Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The LSO Promises
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pangea
June 8th 2021


6617 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album's absolutely gorgeous. defintely a year highlight

Digging: Charles Mingus - Let My Children Hear Music

Gyromania
June 8th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is still boring as fuck but like it's still kind of nice. Just gonna settle on it being a 3/5 background-noise album

GhandhiLion
June 8th 2021


12563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

is it nice or is it boring

Digging: William Parker - Migration of Silence Into and Out of the Tone World (Volumes 1?10)

Demon of the Fall
June 8th 2021


19599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So soothingly neutral.

Digging: Paik - Satin Black

Gyromania
June 8th 2021


32468 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's boringly nice! Things can be boring to actively listen to but enjoyable enough as mood setters or w.e

Demon of the Fall
June 8th 2021


19599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It’s calmingly unobtrusive and satisfyingly adequate for listening to in the background yes.

GhandhiLion
June 8th 2021


12563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can't relate

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 8th 2021


37688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

try mindfulness

Digging: ZOC - PvP

GhandhiLion
June 9th 2021


12563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yes

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2021


37688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

fell asleep with Crush on and woke up to this, which feels like the reverse of the optimum experience and I enjoyed it sufficiently not at all that it gets a bump down :[

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 10th 2021


66928 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like a good recurring motif just as much as the next guy but this is just excessive tbqh

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2021


37688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

it is a good motif but yeah lol

what are your favourite and least favourite recurring motifs that slightly take the piss with repetition?

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 10th 2021


66928 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well in favour of good recurring motifs, Son Lux has had a couple that have appeared in nearly all of his albums in some capacity or another - sometimes with such subtlety you could listen a dozen times and still miss it - and I always found it to be a really beautiful way to string his discography together

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 10th 2021


37688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

that sounds v cool, esp if it was there right from the start. don't think I've heard anything at all from Son Lux, will address this 

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 10th 2021


66928 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

start with At War With Walls And Mazes and note the vocal melody at the very beginning of the album, it reoccurs in Weapons as the main melody on piano, and then in Epilogue as well. Then from there you will be able to find it as an "easter egg" of sorts in each album after that. I found it in all of his first four albums eventually. Haven't found it in the albums after Bones yet, but I haven't spent much time with those albums.



Thats the most easy to follow one, but there are some cool lyrical motifs and such as well. I've even found some cool little Motif easter eggs in his album/song titles..

AmericanFlagAsh
June 15th 2021


10240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't doing much for me tbh

Digging: Bruno Pernadas - Private Reasons

Asdfp277
June 16th 2021


23350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

takes too long to do something

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2021


37688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

fuck i didn't check Son Lux ugh

g40st
June 16th 2021


109 Comments


Salmon offspring that changed his name to Lux to act out.

BaselineOOO
June 16th 2021


932 Comments


This reminds me a bit of I Trawl the Megahertz but, more lame?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy