Lorde Solar Power
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2021


11695 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"lorde del rey"



I think Lana Del Lorde has a better ring to it

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2021


21745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ugh god fucking damn it what is the melody I'm thinking of



I feel like it's Sam Smith or some other male artist with a sort of epic voice

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2021


11695 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"oh wait it just got less cool. hmm"



Yeah, I can pretty much guarantee that 5 is not gonna last, lol

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2021


21745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ok I found it



anyone think the melody :21 into "solar power" recalls the melody :31 into "say you won't let go" by james arthur (never knew that guy's name)

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2021


21745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

for like seven seconds

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2021


21745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like "fallen fruit" and "nail salon" more than almost anything on Melodrama (or NFR!, if we're going there). good songwriting cool guitar sounds, bodes well. don't love the similarities between the first two tracks tho (that they're similar; what is similar about them). edit: and now "secrets from a girl" sounds just like the first two lol

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2021


21745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is a puzzling album. couldn't be much higher than 3/5 all told tho

Parallels
September 7th 2021


9621 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

even if you like every song on here it's still a 3

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2021


11695 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I'm just tired of Jack Antonoff working with what seems like every singer-songwriter now and watering them all down

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2021


21745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I absolutely agree, was the conductor of that lonely train for a while and honestly feel these days that I can spot him prima facie



that said I actually kinda think the songwriting on this album is my fav that antonoff has contributed to, just a LIL bit less pastichey and enclosed within quotation marks ("fallen fruit" is great). so hard to define to a point but I like a few of these songs quite a bit. NFR! for me was a nadir, to take a diff example

Cygnatti
September 7th 2021


35363 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

he's a manwhore yea

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2021


3245 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5 | Sound Off

Lorde released an accompanying EP in Te Reo (insanely good)



...and made in unavailable in New Zealand, which pretty much sums up how careless and disingenuous this album is. sn00z3

Digging: Robert Ashley - Improvement

Kiran
Emeritus
September 9th 2021


6123 Comments


Mood ring kind of rules, it's like the hammiest version of an ashanti song

Tundra
September 9th 2021


6497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

good

Digging: Owane & Jack Gardiner - Chapter One: Shredemption

Archelirion
September 9th 2021


6428 Comments


' ...and made in unavailable in New Zealand, which pretty much sums up how careless and disingenuous this album is. sn00z3'

I'm in awe. That's one of the most baffling things I've heard in a long while. I'm never gonna hear it anyway cos the title single from this is one of the crustiest musical skidmarks from pop this year but jesus wept that's insane.

keaton_86
September 10th 2021


388 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Finally got around to listening to this. Holy shit it's tough to get through. It ranges from pretty great, to extremely bland, to straight up cringe.

keaton_86
September 10th 2021


388 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"...and made in unavailable in New Zealand, which pretty much sums up how careless and disingenuous this album is. sn00z3"



What the fuck are you on about? My spotify account is based in New Zealand and its there.

Tundra
September 10th 2021


6497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

you're from New Zealand and gave this a 2, you must feel so cool and edgy right now

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2021


41872 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off



Digging: Teenage Jesus and the Jerks - Teenage Jesus and the Jerks

anarchistfish
September 10th 2021


29415 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Epic cry

Digging: Knocked Loose - A Tear in the Fabric of Life



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy