Kamelot The Awakening
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zac124
March 20th 2023


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, this album slaps. I need to binge the rest of the bands discography now.

kalkwiese
March 20th 2023


9678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll get to Ghost Opera and Poetry kk

Shattered_Future
March 20th 2023


1615 Comments


Maybe I got too old to enjoy this, but I couldn't get more than a couple of tracks into this one. It's the same tunes they've been writing for the past 10 years with a fresh coat of paint.

One More Flag In The Ground almost tricks you with that big chorus, but this one fell way flat.

kalkwiese
March 20th 2023


9678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am not a fan of the production here tbh. Not my thing, very squeaky clean and the vocals are a bit too overprocessed for my liking. But it was a quality record

Scheumke
March 21st 2023


2439 Comments


Hmm review made me want to check this. Haven't been into them since Ghost Opera so who knows. Band peaked hard with The Black Halo imo but really curious now!

grandbazaar
March 22nd 2023


123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Scheumke personally the only albums I often listen to after The Black Halo are Poetry for the Poisoned and Haven. As a whole, their other albums are still enjoyable but whether you'll listen to them or not will depend on your musical preferences.

kalkwiese
March 22nd 2023


9678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You're missing out if you're not listening to Karma imo

mkmusic1995
Contributing Reviewer
March 24th 2023


1160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, I've been jamming this record so much lately. It's addictive, everything about it is so fun!

pizzamachine
March 24th 2023


21409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Niiiice 🕶️

newbatthis
March 25th 2023


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh man this good. Kamelot is back baby!

Flugmorph
March 26th 2023


31005 Comments


just came a lot

RosaParks
March 28th 2023


860 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Stomach pumps for everyone

Viraemias
March 30th 2023


269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Pizzamachine? More like review machine whew. 9 away from 500. Big ups man"



He writes a lot of lazy 5 minute trash reviews to blow up his count. Whenever there's a deathcore band he happens to dislike, he puts zero effort into his review. Thank goodness there's the downvote button which I use whenever I come across a lazy trash review.



However, his Kamelot review is alright. Probably because they're not deathcore, so he actually tries and puts some effort into it.



Favorite song: NightSky

pizzamachine
March 30th 2023


21409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Last year I was off the rails and fucked around a lot. I was not in a good head space for personal reasons and it showed through in my reviews. I always put in an effort, but I was also a super bitter/cynical person at the time. I also went through a lot of writer’s block as a result of my head space (once again, I don’t want to go into details) so I continuously did reviews to keep pushing myself, and try to get back to how I used to write. If I came across a deathcore album I didn’t like I wasn’t easy on it lol. This year has been different, I’m in a great head space and back to writing how I used to/improving. In retrospect I should’ve taken the time to heal before I returned to Sputnik, but it is what it is. This is my year for the proper comeback I was planning previously.



Anywho, I’ve seen you around these parts mate. You drop on a thread to say you hate someone’s review or reviews and leave. I even remember now that you were quite a prick in another of my reviews. You’ve said your peace before, and now you need to parade it about? I’ve heard enough — you made your points and quite too much now. Now for a point I care to mention. Doing almost 500 reviews is no laughing matter even with some half-assed reviews. Furthermore you have no reviews to your name, and can’t possibly understand the effort it takes to write that many reviews. Tl;dr — fuck off and achieve some measure of kindness before talking to me again.

Viraemias
March 30th 2023


269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You write miserable reviews, I downvote those miserable reviews and tell you what I think about it. You actually put an effort into your reviews, I will upvote them and applaud you. This is a public platform for everyone to comment and share their opinion.



I just find it comical how you write one poor review after the other about one specific genre like a bitter trve metal elitist and then act all surprised when someone calls you out for it. Whether you like or dislike an album doesn't matter to me. You could give the lowest score possible, I would still upvote your review if it was nicely written. However, you admitted yourself the reviews simply were very poorly written and by the looks of it you did that on purpose to shit on a genre you dislike. I've seen countless reviewers on this page who consistently did a much much better job than you do which isn't that impressive considering you set the bar so low when you started posted baking receipts as reviews with no relation to the actual album content whatsoever.



Anyways, I'm genuinely happy that you're doing better in life mentally and/or physically. Based on this Kamelot review, it reflects in the quality of your reviews. Always onwards and upwards mate



pizzamachine
March 30th 2023


21409 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh okay a response, nice



@ first paragraph: of course, agreed. Though, at some point you telling me my reviews are trash is gonna get repetitive.



“like a bitter trve metal elitist”

Yesss I’ve never been called that — m/m/m/



“and then act all surprised when someone calls you out for it“

I’m not surprised at ALL mate, it comes with the territory.



“you admitted yourself the reviews simply were very poorly written”

I do not recall this. I like my reviews for the most part, though yeah some are difficult to read now haha. I went off the rails sometimes.



Okay okay you go on to continue talking about how trash my reviews are, how I set the bar low by using analogies. Apparently the analogies are so bad I don’t review at all. Alright, I’ll concede here, some of my reviews went too much into word salad. Like I said, I get it mate, you REALLY don’t like my reviews. You’re free to not like ‘em, etc, and I hope this got your anger out of your system. I’m glad you’re seeing improvements in my reviewing, thanks for ending on a less brutal note lol. Peace

RosaParks
March 30th 2023


860 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Viraemias came a lot reading this review clearly. Nice post nut clarity bro

Flugmorph
March 30th 2023


31005 Comments


imagine being this much of a prick to pizza


Izildur
April 11th 2023


11 Comments


@Kalkwiese: Can you please specify where you hear Autotune on this one?
In the linked "Is there anybody out there" example, Id say Autotune was applied at the (pretty annoying) section beginning at 1:30 and wherever these calls/cries/whateveritssupposedtobe are repeated.

While I dont like this segment at all, it is at least "creative" use of Autotune as opposed to correcting missed notes (which would surprise me quite a bit on a Kamelot record).

Thanks


kalkwiese
April 11th 2023


9678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I listened to the album only once and it was in one sitting, so I don't remember the specific song tbh. The thing is, I am ususally really bad at telling whether or not a singing performance has artifacts of autotune, melodyne or what program is in use atm. But WHEN I notice, it's so blatant that I assume everything else was touched as well.

The instance I definetly noticed as in a ballad. It was a soft section and the glitching of the pitch, like being played on a keyboard, just killed the vibe for me. It sounds robotic.

Overall the album just sounded too skweaky clean imo, I susspected it was overly polished. When I heared that one instance of pitch correction, it was anclear case for me.



And I want to make clear that I don't blame the singer here. I'm sure he is talented. What turns me off is the overly polished prodiction that became a sort of industry standard. I do not see artistic merit using these tools here, like e.g. Panther by Pain of Salvation had. Here it is just overproduction imo and I don't like the result



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2022 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy