Orchid (USA-CA)
The Mouths of Madness


4.5
superb

Review

by Rastapunk USER (48 Reviews)
July 15th, 2013 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Traditional Doom Metal from San Francisco.

2013 is the year of the return of traditional doom metal. With Black Sabbath releasing a long awaited album with frontman Ozzy Osbourne and Orchid releasing their second album The Mouths Of Madness, this couldn't be better for Doom lovers. Orchid is still an underground band, building a bigger fanbase with every release and concerts they are giving. Originated in San Francisco, the band started in 2007 and have released a total of two records and three EP. One could easily mistake this band for a Black Sabbath cover band as their sound is greatly influenced by the metal pioneers.

Mouths Of Madness is a perfect opener for this album. It gives you a good preview of what to expect until the end of the LP: slow Doom riffs, Rocking guitars and a a great doomy vocal performance. Like Ozzy Osbourne, Theo Mindell is the perfect match for the sound the band is trying to achieve. All along the listen, we are gifted with headbanging riffs (Marching Dogs Of War) and stunning performance by all musicians. One notable highlight is Silent One, an over seven minute masterpiece that starts the same way Electric Funeral (Black Sabbath) did.

One could just say they are just doing what Sabbath did, and are adding nothing to the mix, that would be wrong. Orchid's touch on Traditional Doom comes in play in songs like Mountains Of Steel with a great piano solo. The production is definitely trying to recapture the old feelings of albums like Paranoid and Master Of Reality. This album is full of tasty solos and riffs from the guitars, bass, drums and some harmonica.

If Thirteen never made it to the stores, this would have definitely been the record of the year in the Metal genre. The band's fanbase is growing exponentially yet they are still unknown to many potential fans. The feeling you get from listening to this record is as close as you can get to listening to masterpieces like Black Sabbath Self Titled and Paranoid. Orchid is on its way to becoming one of the best Doom Metal band of today, and this albums proves it.



Recent reviews by this author
Damian Marley Stony HillBask Ramble Beyond
Emyn Muil Elenion AncalimaEnisum Seasons Of Desolation
Opprobre Le NaufrageThe Congos Congo Ashanti
user ratings (43)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Libsoc (3)
Black Sabbath - Vol. 4.1...

related reviews

Capricorn
recommended by reviewer
Black Sabbath Black Sabbath
Black Sabbath Paranoid


Comments:Add a Comment 
MrElmo
July 15th 2013


1955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Digging the artwork but don't know anything about this band though

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2013


4388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The album is good, but it gets boring towards the end. They rely too much on that traditional sound, which is cool, but it's too much at some point. Also, I found Capricorn slightly better.

Rastapunk
July 15th 2013


1278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I felt the solos made it less boring, loved that record

XingKing
July 15th 2013


12466 Comments


Not skramz

Gwyn.
July 15th 2013


17075 Comments


the fags on the last.fm page because of this band are intolerable

JasonCarne
July 15th 2013


868 Comments


Pretty cool record, but it's more like a 3.5.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2013


10586 Comments


I'll probably check this out. Review is short and sweet, pos.

Digging: Travelin Jack - Commencing Countdown

Rastapunk
July 15th 2013


1278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the input on the review Manosg. I felt it was a little too short, was I wrong?

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2013


55358 Comments


Orchid dudes should sue for using their name

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

XingKing
July 15th 2013


12466 Comments


There is no way they give a shit

demigod!
July 15th 2013


49231 Comments


suing and lawyers are totally un-punk

Digging: NoMeansNo - Wrong

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2013


55358 Comments


This band took over the most played for last week on last.fm though

manosg
Staff Reviewer
July 15th 2013


10586 Comments


@Rastapunk

If you can get the message through with a short review that's fine. On the other hand, a long review needs to be interesting in order not to bore the reader. Your review is a bit short but it's fine.

BallsToTheWall
July 15th 2013


48159 Comments


Good band.

Digging: Vreid - I Krig

auberginedreams
July 15th 2013


6088 Comments


faux orchid

Cygnatti
July 15th 2013


32012 Comments


good dig, reichy ^.^

SteelErectedb4you8er
July 16th 2013


2620 Comments


I was actually thinking about reviewing this since it has been awhile since I have done a review. I love Capricorn, that is where I feel in love with them, but this album had to grow on me. I feel like though, on this album, they expanded their sound from just Black Sabbath. Songs like "Nomad" and "Marching Dogs of War" show some of their own identity. Good review though.

Kman418
July 16th 2013


13271 Comments


This band took over the most played for last week on last.fm though

ugh fuck that

SteelErectedb4you8er
July 16th 2013


2620 Comments


Good for them. An underground band getting lots of plays is cool in my book. Doesn't have to be your bag

Rastapunk
July 16th 2013


1278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I was actually thinking about reviewing this since it has been awhile since I have done a review. I love Capricorn, that is where I feel in love with them, but this album had to grow on me. I feel like though, on this album, they expanded their sound from just Black Sabbath. Songs like "Nomad" and "Marching Dogs of War" show some of their own identity. Good review though."



Totally agree with you on there, they're not just doing what Sabbath did anymore.



"Good for them. An underground band getting lots of plays is cool in my book. Doesn't have to be your bag"



They deserve it to be honest, the band is good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy