Godspeed You! Black Emperor G_d's Pee AT STATE'S END!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GhandhiLion
April 11th 2021


11943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol

Digging: Neil Ardley - Kaleidoscope of Rainbows

MO
April 11th 2021


23258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's weird, this is the first time I haven't been excited to jam a new Godspeed. Like I'll check it out soon...but yea just not dying too

Get Low
April 11th 2021


10099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know ya'll think that Fantano is a turd, but I like in his review that he mentions how even though this album pales in comparison to their early work, it still sounds better than what any other post-rock band is doing right now.



That being said, if any of you disagree with that, please let me know of any other modern post-rock bands who are still putting out good albums, because I actually want to know. It seems like this genre's peak happened quite a few years ago.

parksungjoon
April 11th 2021


31266 Comments


>even though this album pales in comparison to their early work, it still sounds better than what any other post-rock band is doing right now.

yes the genre has mostly been bad for years

Digging: Make a Change...Kill Yourself - II

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2021


36098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

new Mogwai had a couple of cuts that hold up better than anything here except maybe Fire At Static Valley, but a good 2/3 of that record is an equally good argument for the genre's obsolescence :/

Digging: Flipper's Guitar - Doctor Head's World Tower

Get Low
April 11th 2021


10099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Could never get in to Mogwai unfortunately

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2021


36098 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, Mogwai are about as post-rock as post-rock gets so I'm not sure when kinda suggestions you're expecting here lol

Downy's album last year was v good, easily better than this and far more energetic that your template climaxcore. Defs check that

Get Low
April 11th 2021


10099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Never heard of Downy. Will check.

SIIMBOLIC
April 11th 2021


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5



9764 Comments

Report this Post

Album Rating: 4.5



Could never get in to Mogwai unfortunately



Fuck yeah post rock Is love

Demon of the Fall
April 11th 2021


19267 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

‘Downy's album last year was v good, easily better than this and far more energetic that your template climaxcore. Defs check that’ (2).

Digging: Xploding Plastix - Amateur Girlfriends Go Proskirt Agents

GhandhiLion
April 11th 2021


11943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"it still sounds better than what any other post-rock band is doing right now"

He didn't say this. He said he can't think of any post-rock bands that sound better than this these days.



Ooh ill rec some modern post rock. How recent is "modern"?





(the last 2 years)

Kjjjjjjjjj - Centro de dispersión

Bell Orchestre - House Music

p.rosa - The Kinspiral

Ramper - Nuestros mejores deseos

Gerycz / Powers / Rolin - Beacon

Królestwo - Antracyt

SIIMBOLIC
April 11th 2021


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is Godspeed realising it’s all over

The war has been fought



Good has lost

Demon of the Fall
April 11th 2021


19267 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

‘to be honest it really seems like a lot of you aren't listening to the albums, with some of what you say here’

Wait a sec, you guys actually listen to the albums? I’ve been doing it wrong all this time.

BigPleb
April 11th 2021


62856 Comments


Hahaha.

Opinions right? How dare you have one!

GhandhiLion
April 11th 2021


11943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I mainly listen to music through a media player I bought of the dark web. It plays 5 albums simultaneously at 4x speed and auto rates for me.

SIIMBOLIC
April 11th 2021


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5



“‘to be honest it really seems like a lot of you aren't listening to the albums, with some of what you say here’



Going hard x

Get Low
April 11th 2021


10099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

people are being assholes in this thread negative vibes negative vibes im out

porcupinetheater
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2021


7699 Comments


A few years ago now but anyone bagging crescendocore that ain't jammed We Lost the Sea's Departure Songs should prob alter that

GhandhiLion
April 11th 2021


11943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ye that one is boring af

parksungjoon
April 11th 2021


31266 Comments


ye that one is boring af 「2」



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy