Tool Lateralus
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SirDrumsalot
December 12th 2013


1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Aww shi... this comparison will never die. I know it pisses a lot of people off, but in all honesty Danny is a more accomplished drummer.

"But Danny wouldn't be who he is without Peart". Perhaps, but Peart wouldn't be who he is without his influences either. Same with everybody.

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

disagreed, as i said danny is like unlike anyone else but neil is just so technically proficient and innovative for his time fuckin temple block n fuckin wind chimes n shit i mean 70s neil is just like holy fucking shit best drummer ever made



basically neil is like moon n bonham in 1 with phil collins on the side i mean can u beat that i think NOT

SirDrumsalot
December 12th 2013


1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Our biggest disagreement KILL...

I dont think that most people realize how difficult it is to do the polyrythms that Danny does, or everything that he actually puts into each song. Like I've said before Neil is awesome, I would be stupid if I tried to say he wasn't, but as far as dexterity and ability goes I really think Danny has the edge.

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea poly rhythms are cool and shit but nothings gets me air drummin like LA VILLA STRANGIATO , just listen to that song again dude it aint got no 75/8 time sigs but its got fuckin passion and style and holy fuck the section after the bass solo

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


18885 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea Danny's rhythms are so complex it's crazy but we could go on for ages comparing the two. Also

Villa is the shit.

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i just think neil is the best of both worlds, complexity mixed with hard rockin. hes the perfect drummer in my fangirl eyes

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

like dudes carey rules but dudes like bruford n collins just do more for me you know? they gota have that prog flair and shit and wear capes

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


18885 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea he's okay I guess

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dude check genesis

SirDrumsalot
December 12th 2013


1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

KILL



If you got the time, watch this video. Its all amazing, but at just before the 7 minute mark it starts getting almost incomprehensible! And this is on a "smaller" kit. Those polyrythms!!!



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7Ejy6VubII

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'll check it if you check this



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aT9333XiR4U

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


18885 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He's so incomprehensible in at the end of The Grudge in particular.



What Genesis album bro? I'll throw that on my list.

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

selling england by the pound!



you wont find a better guitar solo than the one on firth of fifth

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


18885 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sweet thanks. I still have to hear Mirage too. You said Damnation by Opeth is really influenced by Camel? Is that the type of sound they have?

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

most of the similarities are in the guitar work, mirage is much more upbeat and jazzy n much bigger focus on musicianship, andy latimer is seriously gilmour lvl dude i wouldnt lie to you, same with hackett

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


18885 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I may try out Mirage first then

MO
December 12th 2013


22011 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah moonmadness it up bro



KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

both classics, cant go wrong either way

SirDrumsalot
December 12th 2013


1805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wow KILL, that is a good one! I'd never seen that video of Neil before and in all honsety its probably one of the more impressive ones I have seen. Like I said, I would be stupid to say he wasn't good. He is incredible! I guess I'm personally just more impressed by the stuff Danny does. I wish he wasn't so private and would put out more videos!

KILL
December 12th 2013


80846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its cool bro and i'll watch that vid soon, are you a collins fan btw?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy