Gojira Fortitude
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tundra
May 1st 2021


5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I saw someone say the guitar solo's on this album are just Gojira's best impression at doing a Brent Hinds solo, and I can't help but agree LMAO

Digging: Hail the Sun - New Age Filth

DDDeftoneDDD
May 1st 2021


17312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The opener is amazing Gojira. That track fucks (everyone pretends that song is not in the album). Into The Storm is also top Gojira.

Digging: Castevet - Obsian

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I just posted this review to the Gojira Whaleposting group on Facebook... time to get ready for the backlash :]

SuzyC
May 1st 2021


148 Comments


Too soon really to give an accurate rating, as I've only listened once so far. My first impression is it's definitely an improvement on Magma, but still doesn't have the impact of their classic period.

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31338 Comments


why would you do that to yourself necro lol

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm actually a regular in that group and post a bunch of memes on there, so I'm sure they'll be ok, lol. Plus, they're also pretty mixed on the album as well, so I'm sure they'll agree on certain things

Tundra
May 1st 2021


5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Terra Incognita = Kill em All

The Link = Ride the Lightning

From Mars to Sirius = Master of Puppets

The Way of All Flesh = And Justice for All

L'Enfant Sauvage = The Black Album

Magma = Load

Fortitude = ReLoad



I saw this, who agrees, who disagrees lol

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

That's actually really fuckin' accurate, haha

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31338 Comments


i mean its extremely stupid if you read the first four..

Pikazilla
May 1st 2021


16321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

last two are accurate but that's about it

Apathya
May 1st 2021


35 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's personally better than Magma. If it didn't have the Magma fill'ish songs, and if they allowed Mario to go more crazy, i't would have been L'Enfant Sauvage level.

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Terra Incognita/Kill em All = The raw debut that's more intense and fast than any of their future records



The Link/Ride the Lightning = more experimental version of the first album with more sophisticated song structures and lyrics



From Mars to Sirius/Master of Puppets = usually accepted as the band's classic by both fans and publications, though some may disagree



The Way of All Flesh/And Justice for All = Arguably the band's proggiest and most technical record, as well as one of their darkest



L'Enfant Sauvage/The Black Album = the beginning of the band's more streamlined phase with dumbed-down instrumentation but also traces of their past work



Magma/Load = the continuation of the streamlined sound, this time ditching the technicality for minimalism and simple song structures



Fortitude/ReLoad = Magma/Load but worse



Sounds about right to me

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31338 Comments


>The raw debut that's more intense and fast than any of their future records

i mean this absolutely is not true about KEA lol...

yea RTL has fade to black and stuff but it also has the t/t, fight fire with fire and creeping death which are way more intense than what 99% of metal bands were doing at the time still playing around with their nwobhm influences

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

How so, exactly? Pretty sure that's commonly accepted as their most thrashy and intense album even now... for both bands, really

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31338 Comments


edited to explain

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2021


9489 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I guess what I was saying is that KEA was more consistently intense, while RtL used that intensity and expanded upon it with a wider range of influences and sounds

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31338 Comments


RTL also marked a shift going from KEA's extremely diamond head and other nwobhm influenced pentatonic scale using riffs to ... well, more of their own thing really, again see the tracks i mentioned

parksungjoon
May 1st 2021


31338 Comments


tbh i think terra might be gojira's 2nd most technical record that ppl dont want to admit because it sounds kinda core-y and they dont like it as much as from mars... theres a lot of crazy shit going on in there, not just intensity, and also sees them at their most morbid angel worshipping but in a good way

Pikazilla
May 1st 2021


16321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agreed, park.



Terra is mad underrated

Tundra
May 1st 2021


5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's hard to compare because both are entirely different subgenre's from each other, Gojira is inherently more intense than Metallica so it's hard to gauge, I do think it vaguely matches up with from album to album though, almost scarily so



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy