Rhapsody of Fire
Power of the Dragonflame


4.0
excellent

Review

by OathofDarkness USER (10 Reviews)
July 15th, 2005 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


Although the band has only been releasing records since 1997, Rhapsody has been one of the, if not thee biggest and most influential "epic metal" bands to grace the music industry. Hell, even if you're not an epic metal fan, if you look past that you'll also see one of the most talented metal bands period. The band creates climactic, epic songs full of adventure, which are captivating and exciting. In 2002, they released their fifth album "Power of the Dragonflame" which ends the Emerald Sword saga.
With the opening track "In Tenebris" leading the series of events off, it's easy to tell the album has much more to offer you than music or vocals, but also an epic journey. "Knightrider of Doom", "Power of the Dragonflame", and "The March of the Swordmaster" are fast paced and get the album moving along at an incredible rate. These three songs single handedly make this album a success (as far as the story line is concerned anyway.) As the album and story progress, you reach a climax and that would have to be "When Demons Awake". With the amazing guitar and keyboard solo in the middle of the song, you can tell the confrontation takes place and the victors are crowned. Further proof of this would be lead singer Fabio Leone losing his composure and retreats from his opera-esque vocals and turns to a heavier grunt type of vocal which to me shows the climax and battle. Bringing the album to an end would be "Gargoyles, Angels of Darkness", a 19 minute three part track that is nothing but sheer brilliance! This is a magnificent and beautiful track that reiterates all prior songs and brings closure on the album and storyline.

Simply put, this album is amazing. You have all around amazing musicianship with orchestrated symphonies along with the given dragons and warfare. The ten track album is composed and comprised of tracks that make it sound like a book is being read to you. It's a rare commodity to experience this, but with Rhapsody it's pretty much a given. Hopefully this will help convey what I'm trying to say; "Power of the Dragonflame" could, no, should have been the soundtrack to the Lord of the Rings trilogy.



Recent reviews by this author
The Black Dahlia Murder MiasmaPennywise The Fuse
Various Artists (Rock) Welcome to the Nightmare...Blind Guardian Live
Ritual Carnage I, InfidelDeadlock Earth.Revolt
user ratings (243)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Toondude (5)
Rise....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dead_Trench
July 15th 2005


159 Comments


Epic metal? I believe it is called power metal. But still, it's a good review of an awesome power metal band.

OathofDarkness
July 15th 2005


11 Comments


Genres within genres are a very tricky thing, you know? But I'm glad that you liked the review.

Priestmetal
July 16th 2005


542 Comments


The guitarist of my band always talks abut these guys. I guess I should check them out.

OathofDarkness
July 17th 2005


11 Comments


Priestmetal,

It's not for everybody. I'm not saying that you will or won't like it, but for a while I didn't really like them, and now I'm big into them. Anyway, let us know if you like them or not.

King_Of_Terrors
July 19th 2005


52 Comments


They are considered Neo-Classical Post-Symphonic Power Metal, since they have the orchestra that always plays with them. They are an awesome band. Good review!

MavrikGandalf
December 29th 2005


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent band, excellent album. Superb recording, wonderfully cheesy lyrics, epic riffs, brilliant symphonic elements, well done Renaissance-esque intro's... Rhapsody has kicked up the bar on Symphonic/Epic/Film Soundtrack/Power Metal. 5/5



noah, duke of west chester

jimay333
April 12th 2006


433 Comments


I like the term epic metal. I actually used it before, reffering to Luca Turilli's solo albums such a "Demonheart". What an amazing song!

MavrikGandalf
April 13th 2006


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The stickers that are always stuck to the jewel cases say they're "Symphonic Epic Hollywood Metal".



Good review, btw.



Noah, Duke of West Chester

TheHamburgerman
January 25th 2007


1455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Decent review. There was not enough information, and your opening lines were somewhat fanboyish.

Poet
January 17th 2008


6005 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lamento Eroico is absolutely mindblowing.

Anthracks
December 26th 2008


6260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album cover is so cool (well most of theirs are cool) I think, which is totally influencing me to check this out even though I barely like Pawr Metal.



Hey I like this!This Message Edited On 12.26.08

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

TheHamburgerman
January 29th 2009


1455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The March of the Swordmasters isn't anything near fast-paced... It's actually quite slow. Also the latter 17 minutes of Gargoyles are quite bad, I think.

Nagrarok
January 29th 2009


8588 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can this album's title get any more cheesy?

couch
January 30th 2010


311 Comments


fuck yeargh this band rules

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2010


24491 Comments


Can this album's title get any more cheesy?


Awesome Power of the Fiery Dragonflame



Digging: Cradle of Filth - Midian

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2012


2571 Comments


Probably my favourite Rhapsody album-it also has some of their more epic material on here, such as the title track and magnificent closer 'Gargoyles, Angels of Darkness'. A brilliant album, and even more brilliant live.

Digging: Cult Leader - A Patient Man

Snowdog808
June 25th 2014


2922 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fuck yeargh this band rules [2]. I can't wait for Toondude to review it.



Anthracks
June 12th 2015


6260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rec bands like this and Dark Moor plz

Spado
March 6th 2016


489 Comments


neck

Oceandrowned
April 12th 2016


819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their best. I remember i was a lot in to power when i was teen, and this band absolutely ripped my head off in 2003. Still undeniably a classic of power metal. Puts a lot of sympho bands in to shame. And the guys are actually having fun while making their songs, just watch their videos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy