Japanese Breakfast Jubilee
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
June 5th 2021


3095 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

okay yeah so after some more listens this is probably her best/most consistent record but i prefer soft sounds simply because of its opening trio of songs (esp diving woman). this'll make a fun summer record for sure tho!

Digging: The Buildings - Heaven is a Long Exhale

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


45260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

this is a massive step up imo but her last two have moments of brilliance

theBoneyKing
June 5th 2021


20562 Comments


Haven't listened to her before but I’m looking forward to this based on the hype.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


45260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Boney's review of this: "3.3, not enough country, will keep listening because she's attractive and bump to a 4 in a month or two"

theBoneyKing
June 5th 2021


20562 Comments


Lol, got me there.

Ryus
June 5th 2021


23905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is better than soft sounds as a whole

Digging: Ronald Reagan - Speaks Out Against Socialized Medicine

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


45260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

soft sounds isn't that great ngl. couple of tunes but it's way goofier and less focused than psychopomp

Ryus
June 5th 2021


23905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

havent heard psychopomp but yeah i agree soft sounds is pretty mediocre except i like diving woman

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2021


45260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

me likey Boyish and the Jimmy Fallon one

tom79
June 5th 2021


3800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

soft sounds has '12 steps' too which rules but psychopomp is better

Digging: Japanese Breakfast - Jubilee

brainmelter
June 5th 2021


7506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this owns

Digging: Rx Nephew - Slitherman Activated

theBoneyKing
June 6th 2021


20562 Comments


Enjoyed this on first spin, feels perfectly suited for this time of year so it’ll get a decent amount of spins from me no matter what.

From “INDIE pop” to “Indie POP”

I actually liked how the first half of this feels like indie POP and the back half feels like more INDIE pop, it’s a nice split. But it could be that this all is more pop than previous material, which I haven’t heard, so my perspective is off.

ItsTheSquirrel
June 6th 2021


569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

opener is so amazing I'm almost tempted to 5 this

Ryus
June 6th 2021


23905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ya the opener is good

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
June 6th 2021


2414 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Boney, I do agree with your assessment that the back of the album is less poppy than the front (with the exception of Savage Good Boy), but taken as a whole I'd say the album is pretty substantially more pop-leaning than her earlier music.



Glad you're enjoying this!

Ryus
June 6th 2021


23905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok paprika is really good

loveisamixtape
June 6th 2021


10375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice need to check this. seen them live twice and they def get better each time

loveisamixtape
June 6th 2021


10375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

road head is a 2010s classic prob

loveisamixtape
June 6th 2021


10375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn paprika rules indeed

BigTuna
June 6th 2021


5543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is very good.

Digging: Japanese Breakfast - Jubilee



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy