Wolf Alice Blue Weekend
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
June 8th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Def a sleeper there. For me the album had two immediate highlights (Delicious Things, Smile) and then Lipstick on the Glass, How Can I Make It OK, Feeling Myself, and The Last Man on Earth were all sleepers/growers/dark horses. The remaining 5 tracks are all at least decent 3 or 3.5 star tracks, so I'm very happy with this across the board.

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


24533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Lipstick is so good man.

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

brandaao
June 8th 2021


172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Anyone getting Jane's Addiction vibes on Smile?

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

idk but I am getting some Angel Olsen vibes on tracks like the brilliant How Can I Make It Ok

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 8th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

lol I love how pure your enthusiasm is for that song

I rated every song earlier itt, here's my official ranking though:



1. Delicious Things

2. Smile

3. How Can I Make It OK?

4. The Last Man on Earth

5. Lipstick on the Glass

6. Feeling Myself

7. No Hard Feelings

8. Safe From Heartbreak

9. The Beach II

10. The Beach

11. Play the Greatest Hits



3-6 are all basically tied

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

pure or annoying, lol.



really though, I've grown to enjoy every track to some extent except for Play the Greatest Hits ;) wasn't expecting to enjoy this so much.. definitely better than the last album overall

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 8th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Not annoying, you know I live for hyperbole and excitement

Greatest Hits has sunk to the bottom of my ranking; I still don't think it's bad though

Agreed, this is the best Wolf Alice and I say that as someone who really loved Visions of a Life

cxnxrx
June 8th 2021


12 Comments


My current ranking for Wolf Alice Ranking from worst to best is VOL, MLIC, BW(it alternates between MLIC and BW).

Chambered79
June 9th 2021


892 Comments


lol

klap
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2021


12364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is pretty good (last few songs all kill), i like it more than visions, but still think they'll never be able to top the first half of their debut which is still straight fire for me

Digging: Japanese Breakfast - Jubilee

WhiteNoise
June 9th 2021


3743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not sure about everyone’s problem with play the greatest hits, it’s a good shot in the arm this album needs to keep it fresh.



Fantastic record.

Mesm277
June 9th 2021


1000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Liking this quite a bit. I like The Beatles worship moment in The Last Man on the Earth

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

am I the only one that loves The Beach bookends?

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Honestly, The Beach II might be my favorite thing on here, but my tastes in these songs seem wildly out of touch with the consensus. I like The Last Man On Earth a lot too, ending of the album is very strong.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 9th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

it was a 3 for me on first listen so hopefully it will grow on you :]

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 9th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Love the bookends just don't think they're "highlights". They function outstandingly in their roles though and I think they're quite vital to the album.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers Atari, I guess there's hope for me yet!

Lasseg
June 9th 2021


389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How Can I Make It OK? is such a great song. Maybe my favorite on this after first listen

Lucman
June 10th 2021


5245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmm, ok this is pretty good! I actually really like Greatest Hits lol

Digging: Natalie Bergman - Mercy

gnoma
June 10th 2021


19 Comments


I need to check this. Randomly came across a live video of Don't Delete The Kisses last year - where she's barefoot at the mercury prize and kinda botched the intro, but came back and destroyed the rest. So good. It made me wish I was at an awards show for once. The Last Man on Earth sounds promising so far



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy