Charli XCX Brat
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DamnVanne
July 10th 2024


3518 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dammit, I promised my friend floor tickets to the Seattle show as a wedding present and now I am on the hook for something like $800 between the 2 of us

Christbait
July 10th 2024


496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Get them an espresso machine if you're forking over that much dough.

anode
July 10th 2024


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I’d say a concerts better than an espresso machine but yeah you really cornered yourself there

AlexKzillion
July 10th 2024


17554 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i will not stand for this rewind slander

Jurtz
July 10th 2024


2118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

He is right you know.

Jurtz
July 10th 2024


2118 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's still absolutely ridiculous what you have to do and spend to see your pop idol live.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


27796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

More than anything rewind reminds me of the bookends, though I have to listen to this album again--but it's hard to see singling that one out as "terrible" if you at all enjoy the album's aesthetic. then again taste is mysterious...

AlexKzillion
July 10th 2024


17554 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

actually watched a really great 30min video explaining why so many us arena tours seem to be flopping and getting canceled this year (including this charli tour):



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a51dNIIGjDU



tldr ticketmaster is the devil but it was pretty fascinating to see all the logistics laid out this way

Christbait
July 10th 2024


496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Alex,



Without watching the video, I've heard that one of the other issues are labels pushing newish artists into doing arena runs after 1 or 2 hits. Then charge folks astronomical prices (coupled with Ticketmaster's thievery) to see mediocre to shit-tier shows because these artists don't produce shows worth the asking price.

Odal
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


2307 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah the bubble is bursting because labels are pushing them and ticketmaster has a de facto monopoly on the venues. There are so many middlemen who view the artists as short term investments that have to be wrung out for all their worth with only a hit or two and a single album because the odds are low for them to be relevant longer.



Labels don't develop artists anymore.

anode
July 10th 2024


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

money grab comes with the territory of pop music so kinda on yall for being fans lol

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


27796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

huh? "money grab" must exist on some sort of spectrum--it wasn't always this bad; why give in?

AlexKzillion
July 10th 2024


17554 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@christ yeah that's definitely part of it... but artists are kinda forced(?) to charge those astronomical prices in order to fund an arena tour. all the screens, lights, dancers, fireworks, the labor force that sets it up and takes it all down every day etc... nobody wants to attend an arena show that doesn't have all that but at the same time no one wants to pay those prices (taylor, olivia, and springsteen being the exceptions right now).



many artists these days who do arena tours simply aren't actually big enough to be doing them without losing money. and especially with popstars, it seems labels/management have been falling into the trap of mistaking social media followings for actual fans (jennifer lopez).

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


61266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"money grab comes with the territory of pop music so kinda on yall for being fans lol"

oblivious tool fan moment

anode
July 10th 2024


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it has always been this bad and always will be for commercialized music because thats the point of it is to be profitable and anything else is secondary. there is no spectrum. even if the singer songwriters may be genuine and altruistic in nature (very rare), the industry will always be the ones to determine margins, and those margins will always be in favor of maximum profitability

anode
July 10th 2024


2344 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol i just came from making fun of tool fans in the fear inoculum thread johnny, weird choice of pigeon holing

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


27796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"it has always been this bad and always will be for commercialized music because thats the point of it is to be profitable and anything else is secondary. there is no spectrum." ok yes the profit motive remains consistent throughout all human history or capitalism blah blah but to say that its been the same in the 1930s as the 60s as the 90s as now is just unnuanced

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


61266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the point of popular music is to speak to a large audience

the point of commercialised music is to rake in heaps of cash

yes, these two things exist in the same market and yes, it's often nebulous where one ends and the other begins within single artists (charli is not a good example here, as it's usually patently obvious which of her material is more commercially aligned), but it's putting the cart before the horse to reduce pop music as a whole to a money racket. any artist successful enough to rip off its fans is going to be used as such if their act is large enough to have significant industry involvement and/or if they're genuinely a bunch of stooges - hence Tool - but this is a deeply lazy lens to analyse them on the level of individual artists

jrlikestodance
July 10th 2024


1440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm just happy I got to see Janet Jackson for $30 this year

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
July 10th 2024


27796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bro I'm jealous as hell. Was thinking of dropping a lot to see her in Connecticut with my gf who grew up on her music...but nay



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy