Wolf Alice Blue Weekend
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
June 6th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'll give it some more tries then!

Digging: The Raging Nathans - Waste My Heart

Snake.
June 6th 2021


23045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that rating chart is top heavy af

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Don't worry, ApplaudBlue will be here with his revenge 1.5 in no time

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

g40st
June 6th 2021


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Snake it's really good that's why.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

The Beach - 3.5/5 (but a 4.5/5 opener)

Delicious Things - 5/5

Lipstick on the Glass - 4.5/5

Smile - 4.5/5

Safe From Heartbreak (if you never fall in love) - 3.5/5

How Can I Make It OK? - 4.5/5

Play the Greatest Hits - 3/5

Feeling Myself - 4/5

The Last Man on Earth - 4.5/5

No Hard Feelings - 3.5/5

The Beach II - 3.5/5

Slex
June 6th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Give me an EP of Delicious Things, How Can I Make It Okay, Feeling Myself, Last Man and No Hard Feelings

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Also Delicious Things is firmly in the top 5 songs of 2021 conversation

Slex
June 6th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's definitely the best here

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Replace No Hard Feelings with either Lipstick on the Glass or Smile and you got yourself a stone cold 5/5 EP

Slex
June 6th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Lipstick on the Glass is pretty good too, I'm sorry but I absolutely hate Smile

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Don't really get the Smile hate honestly, I'm hoping someone can explain it to me (I know that sounds defensive but I mean it earnestly). The guitars fuzz hard on it the refrain is so 90s-era addictive. People keep comparing it to Yuk Foo (which ftr I liked) but the way more obvious parallel here is Greatest Hits. Smile is an amazing song, probs top 3 on this album for me and maybe even as high as my 2nd favorite to Delicious Things.

Slex
June 6th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This is the first album I've heard from these peeps but I really really don't like the "harder" songs in the least, so it's not just Smile. The "aggression" just comes off as manufactured to me and I don't think she has the voice for them either

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Hmm interesting. That's pretty much the same complaints levied against Yuk Foo that inspired so much of the attitude behind Smile, ha. Although granted that was more in response to the dumb fucks who had the gall to criticize her for exercising her sexual freedom on a single verse, not so much for disliking the style, which is perfectly fine and valid.

Slex
June 6th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah that's what I've heard and I truly give her full respect for not giving any fucks, at least

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Also for anyone struggling with track placement and/or simply a disdain for Play the Greatest Hits, here's my preferred listening order (treats the latter as a bonus track aka a 10 track record lol - this would have been a 5/5 for me in other words):



https://open.spotify.com/playlist/6WgkPgabSDUst4F1IeBCh4?si=a9808a30b6a4425d



Kind of a pointless exercise, but hey, if it helps someone enjoy this by 0.5 more than I've done my job ;-)





Slex
June 6th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'll have to give it a shot when I listen to this again sometime soon

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2021


24533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

The Beach is such a good build up opener that leads to...! A flaccid penis of a song ;(

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2021


24533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Lipstick is such a banger tho.

boredcore
June 6th 2021


43 Comments


Wolf Alice have always been a puzzle to me. Consistently average but have a lot of support from within the industry, occasional really good songs but largely speaking passable. How many genuinely great songs have they got in their catalogue? 2 maybe 3 and one of those they ruined by rearranging it when they did their album version.

boredcore
June 6th 2021


43 Comments


To be honest, thinking about it, having 2 or 3 great songs probably makes them much better than the vast majority of bands like them though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy