Japanese Breakfast Jubilee
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
normaloctagon
June 7th 2021


5891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@sunny for sure for sure. will definitely be giving it a couple more spins, i think their music is strongest when it's not trying to be too catchy but this is also my first exposure. closer is gettin' me good rn

Digging: MF DOOM - Special Herbs 7,8

loveisamixtape
June 7th 2021


10375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

unlike her other albums, i immediately liked this one

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 7th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds good! Yeah, the closer is great, might be my favorite at this point.

AmericanFlagAsh
June 7th 2021


10250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This shit is lushhhhhhh

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

BigTuna
June 7th 2021


5543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can we talk about how smooth Slide Tackle is? Probably my favorite right now.

Digging: Japanese Breakfast - Jubilee

klap
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2021


12364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh yeah this is her best

Digging: Japanese Breakfast - Jubilee

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


24533 Comments


Killer write up as always Sunny.

This crawling into the BNM section got me curious, gonna jam.

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

LeddSledd
June 8th 2021


5359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this looks interesting, might give it a peep

Digging: Iosonouncane - IRA

fogza
June 8th 2021


1921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"everything i hear from her kinda goes one ear out the other. something in the way she sings idk"



It's kind of weird, because she stands out for me in the crowd that she's lumped with

Digging: Archers of Loaf - Icky Mettle

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 8th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Dewinged! Curious what you think!





Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


24533 Comments


Cool album for now even though her voice annoys me a little for some reason.

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 8th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough, I don't think she has the technically "perfect" singing voice but I personally think it works well with this material

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


24533 Comments


Indeed, totally suits her music. It's just a matter of tone, when she goes high and intense and has this very nasal texture, you know what I mean?

Loving the arrangements and the production is on point.

BigTuna
June 8th 2021


5543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This could be my favorite album of the year so far. It's so infectious. Very much agree with the notion that this goes from indie POP to INDIE pop, and that transition works perfectly for me.

InfamousGrouse
June 8th 2021


4358 Comments


Paprika is more infectious than COVID

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 8th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Dewinged, yeah, I know what you're talking about. On the flip side, her singing has definitely feels a lot more polished now, I'm listening to her debut Psychopomp now and it's night and day.



@BigTuna, not my favorite album of the year, but definitely top ten!

DoofDoof
June 8th 2021


9747 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I wouldn't call this a Crapanese Crapfest but anyone who rates this 0.5-2.0 can use that if they want

BigTuna
June 8th 2021


5543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

zing

loveisamixtape
June 8th 2021


10375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

g-g-g-gotem

Kiran
Emeritus
June 8th 2021


6110 Comments


I want to love 'Be Sweet' everytime I hear it, the verses build a scandalous amount of momentum and are absolutely awesome, but the chorus is soooooooo stilted and flat. It just grinds to a violent halt for me at that 'belieeeeeeve in you, I want to belieeeeeeve' hook, that melody is pure cold shower.

Great album though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy