Godspeed You! Black Emperor G_d's Pee AT STATE'S END!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
user
April 6th 2021


1580 Comments


yeah if I post here it's usually under this name and a buncha prior banned ones/wiped ones. static was pre-sputnik, forum times.

the designated hitter song also slaps

gravityswitch
April 6th 2021


510 Comments


meh
yanqui and skinny fists are enough

LunaticSoul
April 6th 2021


1680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Are we sure this is not the Mogwai 2021 disc?



I kinda like it as I haven´t been sent enough apocalyptic post-rock my way considering the utter shite the world is these years I´d expected the scene to do more. expect this to land at 3.5

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2021


7832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it's aight

Harlz
April 6th 2021


34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not bad, Fire at Static Valley shows they can still make something better on the whole. It lacks the kind of "pictureless film" type of "story telling" that their best works had, something is off and tired about this, like the movements of the music have no real plotted course. It invokes more of a feeling a set of older outtakes than it does a new project.

ClungeAbsentia
April 6th 2021


111 Comments


it's always funny seeing an album get bombarded with high scores and as soon as a staff review comes out below a 3.5, the avg starts to slowly dip

parksungjoon
April 6th 2021


31215 Comments


ah worst word in the english language we meet again


you dont think it has anything to do with people who are think they are likely to enjoy it being more likely to prioritise it highly and listen/rate early? or the people who are more likely to inflate being early?

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

Pikazilla
April 6th 2021


16288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

inflation always strikes at the right time

Tunaboy45
April 6th 2021


17621 Comments


I know they've been signing off press releases with "god's pee" for years but I was totally blindsided when I saw it in the album title!

Demon of the Fall
April 6th 2021


19267 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

‘it's always funny seeing an album get bombarded with high scores and as soon as a staff review comes out below a 3.5, the avg starts to slowly dip‘

4.1 > 4.0.

Yeah that’s a dip of apocalyptic proportions right there. Also what park said as a general point.

Digging: Xploding Plastix - Amateur Girlfriends Go Proskirt Agents

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2021


36063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

what's gonna happen first, this hitting 3.9 or Chevelle hitting 3.8?

Digging: Flipper's Guitar - Doctor Head's World Tower

AmericanFlagAsh
April 6th 2021


10146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Can't wait for Sweet Trip RELEASE DATE smdh in their own sweet time. St Vincent was gonna be Rowan but he realised it's probably gonna blow and ditched it, not sure if I wanna pick it up for similar reasons"



This doesn't make sense with my fantasy

Digging: Squid - Bright Green Field

DarkNoctus
April 6th 2021


11479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

worst godspeed album

FabiusPictor202
April 7th 2021


913 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

rym's ratings are often more reliable than sput tbh

FabiusPictor202
April 7th 2021


913 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The 3.9 is in that was quick

theBoneyKing
April 7th 2021


20377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A few spins into this and it’s...fine, I guess? I rate their first two albums high but that’s all I know and in a way it’s hard for me to come up with a substantial difference between those and this but this just doesn’t feel impactful in the same way.

ClungeAbsentia
April 7th 2021


111 Comments


it's always funny seeing an album get bombarded with high scores and as soon as a staff review comes out below a 3.5, the avg starts to slowly dip


JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2021


36063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it is the responsibility of staff reviews to make boring post-rock seem more boring

nightbringer
April 7th 2021


1944 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

sounds about right

anarchistfish
April 7th 2021


28650 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

allelujah is way more boring



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy