Modest Mouse The Golden Casket
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
WatchItExplode
June 25th 2021


10480 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That was a whole lifetime ago.



The last album was a bumpy country road, this one is the carpool lane.

onionbubs
June 25th 2021


21542 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

there aint nothin close to the ground walks here

letsgofishing
June 25th 2021


1705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Add me to the sparse collection of folks who liked this record - not sure how much yet. I was prepared for a lazy superfluous Sirius-Radio-indie-pop trainwreck, especially reading the latest Isaac Brock interviews, and this record, while it certainly flirts with that aesthetic in moments, is certainly not that.



onionbubs
June 25th 2021


21542 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i will say that it surpasses my fuckin below sea level expectations for it (which that "lazy superfluous sirius-radio-indie-pop trainwreck" was exactly my fears), but its not like a 2.5 is a big ol victory

SmashIsTheWay94
June 25th 2021


2257 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Think I'm gonna spin STO right now and maybe appreciate it more when compared to this one. I'll give this another go when I'm done working, but I'm feeling either a 2 or 2.5

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
June 25th 2021


16662 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

smdh mods delete my account yhanks

Storm In A Teacup
June 25th 2021


45967 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am prepared to hate this and laugh at the album title but who knows.

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2021


19035 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sowing you know i love you but this album is not it

Cormano
June 25th 2021


4202 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"which sees Modest Mouse doing something they’ve refused to for the better part of two decades: change."



lol this is just so untrue, what band have you been listening to?



also they have completely done the opposite of fan service the entirety of their career

Sowing
Moderator
June 25th 2021


44143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They absolutely have been doing the same thing (more or less) since Good News lol. This is their biggest departure in a while.

Kompys2000
Emeritus
June 25th 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

That line kind of jumped out at me too tbh, like outside of a small handful of tracks like "Lampshades on Fire" that are clearly apeing one or more of the hits off Good News, they really haven't stagnated more than any other band their age, even if they've gotten perhaps a mite less ambitious

Project
June 25th 2021


5848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

tbh my big gripe with this is the hooks almost never land -- if this had half as many great hooks as Good News this would actually be a 4



also maybe I've just grown out of Isaac's r/im14andthisisdeep lyrics

JohnyBlood
June 25th 2021


46 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is actually pretty fun. You are all just boomers, some of you zoomers and two millennials who can't appreciate a good old fashioned modesty while mouse is fighting for her life.

Project
June 25th 2021


5848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

uh oh it looks like Isaac's sputniking under the influence

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2021


19035 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

some songs start promising but then Isaac just starts doing his stupid low gravelly Tom Waits voice and shoots every single song in the foot

Feather
June 25th 2021


10296 Comments


The overwhelming consensus from the comments is a 2.5. I'm not much of a MM fan, so I will likely pass on this.

Kompys2000
Emeritus
June 25th 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I think I've said this elsewhere but I've actually grown to sort of dig We Are Between, has that manic Dashboard sound to it and the hook is pretty memorable. Some other tracks have their moments but overall nothing I really want to come back to

YoYoMancuso
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2021


19035 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

We’re Lucky is the only one I like. Wooden Soldiers is somehow 6 minutes long and 12 minutes long at the same time

Project
June 25th 2021


5848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

We Are Between's lyrics absolutely sink it for me



Lace Your Shoes was the only thing close to a positive standout

SandwichBubble
June 25th 2021


13797 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Album sucks, glad everyone's in agreement.

I liked the closer and was like "no way did those one of those hack producers brock signed on actually make a good song" and sure enough, it wasn't one of them. It was Andrew Weiss.

Very cool of them to include a good song on this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy