Wolf Alice Blue Weekend
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Really can’t stand the tracks like Smile and Play the Greatest hits, lol





SowingSeason
Moderator
June 5th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Smile is one of the best here, Play the Greatest Hits not so much but I still respect it for reasons pertaining to contrast and artistic freedom. How Can I Make It OK is a dark horse highlight though.

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


37791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can't recall anything off their last alb except Don't Delete the Kisses, think I skimmed it but that song is a bop



this is starting off p decently mmm

Digging: ZOC - PvP

theBoneyKing
June 5th 2021


20562 Comments


Title track on the previous is pretty damn memorable, at least in the context of the album.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


37791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh no this was doing pretty great, why is Smile flatline 3 unrocking this hard



If you want me, you can find me at the bar / Lost souls congregate at the bar / Take a minute and remember who you are / Sip a drink, sip one more, and you're a star



post-paramore blues right here

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


26583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Sowing, I think “How Can I Make It Ok” is my favorite at this point.



Still standing by my previous assessment that Heavenward is their best tune tho... I could listen to that track on repeat!

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


37791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How Can I Make It Ok is big big big drinks gin socially / waves arms often but doesn't dance / falls asleep to Enya w/ lavalamp left on energy and I vibe it

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 5th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just finished my second listen of this, have to say I'm with Atari on this one... While there's a lot of great songs here, stuff like (especially) Smile and Play The Greatest Hits are quite cringey. For what it's worth, I haven't heard anything of the band's previous work, so I don't have much context.

theBoneyKing
June 5th 2021


20562 Comments


Yeah first spin this felt a tad weaker than Visions. “Yuk Foo” from that is a better weird punk-y moment than Greatest Hits.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


37791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Play The Greatest Hits is like a Marmozets C-side wtf happened to that band

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 5th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

I'm more okay with the Greatest Hits bashing than I am the disrespect for Smile. That song rules so much.

Chambered79
June 5th 2021


892 Comments


Nothing here beats white leather

Nrap
June 5th 2021


460 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dig the sappy poppy last man on earth song

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 5th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Honestly 9/11 songs here are so, so good

Slex
June 5th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The Last Man song is indeed pretty good

Digging: The Raging Nathans - Waste My Heart

g40st
June 5th 2021


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Truly enjoying this so far.

g40st
June 5th 2021


139 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah just finished this all and even the live tracks they put at the end are tremendous.

DoofDoof
June 5th 2021


9747 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

At a total loss as to what is remarkable about this band but album was pleasant

Slex
June 5th 2021


11499 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

That's where I'm at yeah

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 6th 2021


38102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

I feel like that was my first reaction too, but this thing grew like a mf'er



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy