Archive Call To Arms and Angels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chippe
May 5th 2022


158 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Daytime coma is beyond fantastic. It's like an eventful journey, where relaxation, wonder, calm desperation, loneliness, confusion and chaos slowly passes by.

Sowing
Moderator
May 5th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed. It's the longest track here but doesn't feel like 14 minutes. It's absolutely blissful and calm.

Digging: Anberlin - Silverline

Gyromania
May 5th 2022


34794 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Can't help feeling like this peaks in the first 4 tracks

Zakusz
May 5th 2022


728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the avatar info Sowing, got it figured out

Chippe
May 5th 2022


158 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

And 50 comments deserves an avatar as well! The only thing holding me back from 5-ing this is Every Single Day. While not bad, it's a step away from all the awesomeness before and after. On the other hand, 16 amazing tracks... Ok, 5 it is!

JohnyBlood
May 5th 2022


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thank you too Sowing for the avatar and profile info. And I'm with all of you who think that Daytime Coma is the highlite. That song really touched me, powerful stuff.

Digging: White Ward - False Light

Sowing
Moderator
May 5th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

First 4 tracks are indeed fire, but they can't be the peak because of Shouting Within.

Bilbodabag
May 5th 2022


123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unsure how I feel about this as a whole after 1 listen but there are definitely a number of songs on here that I enjoyed quite a bit

Sowing
Moderator
May 5th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think the more time this is given, the more it gels together. I remember my first couple listens thinking that it was a bit all over the place, but now I feel like each moment is fairly distinct. People's perception will vary of course, so I'm not expecting everyone here to fall in love with all 103 minutes of this just because I did.



(but they should)



;-)

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i love that the last page of this just devolved into the meds thread for a few

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2022


49220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

_archive

Gyromania
May 6th 2022


34794 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

after a few listens today, i think i can safely say that this feels like a pretty huge album, but i get what johnny is saying about it not commiting to one style and being too all over the place. i like most of the things this album tries to do, but it does fragment the listening experience. i like the album the more i hear it despite that. some tracks like daytime coma need a bit of time to fully resonate and i'm glad i didn't write them off after 1 listen.

Sowing
Moderator
May 6th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Gyro, you're on the right side of history ;-)

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ok listening now

Sowing
Moderator
May 6th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm legitimately excited to hear what you'll think of it. I don't really know if you prefer this style of alternative/electronic rock, but I hope you hear the beauty in its atmosphere.

Underflow
May 6th 2022


5269 Comments


"Gyro, you're on the right side of history ;-)" not the best choice of words i've ever seen

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My thoughts after the first two songs:



-each song was individually very good but the transition between them was atonal and hilarious

-Archive just learned what the F word is (it’s fuck)

Gyromania
May 6th 2022


34794 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

almost every song has something good going for it. and shouting within + daytime coma have all the things. actually i'd add head heavy as well. that trio of songs is amazing

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok i’m vibing with Shouting Within

Krpa
May 6th 2022


246 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think I'll listen to this pretty soon. Their earlier stuff was pretty good, latest few albums weren't that great. Excited to hear they're back in shape.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy