Wild Pink A Billion Little Lights
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Feather
February 23rd 2021


6506 Comments


I saw this on a different site and almost listened just based on the album cover alone.

Project
February 23rd 2021


4649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was not huge on Yolk in the Fur (and I'm not generally big on Americana-influenced indie) but this is quite pretty, though a bit samey. Amalfi was my favorite on first listen

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2021


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Feather, I agree the album art is quite pretty.



@Project, glad you like it! I can't say Amalfi is a highlight for me, but everything here is universally at least pretty if nothing else.

BigTuna
February 23rd 2021


5508 Comments


This is hitting at just the right time of year for me. Things are starting to thaw, and the sun is out. Great weather for these songs.

Digging: Wild Pink - A Billion Little Lights

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2021


20847 Comments


I need to jam this asap. "Lake Erie" was huge for me a couple years ago

fogza
February 24th 2021


909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is very purty, thanks for reviewing it.

Digging: The Buckfever Underground - Last Days Of Beautiful

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2021


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks fogza!

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2021


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Shining But Tropical is growing on me pretty hard:



"with the storm that was coming your way,

the plan was to float away face down,

in the San Francisco Bay on a clear blue day"



Lyrics rule too

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 27th 2021


36733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was my favorite right off the bat and still is

Don't find myself coming back to this that much though, might drop to a 3.5 eventually

Digging: Julien Baker - Little Oblivions

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2021


20847 Comments


holy fuck I needed this opener right now

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 28th 2021


36733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

opener is my least favorite track so hope that bodes well lmao

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2021


20847 Comments


It was just one of those songs that made me realize how shit in a mood I've been lately and lifted me up at the same time

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 28th 2021


36733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's what I love about this band, it's like I can feel all my tension evaporate into thin air

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 28th 2021


36733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just wait until you get to the shining but tropical / amalfi

what a heavenly 1-2 punch

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2021


20847 Comments


Yeah I just finished that and wow holy shit!!
Was not expecting something as intricate yet lightweight as Amalfi from them, might prefer this to Yolk if this keeps up

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 28th 2021


36733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't get myself to like this more than Yolk simply because that album's melodies stick like glue

This one doesn't have the luxury of being catchy but it may very well be just as good/better instrumentally/objectively/structurally/creatively/etc

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


20847 Comments


I agree, not sure if the melodies will stick with me yet, nothing hit like Lake Erie on first listen

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Burger Hill is definitely my favorite from Yolk In The Fur, but I do agree that the highs on that album are more memorable than the highs here

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


20847 Comments


that one rules too! The first three of that album are stellar

Sunnyvale
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2021


2004 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep, definitely agree with that!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy