The Paper Chase
Someday This Could All Be Yours Vol.1


4.5
superb

Review

by Powerban USER (9 Reviews)
December 27th, 2009 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Possible album of the year for some, Top 10 of the year material for plenty of sputnikers

If you're one of those people that practically search every day for music and you're always looking for something fresh that will keep you occupied, this is a band that you must look into. This is one of those albums where you discover a fresh sound that sends you on a search of similar bands just to get your fix. Chances are you have no chance of finding something similar to this at all. Combining the strangest compositional song structures with a plethora of different instruments and eerie samples thrown in here and there to keep the feel of this album.

This is where the main draw factor of this album comes into play. The 'feel' of it. If I was to give it a genre name it would have to be something like "Evil Indie Pop" as it consists of all the pop sensibilites of a conventional indie-pop record while excelling past every indie-pop boundry imaginable by experimenting with progressive elements, violins, pianos and cellos and a overall sense of gloom and doom. It feels as if you're listening to an orchestra at the circus with an evil clown as the vocalist.

The lyrics form a great imagery that focus on how humanity is coming to an end, taking digs at religion and humanity in general. But it's done in such a way that you sometimes wonder if he's taking sides with religion or actually going against it. Take these lyrics for example:

"I can show you the way
The lightning rods are like fingers of God
And I'll have you pictured in my head
All of you butchered in your beds
I can have this arranged"


It gives off the feeling he is praying for everyone's death. Just taking a look at the song names and you can see in the parentheses they all refer to disasters of some kind. Man-made and natural. The lyrics aren't always consistant, and John Congleton's (vocals/guitar/production) voice isn't always in tune, but this just adds to the atmosphere of this album which always keeps you guessing. The Small of Your Back the Nape of Your Neck (The Blizzard) has the most surprising memorable moment with the end being a cover of "He's Got The Whole World In His Hands" originally done by Laurie London back in 1958.

This is an album which will appeal to everyone, It has that 'Just one more play' addictiveness and it's so experimental and different that it doesn't become boring after repeated listens, but more-so has you singing along to the sinister vocals because they're so goddamn catchy. Quite possibly the most original indie album this year. With this album flying really low under the radar this year it's a bit of a disapointment to the people who have actually listened to it. This album deserves all its praise it has got from the minority that have listened to it.

Do yourself a favor and pick this up or have a listen to them online somewhere, as even if you don't enjoy it, the weirdness of it will still intrigue you.

4.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Sinew The Beauty of ContrastSika Redem Entheogen
Fields of Locust SubtopiaLeech The Stolen View
Amenra Mass IIIITephra A Modicum Of Truth
user ratings (99)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
ziroth (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Powerban
December 28th 2009


2381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Let me know any mistakes/awkwardness. My spell checker is broken and stuff.

Lions
December 28th 2009


1015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

good review, could be better though. but we agree on a lot of the same points on the album, especially the lyrics (and you chose my favorite one too). Only mistake(?) I caught: "experimenting with progressions". Doesn't make sense really; could be "experimenting with strange chord progressions" or something like that. Or maybe I'm just not getting what you mean. Keep reviewing.

cirq
December 28th 2009


9349 Comments


Uh oh, might have to check this out!

Powerban
December 28th 2009


2381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fixed that part. I still don't understand how you don't know what the word 'progressions' implied. Fixed now though so it's all good.



For sure Cirq, this album rules.

greg84
Emeritus
December 28th 2009


7598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Some small grammar mistakes here and there. I gues it should've been listening to an orchestra at the end of the 2nd paragraph. Also, for everyone's death.



Secondly, it's a good thing to throw in some names of musicians. Like in ...his voice isn't always in tune, what does 'his' refer to? I know, but the readers? Not exactly.

Digging: Robyn - Honey

Powerban
December 28th 2009


2381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll go fix those problems now. I don't know what you mean by "evereyone's death" though. Thanks for the find.



Just felt this album needed another review, no one was putting their hand up to do it, So I did.

KritikalMotion
December 28th 2009


2275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best of 09' for me. Glad to see another review, definitely check this out cirq!

greg84
Emeritus
December 28th 2009


7598 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ah. Sorry for that. I was only thinking about an apostrophe.



Yeah. This album/band needs more attention for sure. Therefore, your review is very welcome.

Powerban
December 28th 2009


2381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

2nd best for me. =)



Thanks greg, I'll get on it. I thought you meant there was a spelling mistake.

OllieS
December 28th 2009


2148 Comments


Will check out.

Avirov
December 28th 2009


1206 Comments


Review is awkward, doesn't address the music beyond some genre labels. Your wording seems rushed, and
it doesn't read like it's been reviewed before publishing.

(bitter because you stole my reviewing glory)

Lions
December 28th 2009


1015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh, yeah, progressive elements makes a lot more sense. my bad.

Powerban
December 28th 2009


2381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Avirov No need to be bitter because I reviewed an album you wanted to review, go review it if you want, it's not like I'm stopping you. That's very bad reasoning behind your motives if that's the case.



However, I'm very interested in your criticism in which you have described. Care to elaborate a bit more? I don't see how this review is a bunch of genre labels since I spent the time to go into the general feel and focus on the strong emphasis on the world ending which this album seems to ooze out through it's somewhat evilness and lyrics which is the main point.



Sure I went out and called it "Evil Indie Pop" and I was unsure on whether I should include that in the review when I wrote it since I'm not a fan of making up genres. The main reason I kept it is because some people, when reading reviews like to have implementation of genres because that's just how they are.



I'd much prefer you let me atone for the issues you have from this review as I really enjoy this album and I would like it to be an easy read, so further advice is much appreciated.

Avirov
December 28th 2009


1206 Comments


First paragraph is too informal, needs more examples, and should have less vague commentary. Second paragraph doesn't say enough to justify being there. The rest is just generally too informal and awkward. When I read this out loud I have to pause and look back.

Powerban
December 28th 2009


2381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fair enough. I'm not a formal reviewer at all. I will clean this up when I have the time as I do see what you're saying about the flow of it in some parts and I could of worded some things differently.



The more reviews, the more this band will get noticed though. My main reason I jumped in and reviewed it. I was still unsure if you were reviewing it. I'm sure yours will be better anyway, I'm not really suited to reviewing. =)

Avirov
December 28th 2009


1206 Comments


Well I definitely can't disagree with that. Especially not with a band as innovative as The Paper Chase.

KritikalMotion
December 29th 2009


2275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My first review would probably be similiar to this, though i've been here three years and still havent written one haha. Looking forward to your review Avirov, if you do do it.

Avirov
December 29th 2009


1206 Comments


I've been saying I would write a review on this for a long time, but ever since another one sprung up,
I've become determined to write a standout review, and it's taking really long because pulling my
thoughts together on an album this dense and cryptic is fucking hard.

DDconjoined
December 29th 2009


340 Comments


fucking just getting into this. onto 2nd listen and hitting me like a ton of bricks. this will make a massive late play for AOTY

Powerban
December 29th 2009


2381 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sweet as. That's the whole reason I made this review for. Very very very fucking underlooked. One more rating will get it into the charts at about 4th or 5th for the year.



I'm sure it's 20 votes before it gets on there.



All I can say is...



ALL OF THE BEAUTIFUL BODIES



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy