Archive Call To Arms and Angels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
parksungjoon
May 3rd 2022


45122 Comments


this shit makes me wish i knew how to write

Digging: Photek - Natural Born Killa

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


49220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ominous

parksungjoon
May 3rd 2022


45122 Comments


i meant the review

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


4585 Comments


that makes a lot of sense sowing, can imagine wanting to do something a little different for a while after writing that many reviews lol (and the blog series are v dope, so hell yea). digging this so far, not sure if it'll manage to keep my attention for the entire duration tho

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


16908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I've probably overstated my ambitions not to rate anything in 2002"



Don't worry I didn't rate anything that year either. Also #ReleaseTheSpreadsheet

parksungjoon
May 3rd 2022


45122 Comments


oh no the spreadsheet ratings



Sowing
Moderator
May 3rd 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oops meant 2022 lol.



Also not sure if that's "I wish I knew how to write so I could do this justice" or "this inspired me to wish I knew how to write".



What's wrong with spreadsheets? I'm something of an excel nerd.

Digging: Anberlin - Silverline

parksungjoon
May 3rd 2022


45122 Comments


yea i have my own infamous spreadsheet of pending ratings and about a thousand artists to check out... its a bit of an issue :x

>Also not sure if that's "I wish I knew how to write so I could do this justice" or "this inspired me to wish I knew how to write".

yea i wish i could write gud for the things i want to write gud about

its hard to convince people "hey this is some groundbreaking shit give it a try" depending on what kind of music youre writing about and ive been struggling massively with that behind the scenes

Sowing
Moderator
May 3rd 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It helps to have a hyperbolic bend to everything you say that seemingly can't be curbed or helped in any way ;-) I'm betting any effort you make will turn out better than you imagine in your head.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
May 3rd 2022


28549 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Aaahh here it is. In time for my morning coffee.



I wasn't expecting this to be good tbh, and maybe it will grow off after the surprise factor is gone but my first hearthrough left me in awe more than once.



Amazing album.

Digging: Taj Mahal Travellers - July 15, 1972

parksungjoon
May 3rd 2022


45122 Comments


>I'm betting any effort you make will turn out better than you imagine in your head.

maybe, it always feels like an imposition to ask someone to look at it and give feedback though

Sowing
Moderator
May 3rd 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Dewi: Honestly I wasn't either, but now I'm very glad that I checked it out. I've probably spun it like 6 times since Friday and it's only gotten better.



@Parks: I'm literally always happy to proofread. My email is sowingsputnik@gmail.com.

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


4585 Comments


kinda disappointed (in myself, mostly) that i'm not really fucking with this all that much.. it all sounds pretty cool but i just can't find a reason to love this bc every time a really good bit happens it randomly switches to something way less intriguing and i just feel persistently vaguely blueballed idfk

Sowing
Moderator
May 4th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The same thing you described is why I love it; for me it was unpredictable and the songs mostly refused to go along with where I thought they should go, which I admired. The main difference is that I really enjoyed what they switched up to as well, whether it was the melodic sections or the sparse ambient ones. It did take me a couple listens to recognize a lot of the songs as having their own form/shape (because it is so meandering and shifty), but now it's hard for me to forget any of it...it's so infectious and mesmerizing/enveloping. With that said I definitely started to feel that way by the end of my 2nd full listen so if you've already tried twice and this isn't clicking then it might simply not be your thing and not worth continued wasting of your time (because I am very aware that this is almost 2 hours long, lol)

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


4585 Comments


yeah i can definitely see how this would be an amazing record if you enjoy all the switches; i very much prefer the barebones ambient moments, the more maximalist tunes feel (ironically) shallow by comparison.. then again it also definitely needs these shifts to not be an absolute snoozefest haha
i've given it like 1.5 spins, will give it one more shot in a couple of days (maybe i just need a different ~headspace~ to appreciate it more lol)

parksungjoon
May 4th 2022


45122 Comments


ill think about it. still need to organise thoughts into a first draft. usually thats the biggest hurdle to overcome

Sowing
Moderator
May 4th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I mean definitely don't go crazy trying to enjoy something that you simply don't, but I agree that the two styles rely on each other to succeed. I'm also somewhat convinced that the artist purposely made this disorienting as sort of a statement (?) about the state of the world because that's what so much of the lyrical content is focused on: light, dark, shapes, density vs transparency as a physical and emotional trait, confusion via the absent of clear truth...also, maybe I'm just a nut job.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


49220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah it's like that time Dustin Kensrue was like "um we're going grey" and the whole world was like "wow radical centralism for inspirational dads okay"



Jesper you have got the vibe! I have fucked up: am on a long train and forgot to download that Sonic record and have no discord :[[[

Sowing
Moderator
May 4th 2022


41734 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is definitely more elaborate than Thrice's The Grey lol (musically, emotionally, politically)



But point taken

JesperL
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2022


4585 Comments


"also, maybe I'm just a nut job" anyone who willingly listens to a 2 hr long record is, so dw you're in good company lol

johnny i am not disappointed, just mad. f sonic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy