Archive Call To Arms and Angels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

brotha i'm so busy but i want to listen to this

Sowing
Moderator
May 4th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If you want to avoid the lengthier ambient tracks (which are some of their best!) and just get a taste for what this is like, try: Surrounded By Ghosts, Mr Daisy, Shouting Within, Every Single Day, and/or Freedom. I feel like they're some of the most accessible cuts though, so it does get considerably more interesting.

Digging: Anberlin - Silverline

Sowing
Moderator
May 4th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Also just realized that the album cover looks like the band stumbled into a mythical forest and discovered Anberlin's long-lost Cities artwork.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


49220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Why are people talking about egregiously long albums and not mentioning Yaya Kim you make me ill



Also lmao that ratings distribution chart

parksungjoon
May 4th 2022


45122 Comments


the cover is a ratings distribution chart

Digging: Photek - Natural Born Killa

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


49220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

paha

Gyromania
May 5th 2022


34794 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i thought this sounded pretty incredible at points and really enjoyed it overall, but i do wonder about its longevity

Gyromania
May 5th 2022


34794 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fear there and everywhere is godly

someone
May 5th 2022


4577 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

i kinda hate the vocals

Lasssie
May 5th 2022


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Only listened to this once and it didnt click with me at all and because of the running time i doubt i will go back to it any time soon. I certainly dont agree with this being an album that raises the bar for alternative rock but to each his own

someone
May 5th 2022


4577 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

yep, it's a big Sowing letdown for me





much more than i had feared.

Zakusz
May 5th 2022


728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is totally awesome, the amount of sounds they bring to the table and still keep everything cohesive shows a lot of maturity in their song writing.

Sowing
Moderator
May 5th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm also obviously in the camp of this being amazing; I get the complaints about the length and apparent meandering/"indecisive" nature of the songwriting, but I think that the eclectic styles are seamlessly integrated with each other. I also think the production is pristine; I'm not sure how anyone could listen to this -- esp. tracks like the opener or 'Shouting Within' -- and criticize the vocal mixing or think that it sounds like it was recorded in a bucket. To me it's just the opposite; this thing feels shrouded in mystery, but also very elegant and airy...spacious, open. It was never meant to be subtle or reserved, it's an album that aims to include a wide variety of sounds under the same umbrella atmospherically, and IMO it succeeds in doing just that: each song has a unique identity, but they all also sound like they belong on this record.

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I'm also obviously in the camp of this being amazing"



Source?

Sowing
Moderator
May 5th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I should just copy-paste my entire review into the comments every time I try to refute criticism about the album

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I approve of that

JohnyBlood
May 5th 2022


39 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sputnik won't accept my profile pictures, no matter what I do. Are you all hacking? Sad place. Great album. Niche review ;)

Digging: White Ward - False Light

Sowing
Moderator
May 5th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Make sure it's less than 200 pixels wide and a jpg. If in doubt go even smaller, i.e. 100x50 (make it taller than it is wide). You can manipulate size on sites like imgur.

Zakusz
May 5th 2022


728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Funny someone brought up profile pics, I can see my profile pic I selected when I go to my profile, but can't see it when I comment in threads. Can you all see my profile pic to the left or is it blank?

Sowing
Moderator
May 5th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your avatar is different from your profile picture. You need to go to edit my info and change your avatar to have it show up in threads.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy