MS MR
Candy Bar Creep Show


4.0
excellent

Review

by CaptainHadouken USER (22 Reviews)
February 27th, 2013 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If this is a taste of things to come, I can't wait.

I recently stumbled upon MS MR, and most likely in the same fashion as many. For those unfamiliar with MS MR, they are 2 individuals as the name might suggest. MS would be Lizzy Plapinger who handles Vocals, while MR is Max Hershenow, who handles music and production. Some of you might have heard their song Bones in the Season 3 trailer for Game of Thrones.

Now onto reviewing the four songs this EP has to offer. I would have to say there is a very wide use of many influences within a four song EP, which is one thing that impresses me at least. I can hear elements of Soulful jazz, Gothic-pop, and 80 Alternative for starters. To me, between the vocals and production, it all blends perfectly. The four tracks each have a different feel to them. While Hurricane has a somewhat gospel feel to it, Dark Doo Wop, as the title would suggest, sounds like a dark 50 pop song, which is to be honest is kinda awesome. Bones is by far the most haunting track, the lyrics Dig up the bones but leave the soul alone sent chills down my spine, The way the lyrics are projected by Lizzy on this track are very haunting. My favorite track would still have to be Hurricane. While it feels almost like a dark gospel, it is very uplifting at the same time. The lyrics on the this track as well are very well done; Welcome to the inner workings of my mind, so dark and foul I can't disguise.
If there one track on here that does not have a dark feel to it, It would be Ash tree lane. It almost reminds me of a Florence and the Machine track in a way. This does not take away anything from the track itself, which is a beautiful song. It just feels slightly out of place with the tone of the other three tracks.

Lizzy does very well with conveying her vocals and lyrics onto the listener. Her voice is very soulful if their is any word to describe it. The production by Max is also a very large factor on what makes this a very enjoyable EP. The tracks themselves all feel very natural, and it was interesting to hear the different styles on each track. The only un-postive things i can "nit-pick" at are the one song i mentioned earlier that feel slightly out of place. I also wish this could have been slightly longer (maybe another track or two), even though that does not take away from the EP itself. Overall, this EP was highly enjoyable, and if this is a taste of things to come, I can't wait.

Recommended starters-

1. Hurricane
2. Bones



Recent reviews by this author
Mercyful Fate In the ShadowsCZARFACE CZARFACE
Frank Sinatra Come Fly With MeSiouxsie and the Banshees Tinderbox
Siouxsie and the Banshees JujuMorbid Angel Illud Divinum Insanus - The Remixes
user ratings (8)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
CaptainHadouken
February 27th 2013


1963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, there is a first review done. If anyone actually reads this than any opinion, critiques etc are welcome.

Vakarian12
February 27th 2013


4091 Comments


Good review. Have a pos.

Is it a different version of Bones in the trailer? It doesn't sound as... dramatic on here.

EDIT: Some spelling and grammar errors. Might wanna fix them up.

CaptainHadouken
February 27th 2013


1963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the full album version was the one i went to listen to.



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qoi0Z9zKE1M



That is the video for it. The GOT season 3 was just a clip of the song. it is pretty dramatic to me, but its really listener based.



I'll have to read through and find the errors, i did 2 read throughs. Prob still did miss something though

Vakarian12
February 27th 2013


4091 Comments


that sounds alot differnet to the version I was listening to. Assumed it was the album version cause, well, it said it was. That was what I was looking for, thanks for clearing that up.

jrowa001
February 27th 2013


8752 Comments


ive heard they cant sing at all when they play live....like really out of tune

CaptainHadouken
February 27th 2013


1963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meh, i've heard that about a few bands and then saw them live and wasn't really true a good majority of the time. Sometimes it can be though. If i ever get the chance i will listen to see if they are. I would hope not though cause this EP has me pretty psyched.

jrowa001
February 28th 2013


8752 Comments


i just read it from a few reviews when they opened up for Marina & The Diamonds.

CaptainHadouken
February 28th 2013


1963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, the live reviews i looked up were about half and half, some acclaimed it and other really didn't enjoy it.

Viales
April 11th 2013


76 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Their debut is a few months away now!

I still feel lukewarm towards them, I don't find her vocals strong enough...



Time will tell?

CaptainHadouken
April 22nd 2013


1963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Most likely, I dug the vocals on here, they were pretty haunting.

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
June 2nd 2013


22490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If Florence Welch & Lana Del Rey had a goth kid, then it would be MS MR. The New York based outfit's debut EP 'Candy Bar Creep Show' is a brooding, gothic & gloomy affair, yet hooky, soaring & melodic. The duo's versatility sees them bring together varying moods & influences, as the ominous sounding musical arrangements (courtesy of Max Hershenow) make fantastic use of rhythms, electronics & strings. Meanwhile, Lizzy Plapinger's mesmerizing vocals alternate between sensual & sinister. It all makes for an extremely promising little 4 track darkwave release which is quite simply magnetic. Recommended Tracks: Hurricane, Dark Doo Wop & Bones.

Tyrael
June 2nd 2013


21113 Comments


I don't like either of them very much :[

lauratk
July 13th 2013


1 Comments


I have a couple grammar corrections:

"Her voice is very soulful if their is any word to describe it." Their should be "there."

" ...they are 2 individuals as the name might suggest." You should always spell out a number under 20 (so it should be written as "two"). There should also be a comma after "individuals."

" ...the lyrics Dig up the bones but leave the soul alone sent chills down my spine, The way the lyrics are projected by Lizzy on this track are very haunting." There should be a semi colon after spine, and "The" should not be capitalized. (Or you could just make the comma a period instead.)

And with these I'm just nitpicking, but in the line, "If there one track on here that does not have a dark feel to it, It would be Ash tree lane," the "It" should not be capitalized. Also, in "The only un-postive things i can "nit-pick" at are the one song i mentioned earlier that feel slightly out of place," the "i"s should be capitalized.

I'm not trying to be obnoxious with these corrections!! I just really love grammar and thought I could help you out! That way you can make your review as professional-looking as possible

That aside, I totally agree with all the content in your review. I think it was well-written and you described the EP perfectly! The album's out now (obviously), so I've been listening to it, and I really love it. One of the best albums I've listened to in a while!




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy