Fates Warning Long Day Good Night
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Pikazilla
November 10th 2020


19805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Long Day Good Men

kalkwiese
November 10th 2020


8182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice page break lol

rayraypine
November 10th 2020


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have a hard time accepting that Jim and Ray are done making music together. If they wanted to take another hiatus, I'd be OK with that... but like, to stop forever?

Titan
November 10th 2020


23071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think they're done writing music. They've written two of their better albums in the last 5 years and are more popular than they've ever been. Ray also said that Jim wasn't sure if he even wanted to make this and Theories, but he did. Like you said rayray, another hiatus is fine. I'd be super content if they took 8 years off, but knowing that they'll be back.



Mythodea
November 10th 2020


6914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like... How good can The Longest Shadow of the Day be??

rayraypine
November 10th 2020


112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was sad that The Longest Shadow of Day ended. I could have listened to that song another 5-7 mins. For Jim to write that track at 57 years old... it impresses me.



The last ten years have been a creative peak for Jim. His work with Jon, his solo work and FW. It's beyond impressive. I half expect another OSI album at this point

Nagrarok
November 10th 2020


8649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree this is another unexpected turn from them. But that's also one of the reasons I love Fates Warning: they've always changed things at least a little with every new album. This feels like a grower.

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2020


17565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@ray I could listen to that outro forever, that simplistic Jim riff on the left channel is my addiction. And agreed Jim's had a Metal renaissance of sorts over the past decade and I'm all for it, albeit if he keeps experimenting and exploring new avenues. He's letting out his super mellow side with projects like Tuesday The Sky



"13th album, 13 songs 🤔"

Album length is 72:22 [7+2+2+2=13] Coincidence? I think not





Finally trending boys! Now for some more people to 3 it after 1 half ass listen -_-



Titan
November 10th 2020


23071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I cant believe how good this is. Every song has its rightful place. I'll also say that when I first heard Scars, I wasn't overly thrilled with it. But I do think it falls at the perfect place on the album, following Under The Sun. The song is soo much better on the whole than it is as a single. With all that, it still ranks towards the bottom for me, but still a great song.

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2020


17565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The people at Metalblade are fucking clueless with their single selection. They don't really seem to be promoting the album/band that much either. Bah humbug



If there was one song I'd leave out it would be Scars, I would have it as a bonus track instead. Maybe its because I played it a lot prior to the album release, but I just end up skipping it most of the time. All the other songs are bangers. Begin Again has grown on me a lot

Titan
November 10th 2020


23071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shuttered World is easily the most eligible single......chorus is really catchy

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2020


17565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

TRIED TO HIDE IN SOME, SHUTTERED WOOOORLD AGAAAAAAAIIINN



Totally agreed dude, and those riffs are just insane man. Such an obvious single choice if you want new people to gain interest in the album. Alone We Walk, and Liar are other single choices. Scars sounds more like a standard Metal song. Not bad, but not the best foot forward for promoting the album



I would even say fuck it, release Longest Shadow as a final single. It'll get people talking and intrigued because of the twists and turns at least

kalkwiese
November 10th 2020


8182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Album length is 72:22 [7+2+2+2=13] Coincidence? I think not"

I think he hit something rock solid there

Titan
November 10th 2020


23071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Willie bro where you at?



We all had a players only meeting and would like for you to re-write this review. It's not a bad review by any measure, and I'm no writer, but dude - what if Jim see's this?



We say it cause we love you bro, now get crackin!

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2020


17565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Dude AngryMetalGuy gave this a 2.5. It's embarrassing. I mean you may think this is nothing inventive and has standard riffs, etc. but it's not a 2.5 come on

teamster
November 11th 2020


5748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Saw that review. He prolly spun it once.

Digging: Glassing - Twin Dream

Titan
November 11th 2020


23071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Teamster bro i thought you were referring to Willie at first lmfao

Mythodea
November 11th 2020


6914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

>Saw that review. He prolly spun it once.



One spin would guarantee more than an average rating

Titan
November 11th 2020


23071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So right now we have this rated as the lowest Fates Warning album with the exception of Brocken.



What



The



Fuck?

Mythodea
November 11th 2020


6914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There might be some weak lyrical moments and some songs I don't think are equally good, but this might be a strong 4 in my books.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy