Deep Purple
Who Do We Think We Are


2.0
poor

Review

by Nagrarok USER (219 Reviews)
August 19th, 2009 | 74 replies


Release Date: 1973 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A poor record by an amazing band.

Deep Purple: A Retrospective

Episode VIII: Who Do We Think We Are!

Mark II Deep Purple had always been ridden with internal issues between its band members, and a climax was inevitable. Made in Japan may have benefited from the ongoing rivalry, causing unmatched and intense duels pushing out everyone’s best, but when the band returned to the studio to record their next studio album, things were different. The band were tired from touring, but yet their management wanted to keep capitalizing on their success, pushing them to complete their next album. A worn-out Gillan was feuding with Blackmore, and relations within the band got even worse. The two got so annoyed with each other they did not even wish to be in the same space, and so it came to be that vocals and guitar were recorded without any involvement or interest from the guitarist and vocalist, respectively. Eventually, Gillan would step out of the band due to continuous frustration, followed by Glover, who had heard Blackmore had intentions of firing him. The famous Mark II line-up had come to an unfortunate ending.

Deep Purple Mk. II was:
- Ian Gillan ~ Vocals, Harmonica
- Richard Hugh Blackmore ~ Lead Guitar, Bass Guitar
- Roger David Glover ~ Bass Guitar
- Jon Douglas Lord ~ Keyboards
- Ian Anderson Pace ~ Drums

What they left us with is Deep Purple’s seventh studio album, Who Do We Think We Are!, and it is a product completely unrepresentative of what this band was capable of. The tensions within the band heavily affected the quality of the album, as where with previous albums every song was enjoyable to a certain extent, there are only two memorable outputs featured here. Opener Woman From Tokyo is a catchy song with a signature Blackmore guitar riff (just about the only one on the entire album), and a standout performance from Gillan, describing the band’s first visit to Japan a year before. Also Rat Bat Blue hits the right mark, with its funky rhythm section and once again great vocal performance.

But as said, that’s where it stops. The rest of material found on WDWTWA! sounds like Deep Purple, but without the spark that made their earlier Mk. II work so fantastic. The main problem here is that the rest of the material is too generic for the band's standard, with for Marly Long, Super Trouper and Smooth Dancer being just a handful of songs that contain uninspired soloing, unoriginal song structures, and sub-par lyrics. Place in Line is the slower bluesy track, a recurring feature on Deep Purple albums (a la Fools, Lazy and Mistreated), but is more sleep-inducing than it is captivating. Closer Our Lady even tries to encompass gospel elements, but falls flatt on the face because the band doesn't even sound like themselves anymore.

This makes a poor record by a worn-out band, and as such it is only recommended for the avid Purple fans or Mk. II obsessives. Luckily, Deep Purple would revitalize itself a year later and release the fantastic Burn.

Recommended tracks:

Woman From Tokyo
Rat Bat Blue



Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (337)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Another shorty for a letdown album.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


It's a nice review, but imo you really should have talked more about why this album was such a let-down and what are the cons of it (musically). If I were you I would add a small, concise extra paragraph or just add some sentences into the ending one.

Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I considered that, but there just isn't so very much to say about this. I never intended this to be one of my better reviews anyways. My next one will be more extensive once again.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


well it's your call eventually, i am just suggesting :-)

Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's just that there is very little to say about the other tracks, more my point. Would have done that otherwise.

shindip
August 19th 2009


3536 Comments


Woman from Tokya is an awesome song

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


well i am still sure that there are some things you could bring out, like why the tracks are boring and unremarkable or what makes them dull

Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Alright, you've convinced me, I'll add some to this later today, but first I'm going to work soon.



And yes shindip, it is an awesome song indeed.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


alright, i'll take another look at this in the evening then.

Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

metalstyles should be happy now.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


metalstyles is happy, pos

Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've got my Perfect Strangers review already written up, so tomorrow you can actually judge one of my reviews having also heard the album.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


something that won't happen any day that's for sure haha. The last thing you reviewed that I actually had heard in full length was your Angel of Retribution review

Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I am almost sure you've heard what I'm going to do after I finish Mark II (which is 3 more albums including Perfect Strangers). It's going to be a senmi-conceptual review streak of 4 albums that belong together in some way, although I'm not telling anything else about it. Just want to try something new and see if it works out/is respected by the sputnik community.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


are they still in the classic rock/metal genre?

Nagrarok
August 19th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Rock/metal, yes, but I can't really call them classic anymore in the way you mean it.

Metalstyles
Emeritus
August 19th 2009


8573 Comments


alright, will be looking forward with anxiety!

13themount
February 17th 2011


173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Woman... is only standout song but disagree about Mary Long and Smooth dancer both good songs. Smooth dancer is about Blackmore and what Gillan did not like about him.

rockandmetaljunkie
July 14th 2011


7475 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

OMG this is terrible. WDWTWA is the WORST album by Deep Purple. This sounds mostly like a pop record than a Hard Rock.

It's really bad. I haven't heard their most recent stuff but i bet it will better. And it's really weird because the band was in top form after releasing Machine Head and Made in Japan.



"The band were tired from touring, but yet their management wanted to keep capitalizing on their success, pushing them to complete their next album. A worn-out Gillan was feuding with Blackmore, and relations within the band got even worse."



It seems these were the reasons MK II disbanded. Too bad because they had such a huge potential for more good studio material. The reunion albums are decent but not even good.

tylerdurdenpt
May 25th 2012


96 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album is average to poor, but Rat Bat Blue is a great funky hard rock track.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy