Tyler, the Creator Call Me If You Get Lost
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
lg433
June 26th 2021


69 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

have some fun yall

Chardonnay
June 27th 2021


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review is really self centered no offense writing is good but I don’t care if you think this album doesn’t meet some kind of nostalgic concept of what albums should and shouldn’t be in your mind. I think this album is a brilliant take on the current state of hip-hop/pop. Personally I don’t enjoy Tyler’s more campy bedroomy styled work and though this album has moments of that they have more intention here in their execution than tracks off flower boy. I think he shows a lot of maturity on this project while still being able to have fun and not take himself too seriously as always. I don’t know man maybe you should chill out a bit and not try to over think the moment. The writing is great enough to still be enjoyable even though the organization isn’t to your liking. How does that justify a sub 6 score

JeetJeet
June 27th 2021


9933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His best album fr.

Digging: Zack Fox - Shut The Fuck Up Talking To Me

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 27th 2021


45800 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

"This review is really self centered no offense"



I mean here's the thing dude: music writing is self-centred. unless you're pumping out perfectly objective reviews like that Protest the Hero one on this site, which I couldn't be less interested in doing. you're committing to writing a shitload of words about your opinion on a topic and hoping people will read at least most of it - of course it's a self-centred exercise, you just have to write the best you can and hope the content is worth the commitment.



"I think this album is a brilliant take on the current state of hip-hop/pop. Personally I don’t enjoy Tyler’s more campy bedroomy styled work and though this album has moments of that they have more intention here in their execution than tracks off flower boy."



and I'm glad, sincerely, that this is hitting for you and a lot of other people - I really love Tyler and just seeing the positive reaction to this gives me happy feelings. doesn't change the fact that my personal reaction to this album is what it is, and I can't listen to the album without experiencing all the stuff I outlined in the review.



"The writing is great enough to still be enjoyable even though the organization isn’t to your liking. How does that justify a sub 6 score"



at the end of day, ratings are dumb and I hate them, easily my least favourite part of every review I do. 2.9 is still a pretty good score, it's certainly not negative like y'all are making it sound, and it's what I settled on for "a lot of songs but fundamentally unsatisfying as a larger piece of work". I could probably bump it up a bit on the basis of some really strong individual songs I enjoy. but at the end of the day - who cares? it's some numbers on a random website

Digging: Lil Ugly Mane - VOLCANIC BIRD ENEMY AND THE VOICED CONCERN

Piglet
June 27th 2021


8139 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

honestly im just glad to read conflicted shit on this lil tulip. because i used to be similarly conflicted until i realized hes just a boring as fuck rapper piggybacking off of good beats and everyone who stans him has shit taste lol. His flow and delivery is so monotonous and bereft of charisma, until he goes into angri boi mode, then its just contrived. nd i just love how the standard for emotional depth in rap is set so low that a melodically shit, toneless, sentimental, peasant clown album like flower boy is #1 on rym for 2017. how shit must a genre be if that's a standout.

i'd rather listen to the slop YG shits out these days because at least its got a sense of fun.

AxeToFall93
June 27th 2021


305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well this is stellar as usual.

jrlikestodance
June 27th 2021


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Easily the best Tyler album thematically and musically. Review is cap!

Ryus
June 27th 2021


25730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0





This review is really self centered no offense writing is good but I don’t care if you think this album doesn’t meet some kind of nostalgic concept of what albums should and shouldn’t be in your mind. I think this album is a brilliant take on the current state of hip-hop/pop. Personally I don’t enjoy Tyler’s more campy bedroomy styled work and though this album has moments of that they have more intention here in their execution than tracks off flower boy. I think he shows a lot of maturity on this project while still being able to have fun and not take himself too seriously as always. I don’t know man maybe you should chill out a bit and not try to over think the moment. The writing is great enough to still be enjoyable even though the organization isn’t to your liking. How does that justify a sub 6 score

Digging: RP Boo - Established!

Ryus
June 27th 2021


25730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gotta love when people start sayin its too enjoyable for you to give a certain score lmao

StickFeit
June 27th 2021


1883 Comments


Not his best, but without that dj drama shite it could be.

DoofDoof
June 27th 2021


10544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The summer mixtape style works better here than on ‘Igor’, and this one hip hops a lot more too.



Might be my favourite of his

Colton
June 27th 2021


12705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Chardonnay has Barter 6, Jeffery, AND Fetch The Bolt Cutters 5d. He can say whatever the hell he wants

MUNGOLOID
June 27th 2021


4529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Any body complaining about DJ Drama's inclusion on this album = automatically corny.

JeetJeet
June 27th 2021


9933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup

ToneMisfit932
June 27th 2021


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is fire.

JasonCarne
June 27th 2021


1184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

His best so far

JayEnder
June 27th 2021


11343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That vocal sample in Manifesto is transcendent

Digging: Vildhjarta - Msstaden Under Vatten

JeetJeet
June 27th 2021


9933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wayne has dropped 2 godly feature verses this year. The one on Hot Wind Blows, and the other one is on Seeing Green

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
June 27th 2021


20904 Comments


"music taste is subjective"

**talented writer writes review fully exploring the subjective experience of listening to an album**

"no not like that"

good review buddy, the fact that reviews like this constantly get shit is one of the reasons i stopped writing about music. almost all "objective" reviews suck shit.

Digging: Fuego Eterno - El Arte De Lo Oculto

JayEnder
June 27th 2021


11343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Actually surprised me how hard Lil Wayne went on Hot Wind Blows. Ten times better than his verse on Droppin' Seeds.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy