Akhlys Melinoe
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
botb
January 3rd 2021


14424 Comments


Yeah I still bump drudkh so I was just asking for clarification, not to start a debate

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 3rd 2021


10936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"But yeah we've had this discussion before, and we will again. My angle will always be 'don't tell me what not to listen to'."



That's fine, bud. Could maybe dispense with the weird strawman in future then since no one does that though hmm?



Needa bump this again, but it's kind of a heavy listen. Was hard to come back to their last record too.

Egarran
January 3rd 2021


21991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think you missed a nuance somewhere in this, bud

garas
Contributing Reviewer
January 3rd 2021


5926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Naas is a loser chud who makes incredible music."

That's...pretty accurate - and pretty much my opinion about many other bands who stand for... stupid ideologies.



Let's enjoy freely great black metal, folks.

Digging: Impaled Nazarene - Eight Headed Serpent

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 3rd 2021


10936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Clarify then, Eg.

EphemeralEternity
January 4th 2021


3852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I recommend you guys read the Akhlys bardo methodology interview from October.



I generally fuckin hate those interviews and I thought Naas would use it as a soapbox for his ideologies but it's actually just him providing more context to this album and it adds another dimension to it.

Egarran
January 4th 2021


21991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

> Clarify then, Eg.



What's your horse in this race? I'm pretty sure we agree on most things.

Except I want to have fun, where you go all 'strawman' and 'bud' and other hostile terms.



Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 4th 2021


10936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lol I didn’t mean “bud” as a hostile term. Literally just meant it as shorthand for buddy.



Ive just seen you be really flippant and mocking of others and your joke had a really obvious implication. It just seems like you’ve more than once framed a pretty reasonable conversation about the ethics in heavy metal as if people are running around telling you what you can or can’t listen to when you know basically no one is doing that.

Egarran
January 4th 2021


21991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm never opening the subject, I only react to people (not strawmen) questioning if it's ok to like a band.



Listening to fascists is a real problem for some.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 4th 2021


10936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's why it's a strawman. Someone will ask like they did on the previous page "is this band really nazis or nah" and you will leap to a joke about people policing your listening habits. I feel like I've seen you do this a lot, but never take a clear position or mock the "but muh riffs" crowd.

botb
January 4th 2021


14424 Comments


It’s true, you immediately got hostile and defensive lmao

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
January 4th 2021


4756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pardon my ignorance but what is this "really obvious implication"?

DDDeftoneDDD
January 4th 2021


16989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Let's enjoy freely great black metal, folks." or just Folk(s) Black Metal?

Digging: Motorpsycho - Kingdom of Oblivion

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 4th 2021


10936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm being a little defensive because I think Egarran's jokes are a strawman mockery of arguments I've made before, but I think I've been treating him with kid's gloves for the most part. I'm trying to be really charitable here, that's why I asked for clarification. If anything it's Egarran who's gotten a little hostile considering he immediately read "bud" as insulting somehow.

PortalofPerfection
January 4th 2021


2410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thought Dreaming was real good, not quite amazing. Sick atmosphere but a little monotonous. Excited to check this. Great review.

Digging: Dvne - Etemen nka

garas
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2021


5926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

> Folk(s) Black Metal?

You mean



OUR black metal?



*https://youtu.be/U06jlgpMtQs*

Egarran
January 4th 2021


21991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woah. I surrender the stage to gameofmetal's serious business.

PortalofPerfection
January 4th 2021


2410 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Halfway through, this is already better.



Edit: yeah, solid 4.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 4th 2021


10936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Woah. I surrender the stage to gameofmetal's serious business."



Pretty spineless way to go, but I'll accept that surrender. We may be handing those out backstage later if you stick around.

botb
January 4th 2021


14424 Comments


“If anything it's Egarran who's gotten a little hostile considering he immediately read "bud" as insulting somehow.”

Yeah that’s who I was talking about lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy