Mayhem
Ordo ad Chao


4.0
excellent

Review

by psycho888999 USER (20 Reviews)
February 9th, 2009 | 59 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mayhem's squelching, muddied, and nastiest release.

Ordo Ad Chao is an odd one, to say the very least. It sounds like the bastard child of Axis of Perdition and Neurosis, coupled with Obituary. Most of all however, it sounds like De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas shoved up the anus of a large demon, ***ted out again into a pool of squirming zombies in a rusty meat grinder, and then ground up again to be served to the masses.

The production is bassy, thick, and sludgy, almost reminiscent of a garage band not yet signed up with a good label. The drums drone away in the background, providing a rumbling rust caked performance to suit the fecal (for lack of a better term) basslines carrying the almost subsonic lead guitars. The production is suprisingly relevant to the overall theme, encompassing the listener in a rotted, suffocating, and disgusting atmosphere. It almost brings to mind taking a ride on a malfunctioning dark ride buggy into the deepest abyss of hell, creaking and groaning with a malevolence matched only by De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas. It should be said that while that album was an exercise in cold, mechanical nihilism, this album is the maniacal post nihilist swimming in a boiling heatwave all the while revelling in the destruction of humankind. It's the aftermath of De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas, and the production is ace when you realize what they were trying to accomplish.

Musically, it's a sickening parody of DMDS, twisting and churning once mechanical riffs into atonal and discordant ones that seem to meld together in their simplistic nastiness. They sometimes repeat themselves through the course of separate songs, suggesting that the album is attempting to make one coherent statement/song. You could literally listen to the album from beginning to end and connect the entire thing into a grand and nasty symphony. Hellhammer is awesome as always, committing some of the fastest double kick patterns known to humankind on certain songs like Psychic Horns and Wall of Water, though the patterns manifest themselves in a slightly more subdued manner due to the production. Attila's vocal performance has improved immensely from DMDS, changing from his almost muttered Gollum-like vocals into a varied plethora of nauseating vocals that range from hideous sobbing to insane fry croaks that bring to mind an Ihsahn in his prime.

Why did I not give this album a five" It's personal preference. I personally thought that Mayhem were going to turn into a blackened technical death metal band, but then again, I did have some sort of premonition that Mayhem was going to turn a full 180 once again and surprise us all with an album that is completely different from all their past works. If you are tired of the 'frost bitten grim' atmosphere of traditional black metal, or are just an extreme metal fan in general, I recommend this wholeheartedly to you. The atmosphere is of its own class, and listening to this album is bound to blacken anyone's day, no matter how happy it is.



Recent reviews by this author
Absu TaraSerpent (JPN) Cradle of Insanity
Sarcofago I.N.R.I.Sacramentum Far Away from the Sun
At the Gates The Red in the Sky Is OursAmorphis The Karelian Isthmus
user ratings (432)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
AngelofDeath EMERITUS (4)
Imagine that – Attila returns and Mayhem put out their best release since De Mysteriis Dom Sathana...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Zippermouth
February 9th 2009


1305 Comments


Disgustingly awesome review. Nice intro, and great adjectives. Definitely your best.

gaslightanthem
February 9th 2009


5208 Comments


shame the band are so gay

taylormemer
February 9th 2009


4962 Comments


Like yeah, use adjectives but don't overuse them. The 2nd paragraph is well, a little over the top. "The ... is something, sonething, something. As well as being something, sonething, something amidst the something, sonething, something."This Message Edited On 02.09.09

Eakflanderyof
February 9th 2009


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Nice review. It made me want to go listen to this again. I understand what they were going for with this album, but I don't think it was as well-executed as it could've been. Hellhammer's drumming is insane as always, but many of the riffs seem to be very similar and just not all that interesting.



I mean, I still like it alright. I like the evil, demented tone of the album and some of the riffs are pretty cool, but I just feel like they could've put more thought into a lot of it.This Message Edited On 02.09.09

Hawks
February 9th 2009


69293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome review and album.

Digging: Hecate Enthroned - Embrace Of The Godless Aeon

Diarrhea
February 9th 2009


56 Comments


the review is kinda gay but i like it anyway.

Wizard
February 9th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is this users name^^^!

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This was a total let down after the "Chimera" and "Grand Declaration...".

Hawks
February 10th 2009


69293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is better than The Grand Declaration of War.

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Glad you feel that way... how does it feel to be wrong ;) No, I just can't get past the muddy sound on this.

Wizard
February 10th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't get past the fact that they shit into a microphone and people want to listen to it.

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Have you tried Chimera? Also, if you like Voivod then you totally want to try Grand declaration...

Wizard
February 10th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love what I've heard from that album (and I have it on order ;) haha). I need to check out Grand as well.

Hawks
February 10th 2009


69293 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Grand Declaration is still really good. Despite what most people think, I really like the vocals on that album.

Wizard
February 10th 2009


20209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thats the one thing that I can't take seriously about this band. Both of their singers where awful (especially their newest one).

Willie
Moderator
February 10th 2009


17623 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Grand Declaration of War definitely has one of the better vocal performances found on a Mayhem album (I'm one of those people that was never thrilled with the vocals on De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas, though).

Nikkolae
April 15th 2009


5427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i dont know bout you guys but i think the era when Dead was on the lead was their best IMO, might check this out tho im not starving for itThis Message Edited On 04.15.09

Digging: Hopesfall - The Satellite Years

ThusSpokeZarathustra
May 28th 2009


293 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Best Mayhem album since DMDS.



Fans of Attilla should check out Tormentor's "Anno Domini".

Meatplow
December 6th 2009


5524 Comments


The muffled wet paper bag production diminishes all intensity for me, personally.

This is the worst Mayhem i've heard past De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas, A Grand Declaration of War was pretty bad as well but a lot better than this. I actually quite liked Chimera.

gutturalmaster
January 26th 2010


170 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This is one of the worst Black Metal albums I've ever heard; weak song writing and engineering. Sound quality is lacking in many ways, and the album all together is sloppy. A big disappoinment from an over-rated band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy