Deafheaven Infinite Granite
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Colton
November 18th 2021


13628 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shoegaze nfts coming soon

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2021


19983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Typical shoegaze this isn’t, an oversimplification of what the band are doing here. Spacious, at times surreal soundscapes and varied tempos with an almost post-rock kind of songwriting approach, but at the same time more of a verse-chorus structure as well. The ethereal production is central to it all sounding as great as it does.

Also loud in the mix and adventurous bass playing that almost sounds like a lead instrument at times, then there’s the fantastic drumming and fills he does to keep the energy going the whole time. Only flaw really is that the singing sounds kinda flat at times.

Like I’ve said before, try to say an album that’s similar. No one has been able to.

Digging: Bonobo - Fragments

Colton
November 18th 2021


13628 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I do recall deriving a "generic" vibe from this but I like that comment. someone prove him wrong god dammit!

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2021


44150 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

this is cookie cutter mid-career Envy fucking cookie cutter Turn On the Bright Lights on a mattress of overproduced shoegaze textures using a metal drummer who plays metal drums as birth control because, oh right, this is still technically kinda indecisively a metal band (lol???) and the reason this sounds like bad fanfiction with no central identity despite a lot of contextually striking components is because [wow you guessed it]

not a hard album to pin down and certainly not one that one that a band with a coherent artistic direction would care to make

Digging: Astrobrite - Pinkshinyultrablast

Feather
November 18th 2021


7707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Calling this cookie cutter sounds like a huge stretch, but I admittedly haven't digested tons of shoegaze before. I feel like the band accomplished exactly what they were going for here, so calling this directionless seems a bit ridiculous.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2021


19983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I get a little Turn on the Bright Lights influence, but I don’t think it sounds much like Envy. There’re some noticeable influences from various bands sure, but its not obviously sounding like anyone else. I’m not hung up on the metal aspects, though I’d love this even more if there was 0 black metal as opposed to the 5-10% that there is.

Johnny I think what you’re calling “incoherent” and “no central identity” is actually a lot of variety to the soundscapes, tempos, and dynamics of each song. Does it all flow together perfectly as a whole album? No, especially the second half, but if it was all as samey and derivative as some are trying to claim, it would be criticized for being too safe/boring.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2021


44150 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

it has no central identity because their songwriting is boring as all hell

which is why people have been calling it safe and boring on and off for 90 pages now

it is incoherent because they don't know what to do with their metal roots, which are shoehorned into 3/8 songs in an attempt to make their climaxes more interesting; not exactly the sign of a band fully on top of a bold style departure

the focus of every track here is on following predictable dynamic shifts, and the soundscapes and textures, which are often competently engineered, are underwhelming because they pan out as a shiny vehicle for this rather than an engaging focus

maybe if deafheaven gave up on trying to write overlaboured Big Songs and made an ambient record or smthng they might finally find their feet

oh wait, there's an ambient song here and it's a complete nonentity

yeah, this band ain't it

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2021


19983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Has not been 90 pages of people saying this is safe and boring. Most of the ratings are high, and it got very positive reviews from music critics and has a solid average on here, so most people do like it quite a bit.

I think the metal is used appropriately and makes for great climaxes. But different strokes for different folks.

mrdogthrow
November 22nd 2021


1874 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thats alot of text above me i wont read, anyways every song is great but other language kinda drags but thats it 10/10 aoty . I wish they could've went the black brick direction but I love their shoegaze phase nonetheless

Teal
December 16th 2021


229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amen, Talons and mrdog.

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
December 16th 2021


16145 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Shot. 90 pages really

Pikazilla
December 16th 2021


20548 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

appropriate review for this album

zaruyache
December 17th 2021


24858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i'm going to listen to this again tmrw for the first time in like six months(???) so let's hope I do not also degenerate into the safe and generic g a z e

ExhaleTheLight
December 18th 2021


1194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They played this for a livestream show. It’s pretty good

JayEnder
December 18th 2021


12302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't wait to see them with Holy Fawn next march

Digging: HRVRD - The Inevitable And I

teamster
December 18th 2021


5784 Comments


So is this any good?

JayEnder
December 18th 2021


12302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a pleasant listening experience yes

JrmyPrks
December 21st 2021


354 Comments


dang i jus came 2 jam on how nice it was to see george do his cleans on the livestream, rip (lost it with how perfectly he hit the “imagine you laughing” in in blur)

Feather
December 21st 2021


7707 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ooo I can not wait to see them live now

JayEnder
December 21st 2021


12302 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saw previews of their set on IG and man they sound sublime. George's cleans sound amazing and Dan has gotta be the most underrated drummer of all time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy