Gojira Fortitude
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2021


16174 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YOU'RE IN THE AMAZOOOON

Digging: Helloween - Helloween

osmark86
May 13th 2021


10754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I WAS DEFEATED YOU WON THE WAAAR

Evok
Contributing Reviewer
May 13th 2021


8411 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm enjoying this a lot more than I thought I would

Digging: Paco de Lucia - Concierto De Aranjuez

twlichty
May 13th 2021


4843 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great metal record

HooperD87
May 14th 2021


27 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've honestly never understood the love these guys get. I really don't like the vocalist and a lot of the riffs just bore me. Ah well.

zaruyache
May 14th 2021


24060 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah well the old ones are best

Azog
May 14th 2021


504 Comments


With eight average ratings in a row, I may have been a little harsh on Cannibal Corpse. But it's not like I don't like them, in fact I happen to think of them as very capable performers. I just wish they'd throw us a curveball, every now and then. In a way, Cannibal Corpse is like an old fashioned rollercoaster. You pretty much know what to expect, but chances are that you'll enjoy the ride regardless. Perfectly safe and highly predictable amusement, but nevertheless exciting.

In a similar way, Gojira is more like a carrousel. The musicianship is there, in fact it's all over the place. It takes little more to pique my interest, but this is where they drop the ball. If only they'd just focus on the excitement part and leave safety and predictability to the mainstream, then maybe someday they'll churn out something worthwhile.

Digging: Portal - Avow

DDDeftoneDDD
May 14th 2021


17363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A rollercoaster is about imediacy and adrenaline injection. A carrousel is more about the ride, the company and feeling the moment willingly.

Digging: Boards of Canada - Geogaddi

sonictheplumber
May 14th 2021


12588 Comments


pure crap!

Digging: Entophyte - End of Society's Sanity

StickFeit
May 14th 2021


1643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Okay then..

StormChaser
May 17th 2021


743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

While this band used to be more technical in their riffage and had weirder songwriting than displayed on the last 2 albums, I still think a lot of these songs are just great songs. There is also nice flow and atmosphere to the entire record. It's definitely a different type of Gojira sound, I just don't think the simplification of things neccessarily brings it down, at least not for me

osmark86
May 17th 2021


10754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^this

kalkwiese
May 17th 2021


7282 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's nice you guys enjoy it so much. I agree with that statement for Magma. This didn't do it for me though. Love me some good boing though

StickFeit
May 17th 2021


1643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Might as well bump this to a 4.5, been playing this constantly. It's just such a fun record.

Gonna slowly rate the rest of this amazing band the coming weeks.

DDDeftoneDDD
May 17th 2021


17363 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

< that

AaroN911
May 20th 2021


3046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay on the second listen I may have been a tad harsh on this... it is a good overall album... now I need to go back to Magma to see which one is the better of the two

Digging: Origami Angel - Gami Gang

kalkwiese
May 20th 2021


7282 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Magma is better ez

AaroN911
May 20th 2021


3046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have a feeling so, I really enjoyed Magma when it released and still jam it here and there. This album feels like a very occasional jam and background music while gaming or hanging out with people

kalkwiese
May 20th 2021


7282 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that's a fair assessment imo. Some riffs and moment are really cool, but that's it for me. Love the boing, but that's not enough

BigPleb
May 20th 2021


62957 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The production here is so dry, needs more BEEF.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy