A Tribe Called Quest The Low End Theory
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
HalfManHalfAmazing
September 17th 2020


2770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do love People's Instincts and Midnight Marauders though.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2020


21124 Comments


I never gave tribe a fair shake I think. love the comeback album but could never get into this

HalfManHalfAmazing
September 17th 2020


2770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm glad I'm not the only one.

protokute
September 18th 2020


1498 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love the Tribe classics but couldn't get as much into the comeback album.....

Digging: The Grip Weeds - The Sound Is In You

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2020


8295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

same same proto

bloc
September 18th 2020


66214 Comments


The Tribe classics took a while to grow on me, but the comeback was an instant hit

Digging: Hiatus Kaiyote - Mood Valiant

Flashmobba
October 4th 2020


1549 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

too good

HalfManHalfAmazing
October 4th 2020


2770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I float like gravity"



lmao

JoeTex
October 9th 2020


1178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

never had a cavity

Log S.
October 18th 2020


3240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you have to get in the right "mindset" for this one considering how jarring the old-school rapping styles can be on first few listens. but once you do it's fresh as fuck



imo Midnight Marauders doesn't have this issue, feel like that one's aged a bit better & is pretty much my favorite of theirs

MrSirLordGentleman
October 18th 2020


14299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

weird to see these opinions for me tbh. I see Tribe as easily some of the most accessible rap

protokute
October 19th 2020


1498 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yup, definitely my entry gate to quality hip hop.

claygurnz
October 19th 2020


6578 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

(2)

cordwainerbird
January 7th 2021


1215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

may not be the best hip hop album lyrically, but I think this is def the best hip hop album sonically. certainly my favorite in that regard at least

Digging: Mindless Self Indulgence - You'll Rebel To Anything

cordwainerbird
February 24th 2021


1215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gave this a real hard active re-listen today and i was shocked to find i didn't love it nearly as much as i did a couple/few years ago



the beats are truly out-of-this world, abstract and impossibly clean but the lyrics are really like. not nearly as good as i thought. the flow is immaculate but Tribe doesn't really say much of substance other than "be positive in the face of hard times?" but that's just why Excursions is the best track. the rest.... i don't really know what's going on



"Butter" in particular is ridiculously dumb. i remember this one being my favorite because sonically it's incredible but the lyrics are just so callow and self-serving



this was a really great transitional album for me to get into hip hop. i latched onto the abstract jazz and darkness of the record before i really "got" what the genre was about. i also appreciate musical wordplay way more now.

normaloctagon
February 24th 2021


6066 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Buggin' Out

normaloctagon
February 24th 2021


6066 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cord u dont have any slum village rated check fantastic vol 2

cordwainerbird
February 24th 2021


1215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ooh will do!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy