Adrian Younge The American Negro
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sharenge
April 20th 2021


1626 Comments


help ain't on the way

Nikkolae
April 20th 2021


5807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is an album that welcomes controversy (if the name and album cover is not a big enough clue already) and that alone is commendable, will defo check out, i just hope it dont suck.

Digging: Indian - Guiltless

DavidYowi
April 20th 2021


907 Comments


Man I’m conflicted about this album. It reminded me a lot of Sault’s “Black Is”, especially the way both structure their interludes. I think this is the downfall to both albums, as I feel the messaging in the interludes could be better integrated into the songs. It only seems like the interludes are here because if they weren’t people would miss or ignore the album’s message. I think “Black Is” is more in-depth about its message, the only bit here that hits hard to me is the interlude that mentions that Abraham Lincoln didn’t care about black people, but I think the music here is better. It’s rich with atmosphere, you can really sense Younge’s background as a film composer with this album.

Still, I’m glad I gave this album a listen, and I’m glad that topics about America’s role in systemic racism are being discussed on Sput.

Nikkolae
April 20th 2021


5807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the musicianship here is top notch, such a jarring juxtaposition between the beauty of the music and the rawness of the message, might be one of the most poignant albums out there today.

FabiusPictor202
April 20th 2021


1082 Comments


derek chauvincore

Digging: Soundtrack (Film) - Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 20th 2021


9959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I was gonna say, this review and album are even more topical now

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 21st 2021


24531 Comments


Great review dude, probably my favorite of your last pieces. Tackling a subject like this is tough work, and even more with how the artist presented it (cover, title, etc...)

Digging: Kajsa Lindgren - Momentary Harmony

DivergentThinking
Contributing Reviewer
April 21st 2021


9959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man, I appreciate it! It was a tough one for sure, but I'm proud of it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy