Sleigh Bells Texis
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Snake.
September 13th 2021


23563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"You HAVE TO see Sleigh Bells live. Regardless of your opinion on listening to the them at home, they CRUSH it live. Seriously - their art can't be properly enjoyed on headphones or big home speakers - you need a massive professional sound system in order to appreciate what they actually do with their art. They are not just making little pop songs with a rock edge - they are truly experimenting with what's possible in Noise/Pop. I've seen them 8 times now and they never fail to fully melt your face.







Sleigh Bells is my favorite band and they knock it out of the park with "Texis". I think it's by far their most cohesive and best album in years (since Reign of Terror). Give it a listen and GO THEM LIVE!"



whatever you say mr. billboard!

rabidfish
September 13th 2021


6914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

tbh i'd bet they fucking destroy live.

Digging: Usa/Mexico - Del Rio

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Do these dudes have additional song writers on the payroll because if not this album is a real whip away the towel look at the shrivelled cock moment for the pop ‘industry’.



Consistency of the tunes here is unreal. Like them all now, chorus of ‘Locust Laced’ the closest to a meh moment remaining for me at this stage. ‘Hummingbird Bomb’ is such a great closer.

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also the other ‘subversive’ pop acts with rock guitars like Poppy and Babymetal should be relegated to Tik Tok videos only after this

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


41693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

lauren bousfield [123] rina sawayama susumu hirasawa yeh yeh whatever RIP olivia rodrigo and poppy

Digging: Teenage Jesus and the Jerks - Teenage Jesus and the Jerks

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok I check Bousfield

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seems a bit Clarence Clarity, will need to psych up for this one

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


41693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

you will hate her but she is a harder kick. same kinda thrills meat cleavered and posted into aaron funk's dead letterbox

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Somehow I’m thinking the intentions of both artists aren’t all that aligned Johnny



I’m sort of resisting it/sort of trying to work out if it is worth returning to - it took me 50 listens to start liking Garden of Delete to a satisfying degree and this could be similar



I did go through a Clarence Clarity month where I thought he was a bright white hope but now I wince at the memory and I don’t want to go down that path again

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


41693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

now is a rogue time start nodding after artistic intentions; sometimes a similar sense for hook incorporation speaks louder than palette or performance

certainly caters to more similar thrills to this than clarence clarity, who i also have limited affection for

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Did anyone know if there were any additional song writers on this?

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


41693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

the 3 mins of research i just did says idk but discogs needs a page for this

but they have a history of using additional songwriters iirc? so i'd imagine so

GhandhiLion
September 14th 2021


13576 Comments


This is the first album I've checked since Treats.

Digging: park zero - somethingtheycandanceto

GhandhiLion
September 14th 2021


13576 Comments


This is pretty wacky

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'but they have a history of using additional songwriters iirc? so i'd imagine so'



money well spent then, I imagined so - hard to write five or six great pop choruses like on here



if they wrote the entire things themselves I felt it would have been a bit of a freakish thing



be interested to know who eventually, Lady Gaga should get in touch if she doesn't know them

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ghandi, the typical NIN bit towards the end of 'Justine Go Genesis' is blatant, good tune though imo



Seems Trent backed the wrong fem vox pop act to produce in Halsey

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


41693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

"They trying to be NIN now"

gonna play the lesser of two evils card and defer to all of Doof's OPN comparisons as of rn (which in fairness i can kinda feel in a couple of specific parallels, though not over the whole thing)

GhandhiLion
September 14th 2021


13576 Comments


I retract my statement, cause Treats also has NINness

DoofDoof
September 14th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The acoustic guitars on 'Rosary' are a goofy thing to put in there...but they work. Microcosm of the album.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


41693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

random af acoustic guitar placements have been a legacy of kookpop ever since crj - making the most of the night

"I retract my statement"

ok delete my comment plz



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy