Manchester Orchestra The Million Masks of God
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2021


24321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Hey don't drag madonna into this Rowan!



I'm ungodly hyped about friday. Just read the first para, will read the rest as I jam.

Digging: Bala - Maleza

Lucman
April 27th 2021


5203 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hyped!



Digging: Porter Robinson - Nurture

LeddSledd
April 27th 2021


5006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

perhaps I must soon check this Sowingcore band

Digging: Spiritualized - Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2021


45092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

this album art makes a lot more sense now I know that's Robert's dad on the cover. damn

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 27th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"the disrespect to Like a Virgin!"



that still has some of their best moments ever (i can barely breathe, sleeper 192, colly strings in particular)...nothing but love for that album but it's just a half a tier below the holy trinity (black mile, mmog, simple math).

Digging: St. Vincent - Daddy's Home

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2021


9493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Strangely enough, I don't think I've ever listened to anything by Manchester Orchestra. Maybe I should start here

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2021


24321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Start with Black Mile!

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 27th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It wouldn't be the worst place to start, but some of the lyrical and thematic references may be lost on you. If you're into the hype just go for it anyway. At some point though, backtrack to A Black Mile to the Surface, Simple Math, I'm Like a Virgin Losing a Child, and Mean Everything to Nothing. The only album I'd consider non-essential is Cope, but even that is still good.

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2021


9493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright cool, I think I'll start with Black Mile then. That 4.1 avg looked pretty tempting anyway

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 27th 2021


37553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That album and this one are like brother and sister, so it'll be cool to hear them at the same time. Let us know what you think!

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2021


45092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I'll just be over here in the corner muttering "this party sucks they don't even know Nobody Sings Anymore", don't mind me



but yeah, Black Mile or Simple Math both work as an intro I think

Gyromania
April 27th 2021


32384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

black mile is their best album and it's not even remotely close imo. hoping i like songs on here as much as alien, sd, and moth. keel timing is great midway-onwards but it's not up to their standards. bed head is much better and more or less what i've come to expect from them. gonna try not to wear it out before i hear the album.

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2021


13960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

four 5s and a 1

Gyromania
April 27th 2021


32384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

nice dig ^

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2021


36153 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

[2]

only listened to their debut but ig i will check this

Digging: Flipper's Guitar - Doctor Head's World Tower

MiloRuggles
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2021


1244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Big review in more than just the literal sense sowing, great stuff. Absolutely fizzing to hear this now

Ashtiel
April 27th 2021


1138 Comments


new single is Telepath, track 6.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-R4gSeY0XtY&feature=youtu.be

AxeToFall93
April 27th 2021


294 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A 5 from Sowing is all I need to know before diving into this on friday.

StickFeit
April 27th 2021


1558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol at that 1

Digging: Greet Death - New Hell

gravityswitch
April 27th 2021


513 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Telepath is lovely.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy