Adjy The Idyll Opus (I-VI)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Project
July 21st 2021


5021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

while this is meant to be listened to in one sitting I think I would rank the tracks thusly, with the caveat that the worst track here is still, like, a 3.8/5



1. Cicada's Song, Part II

2. In Medias Res

3. In the Space Between Pages

4. Eve Beneath the Maple Tree

5. A Boy Called June, Part I

6. At a Dance Where the Stars Cross

7. Cicada's Song, Part I

8. O Tonight

9. A Boy Called June, Part II

10. Maps

11. Secretus Liber

12. The Farmland and the Forest's Edge

13. On a Road Trip that Summer's Day

14. Overture

15. Lake Adeyoha

Digging: Adjy - The Idyll Opus (I-VI)

Djang0
July 21st 2021


615 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is 100 minutes long and tagged emo and indie folk, what in the world should I expect from this thing?

Project
July 21st 2021


5021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

corn, banjos, very technical drumming and more references than that Black Country New Road song

Djang0
July 21st 2021


615 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds kinda dope i'll give it a shot

nol
July 21st 2021


9505 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

mostly corn

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2021


14451 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

15. Overture

14. Maps

13. The Farmland And the Forest's Edge

12. On a Road Trip That Summer's Day

11. Lake Adeyoha

10. Secretus Liber

9. A Boy Called June Part 2

8. In the Space Between Pages

7. Cicada's Song Part 1

6. O Tonight

5. A Boy Called June Part 1

4. Cicada's Song Part 2

3. In Medias Res

2. Eve Beneath the Maple Tree

1. At A Dance Where the Stars Cross (this song makes me SO happy)



Digging: Adjy - The Idyll Opus (I-VI)

Project
July 21st 2021


5021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

these rankings feel pretty similar so i'm cool with that

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2021


58040 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

In the Space Between Pages is really good

Gyromania
July 22nd 2021


32580 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not really a fan of the singer, it just sounds really cliche indie to me. Some of the music is okay but idk why this is getting hyped to the stars. At a dance is a great tune tho

Project
July 22nd 2021


5021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

love the singer love the lyrics love the music love the earnestness



but like Mancuso said yeah I totally understand hating this

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2021


45491 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

largely agree w your ranking Project but damn Lake Adeyoha last hurts me

Digging: Adjy - The Idyll Opus (I-VI)

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2021


14451 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

not one of the better ones but no way it’s worse than the Overture

GreyShadow
July 22nd 2021


4975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

motherfucker, cicada pt 2 is everything i need right now and more

Digging: Adjy - The Idyll Opus (I-VI)

GreyShadow
July 22nd 2021


4975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can't rank this all yet but my top 5 as of now



5 In Medias Res

4 Eve Beyond The Maple Tree

3 Cicada Song Pt2

2 At A Dance Where the Stars Cross (so happy indeed)

1 A Boy Called June Pt 1

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2021


2587 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't feel confident ranking these yet, but these six are the tracks which really stand out to me as highlights at the moment: In Medias Res, A Boy Called June Pt 1, A Boy Called June Pt 2, On A Road Trip That Summer Day, Secretus Liber, and In The Space Between Pages.

Project
July 22nd 2021


5021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rowan I feel ya but IMO Lake Adeyoha just doesn't hit the insane highs of any of the higher-end tracks, even if it's thematically crucial, or at least the most ARG-like of any of the songs. It's not like I'd cut it from the album since it's placed so well, it's just...a good song, as opposed to all the incredible songs here



don't think of it as being worse than Overture, think of the Overture as a beautiful way to set up the recurring June Meets July motif

Project
July 22nd 2021


5021 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"cicada pt 2 is everything i need right now and more"



LOVE

IS

STRONG

AS

DEATH



amightyfirenofloodcaneverquench!

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2021


45491 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I fully disagree it might be my second favourite thing on here. but diversity in rankings is a sign an album is good



Space Between Pages is definitely emerging as the most special moment here to me

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2021


14451 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The dulcimer breakdown is the best moment from any song this year

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2021


14451 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

either that or the "mercy" section in Maple Tree which always destroys me



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy