Steven Wilson The Harmony Codex
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sizeofanocean
October 8th 2023


3451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Frost dropping some actual brutal facts there (unironically). I don't really see the striving angle

Flugmorph
October 8th 2023


34632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess I wasn't obvious enough with how I phrased that but I was trying to make a joke there...

s888n
October 10th 2023


2 Comments


Not doing much for me as of now... But I also really wasn't into TFB at first, but it grew on me big time and now I love it so I'm holding off on passing judgement.

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

^ Maybe I'll have to give TFB another shot again sometime, it's been a while. I was just never able to get into it, no matter how hard I tried

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2023


4143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Opener is weak y’all. Hope things pick up from here

Gmork89
October 11th 2023


8723 Comments


Yeah I started it but that opener was not doing it for me, tapped out for now, will revisit.

normaloctagon
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2023


4143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alright this next track is somethin’ and accomplishes what he’s been desperately trying to do since going solo, but with actual verve. Gonna stay the course here, but respect for circling back later too bc yeah that opener is a real dud lol

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

^ Yeah, What Life Brings is great. And it's one of those songs that bridges the styles of solo SW and PT very nicely

valek
October 11th 2023


432 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tightrope and Rock Bottom alone make this better than the last album, arguably better than TTB too

TalonsOfFire
Emeritus
October 11th 2023


20969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Tracks 2-4, t/t, and Staircase are excellent. I thought the more electronic songs were a bit less consistent but still good. So much better than TFB.

Gyromania
October 11th 2023


37218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Is Wilson the most dull modern day prog rock artist? Like, actually though, who's more boring to listen to than this dude

zakalwe
October 11th 2023


39437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whose more exciting?

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I'd take an album like this over most of the dull 70s prog revival bands out there

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2023


61186 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Papangu, Omnipotent Youth Society, betcover!! Government, Pure Reason Revolution, Mike Vennart, (very marginally) Gazpacho etc. are all more exciting than crusty modboi Steven Wilson



but jfc yeah prog rock is in a stew these days. will maybe hear this maybe

Ryus
October 11th 2023


37432 Comments


>Is Wilson the most dull modern day prog rock artist?
yes
>Like, actually though, who's more boring to listen to than this dude
not a single person in all of human history


zakalwe
October 11th 2023


39437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pure Reason Revolution are decent to be fair

radianteclipse
October 12th 2023


512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think I became spoiled by the Raven that Refused to Sing. Not only is that the best song Steven Wilson has ever written, it's one of the best songs ever written period and the music video still brings me to tears every single time I watch it.





So while I enjoy what he has put out since then...none of it reaches that same high for me and probably never will. That being said I think this is still a solid 3.5.







kalkwiese
October 12th 2023


10486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Raven album just never blew me away that way, I am afraid. HCE is where it's at for me

gryndstone
October 12th 2023


2792 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Upon revisiting it, I'm loving HCE almost as much as Raven. This is a good album, but nothing touches the heights those two reach. This'll probably stay a 3.5. Economies of Scale of all things is my fav track I think

Koris
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2023


21370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

The Raven is great imo, but I do think it apes vintage 70s prog conventions a bit too much. Hell, the goddamn mellotron was the same one used for In the Court of the Crimson King



HCE is where it's at for me [2]



The Future Bites is the only SW solo album that I outright dislike though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy