation of the mainstream into a corporate conveyor belt of churned out pop pap that the morons lapped up. Constantly demanding more to a point where emo was threatening, Limp Bizcuit were youth corrupters and Snow Patrol were lauded by everyone from the ages 12-80.
The invigorating fire was doused and nothing but a backlog of records from the preceding eras prevented eternal derangement.

Fast forward 15 years and an ember flickers, hope returns and with it a two piece punk ensemble hailing from the most unlikely of places reinvigorate not so much the filth but certainly the fury.

Slaves are the embodiment of everything that has been missing when it comes to the UK rock scene, here are a two piece from Tunbridge Wells whose influences of Joy Division , Crass, Punk and the suffocation of good tunes to the style over substance ethics surrounding them led to the lads Isaac (lead vocals and drums) and Laurie (guitar and backing vocals) forming a band who let loose with a incongruous sneer that has long been missed.

This, their debut clocks in at just under 25 minutes and is an unrelenting master class in pummeling drums, jagged guitar playing and pint throwing raucousness.
Guitarist Laurie looks like your local mechanic but he may as well hit you in the face with a tyre iron due the damage caused by the riffs he effortlessly constructs on third song Wishing Well. All the songs are structured on the base of solid riffs, rock n roll drum beat and delivered in Isaacs’ Estuary English rallying cry vox.
On the song Black Rose , there’s a rolling ‘Black Rose’ refrain that any punk godfather would be proud of calling their own.

Lyrics and subject matter alternate between throwaway ‘Someone please get me off this white knuckle ride, before I choke to death swallowing my pride’ and venomous ‘I love you more when you’re angry with me cos you’re so boring when you’re nice’

Throughout the nine songs including the sixteen second Girl Fight there’s nothing particularly new on offer but the delivery, dueling vocal remonstrations and them riffs make the spark a fire and this two piece sound like a hundred strong mob that beat the masses back and do things on their own terms.
Come the album closer and highlight Beauty Quest two fingers will have been raised, struts will have been perfected and passions reignited.



Recent reviews by this author
Sleaford Mods English TapasReal Lies Real Life
Michael Kiwanuka Love and HateBrand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me
Uchu Conbini Feel the Dying NoteYonin Bayashi Ishoku-Sokuhatsu
user ratings (19)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
zakalwe
September 5th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tut.

Bummer with the artwork.

This thing totally rules, the reissue has 3 bonus tracks one of which Nervous Energy says the lot and is well worth seeking out.

DrJohn
September 5th 2014


1041 Comments


…reinvigorate not so much the filth but certainly the fury.”

…with a incongruous sneer that has long been missed.”

… two fingers will have been raised, struts will have been perfected and passions reignited.”

This review rules! I will certainly get my hands on this duo… Excellent!


zakalwe
September 5th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If you've pos'd it Doc my work here is done!

Whoever sorted the artwork cheers dudes.

DrJohn
September 5th 2014


1041 Comments


That was me indeed… and I'm still rofl-ing by your bile dripping first paragraph.

danielcardoso
September 5th 2014


11770 Comments


Nice one, Zak. Pos'd.

zakalwe
September 5th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers man.

This bitter old fucker is genuinely excited by some of the new bands knocking about, especially here in Blighty.

The kids are finally getting it.

DrJohn
September 5th 2014


1041 Comments


They should, for they have a glorious set of past references to inspire em... Cheers!

TwigTW
September 5th 2014


3887 Comments


nice review, this is a fun album (short but sweet).

zakalwe
September 5th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Doc, True, it's like this band has told everyone post 1994 to get bent and that is a very good thing in my books.

Cheers Twig, yep the album is short but it does more in its 20 mins then some muster up in years.

rufinthefury
September 5th 2014


3240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Holy shit I didn't even know other people listened to Slaves. Pos'd.

Mort.
September 5th 2014


16534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude great review except for two things



3rd paragraph is just one big sentence and needs to be cut up. You could just make it so it reads "Slaves are the embodiment of everything that has been missing when it comes to the UK rock scene. A two piece from Tunbridge Wells whose etc"



And i think your missing a comma here



"This, their debut clocks" should be "This, their debut, clocks"



Posd

Digging: Jawbox - For Your Own Special Sweetheart

zakalwe
September 5th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers man.



BMDrummer
September 5th 2014


14699 Comments


nice review, gonna check like you rec'd

zakalwe
September 5th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's real deal dude.

BMDrummer
September 5th 2014


14699 Comments


21 minutes as well, so i got time

zakalwe
September 5th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol.

That is some instantaneous rating being handed out there dude.

tommygun
September 6th 2014


26997 Comments


nice one zak dude pos ofc

zakalwe
September 6th 2014


34474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers TG.

tommygun
September 6th 2014


26997 Comments


album title is you in a nutshell really :D

Xar
September 6th 2014


1652 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol. first review i've read in weeks/months possibly. very nice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy