Disillusion Ayam
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scheumke
November 21st 2022


2375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I've been spinning this daily the last few weeks. I think it's the only album like that I've had this year.

Evangelancer
November 21st 2022


32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is definitely a slow grower, but it's now in that "rapidly skyrocketing" phase of growth for me. Definitely one the best prog releases of the year.

Gmork89
November 23rd 2022


8444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Vocals also slay on this, I enjoy them on BTTOS but I feel like they are massively improved here.



I could just about 5 this honestly.

Muzz79
November 23rd 2022


2138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This has highlights throughout

Scheumke
November 23rd 2022


2375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm at the same point Gmork. I'll probably 5 this in a week or two if I'm still in love with it then.

Egarran
November 23rd 2022


29832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm in the 'frequently uttering 'no actually this part is the best''-phase.



It's a good phase.

XfingTheSullen
November 23rd 2022


4751 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok this is very pretty, but really on the softer side, doesn't have enough dynamics to compare to back to times of splendor

Egarran
November 24th 2022


29832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah, this is definitely comparable.

PizzaBear
November 24th 2022


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd say it's pretty comparable to The Liberation but that seems to be a minority opinion. Splendor is a league of its own, Gloria is quirky and endearing and the last two (and Alea) are a solid return to form but with a modern take on it

Egarran
November 24th 2022


29832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's funny, most reviews I've read of this mention how they loved The Liberation. Apparently it's mostly us grumpy sputnikkers that have a problem with it.

83Bumakis
November 25th 2022


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is fantastic indeed and a huge step up from the already enjoyable The Liberation, but the lack of love here for Gloria is a bit disheartening. Disillusion’s masterpiece as far as I am concerned. But Ayam is definitely a gift that keeps on giving…..

PizzaBear
November 25th 2022


75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll happily go to bat for Gloria any day of the week but it's still easily their worst album (while still being great mind you)

Egarran
November 26th 2022


29832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm now at the point where I can say that some of the solos here are fantastic.

83Bumakis
November 26th 2022


40 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yahhh the solos in Abide the Storm are truly a thing of beauty. Kinda reminds me of the band Ten at their most sweeping and melancholy, which prolly seems like a bizarre comparison, but it’s worked magically into Disillusion’s sound. This just gets better and better with every listen!

Gmork89
November 26th 2022


8444 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That 'Shuggah-esque solo in Tormento is so sick.

Zac124
November 26th 2022


760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True. Definitely among my favourite moments on the album.

Observer
Emeritus
November 26th 2022


9285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm largely to be blamed for the negativity revolving around liberation on this site, so I do apologize for that. I did try to listen to it again after loving this, but it still falls a good deal below this and splendor. That's just me, and im fine being an outlier, whatever. If someone wants to review the liberation that has a more "overall reflective view from the fans" of the album, I dont mind deleting mine.



This one still rules.



VanFullOfSpooks
November 29th 2022


45 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I have been listening to this album NONSTOP since it has come out and I think this may be my AOTY, after countless listens the last song has just clicked with me and is a decent ending. This is damn near perfect and is so damn close to the perfection of Back to Times of Splendor. Very hard to compare cause this album feels so much more mature and flows perfectly for me. This album is damn close perfect.

VanFullOfSpooks
November 29th 2022


45 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Screw it, giving this a perfect score. Been awhile since I have replayed a album like this and I am still not bored with it, fantastic album!

Egarran
November 29th 2022


29832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice! It's so good to find an album like that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy