Bruce Dickinson
Tyranny of Souls


4.5
superb

Review

by maidenpmcc USER (6 Reviews)
October 4th, 2010 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A superb album by one of metal's finest front-men.

As many people know, Bruce Dickinson is the singer of British heavy metal band Iron Maiden and has since been known as “The Air Raid Siren”. After conquering the planet with this band who are arguably the greatest heavy metal band in the world, Dickinson wanted a change and felt he gone as far as he could with Maiden thus pursuing a solo career. Although 1997’s ‘Accident of Birth’ kick-started his solo career which saw him return to his metal roots, his previous three albums ‘Tattooed Millionaire’, ‘Balls to Picasso’ and ‘Skunkworks’ showed a lot of enthusiasm and energy. It wasn’t until the arrival of 1998’s ‘The Chemical Wedding’, critics began to waken up and be totally floored by a dazzling masterpiece.

Seven years later Dickinson released his 6th studio album entitled ‘Tyranny of Souls’ and again he collaborated with guitarist/producer Roy Z. Musically the sound of this album would be a hybrid of ‘Accident of Birth’ and ‘The Chemical Wedding’ and Dickinson’s lyrics are as bold and intriguing as ever. Lyrically the theme of this album relates to space/sci-fi, Satan and even Shakespeare.

The strong points of this album are the lyrics, vocals, tight guitar playing and a glossy production. Roy Z’s performance on this album is outstanding which features some of his best guitar work to date. Songs such as the title track and ‘Soul Intruders’ demonstrate how talented he is and his solos are equally impressive. Highlights of the album are many, aggressive hard-hitting tracks such as ‘Abduction’, ‘Power of the Sun’ and ‘Believil’ hypnotize you and transport you to another world while ‘Navigate the Seas of the Sun’ features some of Dickinson's best vocals to date and is one of the most beautiful songs he ever recorded.

Although not as strong as it’s predecessor, Tyranny of Souls is a superb album by one of metal’s finest front-men.



Recent reviews by this author
Bruce Dickinson The Chemical WeddingAugust Burns Red Leveler
Fightstar Grand UnificationMetal Gear Solid Metal Gear Solid Soundtrack
Demonic Resurrection The Return To Darkness
user ratings (231)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
TheMoonchild (3.5)
The first Bruce solo album since he rejoined Maiden is essentially his previous album's Ritalin-addi...

-The Frank (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
maidenpmcc
October 4th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just thought I would do a brief 'to the point' write up for this album.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2010


7990 Comments


Short but juicy, just the way i like it.

Pos'd.

I don't have this and the Tattooed Millionaire.

I should get both, i guess.

Digging: Kevin Hufnagel - Messages To The Past

maidenpmcc
October 4th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice one, thanks Voivod. Yeah you should, you might aswell complete his collection and this album is awesome anyway.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2010


7990 Comments


Some times lengthy reviews serve their purpose, sometimes they do not.

i don't know, it's a "trial n' error" kinda thing.

maidenpmcc
October 4th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think it's because there is too much irrelevant information and the review drags on because of it.

SCREAM!
October 4th 2010


15754 Comments


this is the guy from that maiden band right?

TheFantasticDangler
October 5th 2010


1990 Comments


maiden? never heard of em...

JamieTwort
October 5th 2010


26988 Comments


great review of a great album, pos'd!

maidenpmcc
October 5th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cheers man, I just hope the fuck he announces another solo album sometime because I am really itching for more.

Edwin
October 5th 2010


1399 Comments


I don't know why but I still haven't checked out Bruce's solo stuff. Should I start with this?
Good review too, I like 'em short like that.

maidenpmcc
October 5th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Na man, check out (and many would agree with me) The Chemical Wedding first and then check this and Accident of Birth out. Oh and thanks.

LepreCon
October 5th 2010


5451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bruce in still an amazing vocalist after all this time, he stands as proof that metal vocalists can actually sing. Also none of his solo records are bad. Have a pos by the way maidenpmcc

maidenpmcc
October 5th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He definitaly is a force to be reckoned with and he would still put a lot of singers to shame even today. I agree, none of them are bad and are all worth listening to but any real metal fan should listen to The Chemical Wedding. Thanks LepreCon.

Edwin
October 5th 2010


1399 Comments


Will check those out pal, thanks. Bruce's solo career is how Janick got involved in Maiden, isn't it?

maidenpmcc
October 5th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bruce and Janick collaborated with each other on his first solo album - Tattooed Millionaire and when Adrian left Maiden, Janick was the most natural person in the world to fill his shoes. Many fans choose to diss and ignore Janick but he is as much Maiden as Adrian ever was.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2010


24208 Comments


except the dances around like a fairy, that's not very metuhl

LepreCon
October 5th 2010


5451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He still kicks ass at teh geetah though

Edwin
October 5th 2010


1399 Comments


Janick's a pretty likable dude (fairy dancing included), but I'm not too fussed on his guitar skillz to be honest. He's starting to write some decent songs though.

maidenpmcc
October 5th 2010


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like Janick and he's the most energetic guy in the band besides Bruce, he's a free spirit and loves to visit irish bars when they are on tour and stuff. He's also a good song writer and I'm curious to see what he will bring to the table next time (hopefully not an intro that sounds strikingly familiar to The Legacy and The Talisman).

Yeahtoast
October 5th 2010


2041 Comments


Awesome review man, keep it up!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy