Billie Eilish Hit Me Hard and Soft
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2024


2310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Awesome review Johnny. You did this thing justice and a great job providing the necessary context on her place in the current pop landscape.



Billie is not someone that I really actively anticipate her music, but I've enjoyed all three of her albums so far and they seem to only rise in quality. She scaled back the things I haven't enjoyed and basically made this hit after hit after hit. If you enjoyed anything of her previous stuff, I'd be shocked if you didn't like this one and, crucially, it seems like more and more people get on board with her being a Serious Artist with each successive album. This is challenging Eternal Sunshine for my favorite mainstream album of the year so far

ToSmokMuzyki
May 20th 2024


11671 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

>i've had reviewing anything since i tried to veto your contrib application



LMAO

Dedes
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2024


10156 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God I love me some petty banter

I'll definitely check this, tbh always quite dug the debut and uhhh never checked Happier Than Ever even tho I fucking ADORE "My Future"

Odal
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2024


2310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Happier Than Ever is great, but it's definitely dragged down by some moments of bloat and extending her reach a bit too far. You'll love this one though. Lean and powerful stuff. Very addicting

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2024


47774 Comments


good writeup do not see a problem with the preamble at all, especially considering how thoroughly she places her music in relation to the pop canon of the moment even if that's emphasising how much her music is outside it

anyway album good, Birds of a Feather is the one

Wildcardbitchesss
May 20th 2024


12687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jammed this three times today, ya I can confidently say this is her best effort yet but I wish she somehow could’ve worked No Time to Die in here… it’s genuinely one of my favorite Bond tunes and I know em all

Wildcardbitchesss
May 20th 2024


12687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Daniel Craig era in general had mostly bangers. Skyfall was absolutely massive and def my favorite Adele song, Another Way to Die is underrated as fuck and the vocal harmonies between Jack and Alicia are genuinely strange as hell and work very well for a mainstream pop rock track, plus it’s fun as a motherfucker to play on guitar and bass… then you have the steaming pile of dogshit Sam Smith one, but then Radiohead came thru and one upped it in every possible way. Damn shame Spectre wasn’t the theme for that movie. But hey, mid as fuck movie gets an even worse track for the opening. So maybe the Writing really was On the Wall



Then there’s You Know My Name which is so, so fucking incredible. Maybe my absolute favorite Bond theme song. Thematically it’s genius, they really went “hey Bond is back, and none of that paragliding on the back of a racer invisible car bullshit. You know this man’s name and he is so fucking back… also possibly my favorite Chris Cornell solo track and honestly beats most of the Soundgarden discog for me too.



But hey, I’m a massive Bond dickrider so obv I’m biased.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2024


47774 Comments


I don't really care about Bond films but You Know My Name is an absolute ass beater. I love annoying the older guys at work by reminding them frequently that it's the best Bond theme

Gyromania
May 20th 2024


37223 Comments


Is anything here as good as Male Fantasy

JeetJeet
May 20th 2024


12291 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

First 4 tracks are solid and Chihiro is the best thing she's ever done. After that the quality starts dipping and it all gets so boring.

Gyromania
May 20th 2024


37223 Comments


Idk about best thing she’s ever done, but you’re def right that this is a fire tune

Wildcardbitchesss
May 20th 2024


12687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

“I don't really care about Bond films but You Know My Name is an absolute ass beater. I love annoying the older guys at work by reminding them frequently that it's the best Bond theme”



yes king shit tbh! I literally do the same thing with boomer ass customers. I vividly remember this fuckin 60 shit year old dumb fuck with the most hick ass fucking white trash accent, who, by the way, is literally a fucking millionaire and has been rich his entire fucking life, going “tHeY mAdE a FuCkInG BLACK LADY JAMES BOND!!1!”



So I finally clapped back at this asshole when ive kept my fucking mouth shut listening to his bs for YEARS: so I went “you know that 007 and James Bond aren’t the same thing right? They don’t retire assigned code names like fucking basketball jerseys.” To which he went



“oh don’t give me that pc bullshit, you probably have only seen two Bond movies in your short life.”



“Um, actually no, dickhead. I own all of them on Blu Ray and the ones that are available in 4K, well I fuckin own them too. Been a fan for damn near 20 years at this point.”



Shut his ignorant ass up really fucking quick. Even his dumb drinking buddies, who actually like me and I don’t have a problem with, were laughing their asses off.

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2024


10001 Comments


I've seen casino royale a few times and I can't remember how the theme goes. It's no Goldfinger that's for sure, which is undoubtedly the best bond theme

Gyromania
May 20th 2024


37223 Comments


Casino Royale the best bond film fr tho. Can’t comment on the themes, it’s been too long

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2024


10001 Comments


I'd say the bond themes that stick out the most for me are:

Goldfinger
You only live twice
Nobody does it better (I think that's from the spy who loved me)
Live and let die
The living daylights
View to a kill

Bond movies are universally a bit hokey and I think Goldfinger is that perfect mix of camp meets menace

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2024


47774 Comments


I have trouble remembering most of them but I hate Live and Let Die with a fucking passion. all of Paul McCartney's worst instincts rolled up in the ultimate cornball song, it's awful

myri14
May 20th 2024


228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Loved the review Johnny. In my opinion, it justified its length by being an interesting read. I liked this album quite a bit. It flows really nicely. I would agree with the point that this is a turning point for Billie, in that this is a more musically mature record that makes me take her craft more seriously.

neekafat
Staff Reviewer
May 20th 2024


26419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

Wasnt sput completely fine with Johnny doing exactly the same ludicrously succinct and on-point pop didacticism on the Taylor review? Everyone wailing on this review seems to have very little to say about this album



EDIT:This reaction brought straight 2 you very late by verybusy neek

ovmunster
May 20th 2024


48 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You practically mirror my every thought about her in the intro, hated hated hated everything from her debut. Everything I Wanted was the song that showed the first step of artistic growth past the juvenile teenager hole she wrote herself into, but Happier Than Ever was still boring. This though - definitely going to be one of, if not the best mainstream pop album of the year. Birds of a Feather is a real winner.

fogza
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2024


10001 Comments


"all of Paul McCartney's worst instincts rolled up in the ultimate cornball song, it's awful"

Lol I love that song, and even if it is cornball, you have to admit it's perfect for the Roger Moore era



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy