A Perfect Circle Mer de Noms
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2019


5941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you combined the best 5 tracks from this with the best 5 tracks from 13th Step it would be better than anything Tool has ever done TBH.

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2019


5941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Three Sixty got it close but they shot themselves in the dick by adding a bunch of shit from the covers album instead of the og version of Pet and Magdalena.

Observer
Emeritus
December 5th 2019


9023 Comments


I dig this. Could use a remaster though

Digging: Ovens - Ovens

EoinCofa
December 5th 2019


605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Diary of a Love Song - might be the greatest mashup ever. Wished they would’ve done a studio version and included it as a bonus track on here (I know the crappy production/recording quality of the live performance is on emotive). Saw these guys just before this album was released in Scottsdale, Arizona and was blown away; it was a small crowd and it was also a fashion show (you know, the kind with models and a runway; serious)

ShadowRemains
December 5th 2019


26405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

orestes is still >>>>

Larkinhill
December 5th 2019


7212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Orestes is straight up top 3 APC. But The Noose is numero uno.

Artuma
December 5th 2019


32254 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

noosero uno

Dunpeal
January 10th 2020


4413 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is Maynard's best lyrical work, imo

Aerisavion
January 10th 2020


2771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A lot of it is Billy too to be fair, they make an amazing team.

Dunpeal
January 10th 2020


4413 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

is it though? Did they collab on vocals? I was always under the impression that Billy was in charge of the music and MJK in charge of the vocals. I can't find anything on the contrary and wiki basically says the same thing.

Larkinhill
January 10th 2020


7212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A bit random, but I’ve run into Billy twice in a span of three months, both times in a pizza restaurant (one being a CPK I work at). Fucking bizarre. Very cool dude though — he actually remembered me the second time! Gave me a guitar pick.

Aerisavion
January 10th 2020


2771 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I’m still jealous of that Lark haha



The only similar candle I can hold to that is any interaction I had with their publicist when I was freelance. They liked my Elephant review, apparently

Flashmobba
January 10th 2020


1549 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yall are sleeping on Thomas, most Tool like APC has ever been and it's so damn perfect

Jasdevi087
January 10th 2020


6698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"is it though? Did they collab on vocals? I was always under the impression that Billy was in charge of the music and MJK in charge of the vocals."



Billy sings backing vox most of the time (I think Rose and Over are the only tracks on this he doesn't), he's also singing lead on Renholder and a bunch of tracks on emotive too. It's his band, it wouldn't be that much of a stretch to imagine he wrote some of the lyrics

Dunpeal
February 4th 2020


4413 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i agree billy probably had some say on lyrics and i'm aware of the common perception that APC is "billy's band," but I think it's a stretch to think he just brought maynard in for vocal duty and that's it. This band is a partnership, but really it goes nowhere without maynard, no disrespect to billy, but Ashes Divide is his band and it doesn't touch APC. Unless someone with intimate knowledge can tell me otherwise, i'm gonna assume maynard has first draft duty and billy chimes in with suggestions here and there so i'm standing by my original comment



also, Thomas kicks ass, agreed

SitarHero
February 4th 2020


12971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Ashes Divide is his band and it doesn't touch APC."



That one Ashes Divide album blows away both Eat The Elephant and eMOTIVe tbh.

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2020


5941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

...well I don't disagree but that's kind of damning with faint praise isn't it lol

SitarHero
February 4th 2020


12971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Maybe, but it does support Howerdel's claim to being the creative force behind APC that actually made it great, once upon a time.

Kompys2000
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2020


5941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah listening to Ashes Divide it's clear he had a pretty big hand in writing the best bits of this and 13th Step. Honestly I'd like to see Howerdel do an album of collaborations with guest vocalists like what Mark Morton did last year, since my biggest issue with Ashes divide is that Howerdel doesn't have enough charisma as a singer to elevate the material past what it already is

Larkinhill
February 5th 2020


7212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ashes Divide is pretty damn good. At least, the one album was/is...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy