Zao The Crimson Corridor
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
porcupinetheater
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2021


7936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wild, I caught almost zero Mastodon from this, but can def hear earlier Thou stuff, some of the riffs off I Was Ignored. And Judged. And Cast Down. would be right at home here

MillionDead
April 14th 2021


3763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Favorite Zao I've ever heard, right here. Production was insanely grim.

Emim
April 14th 2021


30269 Comments


"Something super fitting about a Zao with no original members having a song named Ship of Theseus"

Lol

Digging: The Gaslight Anthem - Sink or Swim

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2021


24547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

The passages with Mellinger's vocals, porc, especially in the title track, reminded me to the 'Don.

Digging: Kultivator - Barndomens Stigar

parksungjoon
April 14th 2021


32248 Comments


>I just go by general opinion not mine obvs.


rip

BigPleb
April 14th 2021


63014 Comments


Last album was really good, looking forward to jamming this.

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2021


24547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

"rip"



In this particular statement that is.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 14th 2021


17391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thou resides in the filth, such as late zao. Check the prev one.



Digging: Seputus - Phantom Indigo

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2021


37822 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hmmm i think the best ref for this is Sowing's rev for the Seer + first page of so of comments. not sure it always pays to reflect the hype machine in that way

i am too tired to jam this atm lol, but will read in full when it's had another spin

Digging: ZOC - PvP

parksungjoon
April 14th 2021


32248 Comments


>In this particular statement that is.


too late you have already murdered journalism and critique its over now

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2021


24547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Might be worded weird, I do love the album but I didn't have the time to jam the rest of their hefty discography, so instead did a bit of research and based that opening line on the general/average sentiment and added my hunch.



I honestly don't see the issue.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 14th 2021


17391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There s much more gojira and tool riffs here than thou s tbqf.

parksungjoon
April 14th 2021


32248 Comments


nice throwback john e

>not sure it always pays to reflect the hype machine in that way

could also be different philosophical perspectives on reviewing and such

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2021


24547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

There's only some intro riff that resembles a bit of schism but I don't see anything Tool on the rest, Gojira yeah, maybe, I guess, idk.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 14th 2021


17391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah tool maybe its only on RIPW and another section or 2. Gojira definitely (Lost Star f.e.). What I meant is that the Thou resemblance is more induced by the filthy vocals, and perhaps some swamp vibe, than anyhing else. This is still very post and metalcore. Anyway if you guys dig this, Well-intentioned virus is a must check.



Previously to these 2, the band is cool yet inconsistent, like they helped to build the metalcore scene and fell in the metalcore trap. Luckily they made this hiatus, which reinvented them and gave them this distinctive new sound imo.

DDDeftoneDDD
April 14th 2021


17391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

*fuking with Croatoan's ending atm*



CROOATOAAAN

CROOATOAAAN

BigPleb
April 14th 2021


63014 Comments


Zao have always had some of the best vocals the genre has to offer, so nasty.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2021


37822 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think what itches me is a) just feeding back consensus for consensus sake feels (um) philosophically against the point of being a freeagent 'unbought' journo and b) you could just easily frame it as hearsay/second hand takes without sacrificing any credibility in your intro; nothing wrong with this being your first exp!!

saying this compares favourably against a load of albums you haven't heard and implying that this is your informed opinion as a reviewer feels a tad disingenuous, which is the polar opposite of what I'd usually associate with your writing - which, in turn, is why i think it was worth pointing out; sorry if any of that came off as aggy

parksungjoon
April 14th 2021


32248 Comments


>just feeding back consensus for consensus sake

is something that a lot of people on the internet do and even want, for what it's worth... needless to say i agree with u tho

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2021


24547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Not at all Johnny, I did ask for this kind of feedback. It just didn't occur to me that that intro line could steer the rest of the rev with that much weight, which now that I re-read it would have been better to just state my Sao virginity.



I did rush this. I think a bit of the charm of this site resides in riding the hype, so I wanted to provide a thread for it, plus I have little respect for my own writing but I'll keep it in mind next time I tackle a band of this caliber. Thanks dude.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy