Evergrey Escape of the Phoenix
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2021


16982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Most definitely. The lads have a strong aptitude for catchiness.

Digging: Obscura - A Valediction

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2021


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And one is to save you from yoooouu



I feel that songs about his ex wife

eirinn
March 12th 2021


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spot on review. In my opinion this predictability comes from the awareness that their strength is in the melodies. That's what they are exploiting, and rightly so, given the results. There will be a time when this formula will wear out, and it will be interesting to see if and how they will react.

Speaking about the band I'd like to underline the keyboardist performances. He rarely stands out from the rest of the band, but he's making such an excellent work in giving the songs really solid bases. I love also how he dares to use sounds which might be more at ease in very different contexts, sometimes, and still he manages to blend them seamlessly with the rest of the song.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2021


16982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

You're right, Rikard Zander's work usually goes unnoticed, or at least it doesn't get the same spotlight as the guitars. He's that kind of musician who works on behalf of the song and not the other way around, and that's exactly what the band needs.

Scheumke
March 12th 2021


2147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Absolutely. He is so important in elevating the choruses and solo sections to a higher level!

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2021


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed, but his presence was much larger and more dynamic on Recreation Day and Inner Circle, used a variety of tones and creative ideas

. Those have his best performances imo

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2021


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Because I



NEEEEEEEEEEVEEEEEEEERRRRRR



NEVER FELT THAT I FOUND MY WAY OUUT

Piripichotes
March 17th 2021


608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"I feel that songs about his ex wife"



Man Omair, no one never ever sings about their ex wives! ahahahahahahah

MeatWolf
March 17th 2021


225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"I feel that songs about his ex wife"



Agreed, A Dandelion Cipher is probably on the same topic. And probably couple others as well.

Beardog
March 18th 2021


4143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

checking now, sounds like Evergrey lol



Feels very much like a 3.7, sad I can't give it that haha

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
March 21st 2021


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dandelion Cipher is flawless. God such incredible groovy riffs and a banger of a chorus

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
March 21st 2021


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Meat yeah good catch. This is their first album after his divorce so a lot of the personal lyrics could be from there



@Beardog yep pretty much, they've got this style down to a science now. Hope they change things up on future albums though

dogdaysunrise1
March 27th 2021


55 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably 20 spins on this, can't stop listening. So good.

hangth3dj
April 9th 2021


241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

WELCOME BACK INTO MY LIFE EVERGREY!



Haven't really listened to these guys properly since The Inner Circle, apart from a brief fling with The Storm Within. Always had them down as a good but not great band, but this album is exceptional. I might calm down on it after a few more spins, but I'm loving it at the moment.

MeatWolf
April 9th 2021


225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

So far, album of the year.

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2021


17564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@hang: after Inner Circle they went down to a good not great band overall for me. Albums 2-5 are their best. Still talented though. Listened to them so much over the years

hangth3dj
April 20th 2021


241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Omair: it'll be my next discog run I think, after I finish this Sentenced one I'm currently on.

valek
September 19th 2021


381 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have to say I had fun listening to this, it was nice, nothing surprising, just solid and nice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy