Gojira Fortitude
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I like The Ocean :[

DavidYowi
May 1st 2021


739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Everyone on this site likes The Ocean except for me

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

They're not one of my favorite bands or anything, but I do think they're a really solid post/prog metal band overall

DDDeftoneDDD
May 1st 2021


17312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Everyone on this site likes The Ocean except for me"

Maybe you re right.



Digging: Castevet - Obsian

kalkwiese
May 1st 2021


7070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Ocean are amazing live as well. It was a massive experience. Alcest came right after them \m/ Awesome night

DDDeftoneDDD
May 1st 2021


17312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woa

Can t wait

DDDeftoneDDD
May 1st 2021


17312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit drums on Grind!

DavidYowi
May 1st 2021


739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The thing that gets me about The Ocean is that they take these grand concepts and entire eons of time and use that to make incredibly middle-of-the-road prog metal. Also I cannot stand their singer's voice for a second, some of the worst vocal performances I've ever heard

kalkwiese
May 1st 2021


7070 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yea, they make something massive out of it. It's so awesome

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"The thing that gets me about The Ocean is that they take these grand concepts and entire eons of time and use that to make incredibly middle-of-the-road prog metal. Also I cannot stand their singer's voice for a second, some of the worst vocal performances I've ever heard"



You just described Periphery for me

DavidYowi
May 1st 2021


739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

True, though my biggest issue with Periphery is that I find their production to be the death of music. And yeah I hate the vocals in that band too.



Most of my least favorite vocals come from prog metal lol

Tundra
May 1st 2021


5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think with The Ocean it's sort of a Dream Theater dynamic, they are too complex and progressive to have any sort of mass appeal, Gojira just has a much wider reach than The Ocean, and are easier to enjoy and get into

Digging: Hail the Sun - New Age Filth

Pikazilla
May 1st 2021


16321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

gojira lives in the ocean tho

JeetJeet
May 1st 2021


9376 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Never thought I'd be bored listening to a Gojira album but here we are.

Production is very weak compared to the previous releases but its not the real problem. The real problem is that this feels like the band is on autopilot now, not doing anything remotely interesting, just retreading old ground in a way less engaging way. At least Magma for all its simplicity had great atmosphere, and when they really wanted to up the energy they had great shit like Prey, Only Pain, & Silvera.

Digging: Kenny Mason - Angelic Hoodrat: Supercut

SIMBOLIC
May 1st 2021


5939 Comments


Ooft that initial rating is dire. Prob gonna be a 3.3 avg at best

Mythodea
May 1st 2021


6090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's a great album, 3.5 might serve it well. I adore Magma, and I don't think it's anywhere near to being replaced by Fortitude.

Dizchu
May 1st 2021


330 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Magma was great, this feels like a step back in comparison.

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Magma was great, this feels like a step back in comparison."



agreed

GarthAlgar
May 1st 2021


402 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album is an all around oof

GarthAlgar
May 1st 2021


402 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Would 2.5 this but that production is just horrible



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy